Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Tests and Measures: Test Bibliographies and Collections

Sample Tests and Test Questions

Among other uses, the following titles contain complete or sample tests, or examples of test items or questions.

Communication Research Measures: A Sourcebook
Main Library General Collection P 91.3 .C62 1994
Covers validity, reliability, and descriptive information on several dozen communication measures. Contains sample scales.
 
Directory of Speech-Language Pathology Assessment Instruments
Main Library General Collection RC 423 .D57 1998
Published by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA). For each diagnostic instrument, the  following information is provided: title, author (if no author is noted, the publisher indicated that many researchers contributed to the test), publisher, publication date, age range, administration time, languages(s), availability of computerized scoring, and a brief description.
 
A Compendium of Neuropsychological Tests: Administration, Norms, and Commentary
Online version (3d ed., 2006)
Main Library General Collection RC 386.6 .N48 S67 1998 (2d ed.)
For each test the editorsrs provide a thorough description, source and price, instructions for administration, duration, scoring procedures, sample score sheets, normative data, and information on reliability and validity.
 
Compendium of Quality of Life Instruments
Main Library Reference RA 407 .C65 1998
Multi-language format text containing a broad spectrum of quality of life scales.
 
Dictionary of Behavioral Assessment Techniques
Main Library Reference BF 176.5 .D53 1988
About 300 behavioral measures are listed. Each entry includes a description, purpose, psychometric characteristics, development, clinical use, and references.
 
Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures
Main Library Reference BF 431 .G625 v. 1-6
Brief listings for several thousand tests not commercially available and still under development, which were collected from recent journals and reports. Includes measures in education, psychology, sociology, and personnel, but no evaluations are given.
 
Gender Roles: A Handbook of Tests and Measures
Main Library General Collection HQ 1075 .B44 1990
Updates author Carole Beere's 1979 handbook, Women and Women's Issues: A Handbook of Tests and Measures (Main Library Reference HQ 1080 .B43 1979). Includes 211 measures related to gender roles and attitudes, such as stereotypes, marital roles, and parental roles.
 
Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques
Main Library Reference HQ 728 .H267 2001
Includes brief descriptions of 976 instruments, with sample questions and test items.
 
Handbook of Marketing Scales: Multi-Item Measures for Marketing and Consumer Behavior Research
Main Library Reference HF 5415.3 .B323 1999
A summary of multi-item, self-report scales available for marketing research. Chapters are arranged by broad categories with indexes of titles and authors.
 
Handbook of Measurements for Marriage and Family Therapy
Main Library General Collection RC 488.5 .F73 1987
Descriptions of 11 clinically-popular tests, four observational measures, and 31 pencil-and-paper tests -- most of which have been published since 1975.
 
Handbook of Multicultural Measures
Main Library Reference HM 1271 .G36 2011
"...offers extensive coverage of empirically supported, multicultral measurement instruments that span a wide variety of subject areas, such as ethnic and racial identity, racism, disability, gender roles, and sexual orientation.
 
Handbook of Organizational Measurement
Main Library General Collection HM 131 .P728
Dated, but contains a nice collection of scales measuring motivation, performance, satisfaction, etc. Contains some sample tests.
 
Handbook of Sexuality-Related Measures
Main Library Reference HQ 60 .H36 1998
Contains sample tests.
 
Handbook of Tests and Measurement in Education and the Social Sciences
Main Library General Collection LB 3051 .L4543 1997
A compilation of over 120 instruments or sample items, both published and unpublished. Tests related to personality or psychology are excluded. Author and instrument indexes.
 
Handbook of Tests and Measurements for Black Populations
Main Library General Collection BF 176 .H37
Contains sample tests as well as information on how to administer, score, and interpret various instruments for use with black populations.
 
Instruments for Clinical Health-Care Research
Main Library General Collection RT 48 .I57 1997
Has a general discussion of health measurement issues, with separate sections on instruments for health and function, for assessing health promotion programs, and for assessing clinical problems.
 
Measurement of Nursing Outcomes
Main Library General Collection RT 85.5 .M434 2001
Shows more than 30 tools for the measurement of professional and educational outcomes in nursing. Tools and methods are presented with attention to purpose and utility, conceptual basis, development, testing, reliability, and validity assessments.
 
Measures for Clinical Practice: A Sourcebook
Main Library Reference BF 176 .C66 2000
A brief introduction to testing. This text contains dozens of scales and tests, but no information on how to score or interpret them.
 
Measures of Political Attitudes
Main Library General Collection JA 74.5 .M43
Provides descriptions of tests and psychometric information of political attitudes, alienation, participation, etc. Contains many sample questions.
 
Measures of Religiosity
Main Library Reference BR 110 .M43 1999
Contains many scales and tests.
 
Measuring Health: A Guide to Rating Scales and Questionnaires
Main Library General Collection RA 408.5 .M38
Descriptive information and sample scales for dozens of health-related measures.
 
Objective Personality and Motivation Tests: A Theoretical Introduction and Practical Compendium
Main Library General Collection BF 698.5 .C3
Has a wealth of descriptive information as well as examples of test items.
 
Research Instruments in Social Gerontology
Main Library General Collection HQ 1061 .R44
A benchmark collection of over 400 instruments, divided into thematic chapters. Each volume has its own subject and name indexes.
 
Tests and Measurements in Speech-Language Pathology
Main Library General Collection RC 423 .T435 2001
Describies the tests and measurement tools used for assessment of communication disorders.

Use of "Unpublished" Tests and Measures

Tests and measures that are printed in journals, reference books, or test collections (such as the titles listed in the box to the left) are considered to be "unpublished" and therefore are readily available for use. Sometimes the articles and books may include statements giving the permission of the copyright holder for the reproduction and further distribution of an instrument. Frequently, though, no statement is given regarding further reproduction and use. In those instances, the test or measure is probably under copyright protection. American Psychological Association guidelines state: "Users must (a) contact the test author and request permission to use their test, and (b) secure their permission in writing if the material is copyrighted."