Reference sources such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks provide summary and factual information. These sources generally contain well established knowledge and can provide a basic understanding on which to build. Use reference sources to:
> Find basic concepts of a topic;
> Get historical context and relationships to other topics;
> Identify and define special terms used to discuss the topic; or
> Find or verify data, facts, formulas, etc.
http://www.oscars.org/awards/index.html
Nominees and winners of the Oscar in all categories.
American Film Industry: A Historical Dictionary
Main Library Reference PN 1993.5 .U6S539 1986
Lists over 600 entries for American film producing and releasing companies, technological innovations, film series, industry terms, studios, genres, and organizations.
Cinema: A Critical Dictionary
Main Library Reference PN 1993.45 .C5
A collection of signed articles by an international roster of film critics. Most entries are devoted to directors, but there are some entries for individual actors and topics such as "American Film Noir" and "Polish Cinema Since the War."
Complete Film Dictionary
Main Library Reference PN 1993.45 .K66
A comprehensive lexicon of the motion picture, including aesthetic, technical, and business terms.
Facts on File Dictionary of Film and Broadcast Terms
Main Library Reference P 87.5 .P43
Contains 3,000 short definitions.
Film and Video Lighting Terms and Concepts
Main Library Reference TR 891 .F472
Defines (and in some instances, iluustrates) more than 1,000 terms and phrases used by cinematographers, lighting directors, camera operators, gaffers, electricians, and grips.
Film Encyclopedia
Main Library Reference PN 1993.45 .K34
While the emphasis is on individual film stars and film makers (along with complete or selective filmography), also includes definitions of terms, historical articles on countries, profiles of studios and other film organizations.
A 2019 UCF dissertation written by David Morton, adjunct instructor in the Department of History, detailing the history of the film industry in Florida. See also Florida on Film: The Essential Guide to Sunshine State Cinema & Locations (Main Library General Collection PN 1993.5 .U73 D65 2007).
Historical Dictionary of Animation and Cartoons
Main Library Reference PN 1997.5 .D63 2009
"An introduction to all aspects of animation history and its development as a technology and industry beyond the familiar cartoons from Disney and Warner Bros. studios. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, photos, a bibliography, and more than 200 cross-referenced dictionary entries on animators, directors, studios, techniques, films, and many of the best-known characters" (publisher's description).
International Motion Picture Almanac
Main Library Reference PN 1993.3 .I55
Provides a wealth of information on films, actors, and film companies. Includes statistics and lists of award winners.
Key Concepts in Cinema Studies
Main Library Reference PN 1993.45 .H36
A glossary of 142 key terms in theory and history, indexed by film title, names, and subjects.
Language of Visual Effects
Main Library Reference TR 858 .M325 1993
A glossary of approximately 1,500 special effects terms.
Movie Quote Book
Main Library Reference PN 6083 .M75 1980
A collection of memorable lines from films, classified by topic, with category cross-references.
The New Historical Dictionary of the American Film Industry
Main Library Reference PN 1993.5 .U6S539 1998
The emphasis of the approximately 800 entries is on companies and chains, studios, genres, technical innovations, and general subjects (e.g., "Blacks in Film"), with brief bibliographies appended to most.
An international reference work representing the essential ideas and concepts at the center of film theory from the beginning of the twentieth century to the beginning of the twenty-first.
A digital library that is particularly strong in the fields of communication, film, and digital media. It includes 2,500 titles SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
Wiley-Blackwell History of American Film
Main Library Reference PN 1993.5 .U6 W4942 2012
Comprising over 90 essays and richly illustrated with over 200 images, provides a chronological portrait of American film history from its origins to the present day.