Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Film and Digital Media: Film Reviews

Film Review Sources

Film Reviews are available in newspapers, magazines, and , of course, on web sites.

Free Web Sources for Reviews
Founded in 1995 as The Movie Emporium, hosts more than 3,000 movie reviews and feature stories contributed by more than 20 active critics located throughout the country.
Movie Review Query Engine
Perhaps the best single search engine for locating full-text reviews online, including reviews in journals and newspapers, use groups, and other miscellanea. Depth of chronological coverage varies.
New York Times Movie Reviews
Archived Times reviews from the past 20 years, as well as a limited selection back to 1929. Weekend box office results from Nielsen EDI; National showtime database searchable by movie title or ZIP code
Database of articles and reviews in Variety, 1914 to present. Also try Variety Film Reviews in the library for reviews from 1907 to date. Main Library Reference PN 1993 .V36

Searchable Databases for Film Reviews in Newspapers and Magazines

Film and Television Literature Index
Main Library Index PN 1993 .F54 (1973+)
Lists articles from over 300 film journals and specialized publications. Includes some selective indexing of English-language scholarly journals and general-interest magazines. To locate reviews in the online version, in the Document Type box, select "Entertainment Review."
LexisNexis Academic (coverage varies)
Excellent source for locating film reviews in a variety of newspapers. Click on the "News" tab and also include the prhrase "film review" in one of the search boxes.
An online, non-proprietary database providing, from a variety of sources (Newspapers, mazines, Internet sites, discussion lists), full-text reviews of approximately 30,000 films.
The New York Times Film Reviews
Main Library Reference PN 1995 .N42
A reproduction of every film review that appeared in The New York Times since 1913. Reviews that have appeared in the Times since 1983 — and some selected films prior to that date — are available online; however, one must register (free of charge) before entering the site.
In the Document Type box, select "Film review" to find both citations and full text of articles in about 300 general-interests periodicals. Preceded by the print index, Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1901+).

Print References for Film Reviews available in the UCF Libraries

Magill's Cinema Annual
Main Library Reference PN 1993.3 .M34
Each volume has signed essay-reviews of about 100 films of the previous year, with pproduction credits, principal characters and players, length, review citations, etc. Another 200-300 productions are listed with basic credits and brief comments.
Magill's Survey of Cinema: English Language Films, First Series
Magill's Review of Cinema: English Language Films, Second Series
Main Library Reference PN 1993.45 .M32
Both series cover 1,266 American, British, Canadian, Australian, and other English-language films of the sound era, 1927-1981. Includes plot summary and critical evaluation. Cumulative indexes for both series are located in the back of the last volume of the second series.
Magill's Survey of Cinema: Foreign Language Films
Main Library Reference PN 1993.45 .M34
Evaluates 700 outstanding films from around the world produced in languages other than English. Multiple indexes in the final volume of the set, including country and subject indexes.
Magill's Survey of Cinema: Silent Films
Main Library Reference PN 1995.75 .M33
Profiles 308 films produced during the silent era, 1902-1936, with essays also on important people and trends.
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
Main Library Index AI 3 .R48 (1901+)
See the subject heading "Motion picture reviews" for citations to reviews in approximately 300 general-interest periodicals. Especially useful for locating reviews of older films. Continued by the electronic database, Readers' Guide Full Text (1983+).
Variety Film Reviews
Main Library Reference PN 1993 .V36
Volumes 1-15 reproduce about 40,000 reviews in chronological sequence as they appeared in Variety between 1907 and 1980; volume 16 is the title index to the previous volumes. Continued by biennial volumes with title indexes. Especially useful for coverage of international films and obscure U.S. titles.