Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Tests and Measures: Test Descriptions and Reviews

Basic Sources for Test Descriptions and Reviews

Many of the following sources contain psychometric information, such as validity, reliability, and norm development, in addition to critiques or reviews of tests and publisher or distributor information.

Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY)
Online version (Volume 1, 1938+)
Main Library Reference LB 1131 .B87
The online version contains over 7,000 instruments. The print MMY consists of numerous volumes and supplements. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, published in the English language, and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series. MMY contains descriptive and psychometric information for each test entry in addition to citations to critical reviews. As previous print editions are not cumulated in the latest print volume, it may be necessary to search multiple volumes to find a specific test or consult Tests in Print (below), which serves as the cumulated index to MMY.

http://www.ets.org/test_link/find_tests/
A database that contains descriptions of over 25,000 tests mainly created by authors outside of the Educational Testing Service (ETS). Some of the tests in the database are available in PDF format for download at $25 each.

Tests in Print: An Index to Tests, Test Reviews, and the Literature on Specific Tests
Main Library Reference LB 1131 .B86
Serves as an index for Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY), above. A bibliographic encyclopedia of information on every published and commercially available test in psychology and achievement. Although there are no reviews or psychometric information in TIP, intended population, publication date, publisher, and references are included. Indexing of all instruments in MMY also is available online.

Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, and Business
Main Library Reference BF 176 .T43
Contains concise descriptions of tests, the intended population, the purpose, administration time, major features, cost and availability, and publisher information.

Test Critiques
Main Library Reference BF 176 .T419
Designed as a companion to Tests (above), this set includes psychometric information such as reliability, validity, and norm development. The title currently consists of Volumes I-X. In 1987, the editors published Test Critiques Compendium: Reviews of Major Tests from the Test Critiques Series (Main Library Reference BF 176 .T4195 1987), in which it is noted that reviews published prior to 1987 in Volumes I-IV of the main set may have been updated in the Compendium.

Use of "Published" Tests and Measures