Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Genealogy

Genealogy Tutorial

Genealogy Databases

The Orange County Library System subscribes to three online services with genealogy information that can be accessed in all OCLS branch libraries. The nearest OCLS branch to the UCF Orlando main campus is the Alafaya Branch, 12000 E. Colonial Dr. Directions: from the corner of University & Alafaya, drive south on Alafaya Trail approximately 2.2 miles; turn left on Colonial Dr/State Road 50 and drive 0.3 miles to the next traffic light. Turn right on Sophie Blvd and then turn left into the library's parking lot.

The Orange County Library System also provides remote access for users with a valid OCLS library card to two other databases:

  1. HeritageQuest Online, a genealogy database that contains U.S. Census images from 1790 through 1940. The database also includes searchable text of more than 25,000 genealogy books.
  2. Gale Genealogy Connect, which includes over 500 reference e-books on genealogy related topics such as Royal and Noble, Immigration, Native American, and Colonial & Revolutionary.

Genealogy Collection of the Orlando Public Library (moved to Ocoee)

The Orlando Public Library Genealogy Department, at 101 East Central Boulevard in downtown Orlando, for many decades housed one of the best genealogical collections in the Southeast.

The Genealogy Collection was located on the fourth floor of the Orlando Public Library, but was moved to the West Oaks Branch Library in Ocoee in December 2014 and reopened in the new location in January 2015.

Family Histories in the Orlando Public Library -- "Over 2200 family histories listed, with 2 indices - surnames & localities" -- available in the Genealogy Collection

NOTE: The following materials are still housed on the 4th floor of the Orlando Public Library at 101 East Central Boulevard in downtown Orlando:

  • Obituary Index (1949+) -- OCLS staff have created annual indexes of the obituaries appearing in the Orlando Sentinel.
  • Print copies of Orlando City Directories and Cross Reference Directories 1887 to date