Why aren't all of the UCF theses and dissertations in one place?
Honors Theses from Fall 2010 to the Present: In Fall 2010, the Honors College transitioned to electronic theses. Print copies are no longer created.
Dissertations and Theses from Fall 2004 to the Present: In Fall 2003, as a result of UCF’s Electronic Thesis and Dissertation (ETD) Initiative, ETD was made an option in Spring 2004 and mandatory for graduate students in Fall 2004. UCF students' dissertations are available full text and image from the Dissertation Abstracts Online database several months after completion. ETD’s are also stored on the Florida Center for Library Automation (FCLA) server for safekeeping. Through 2007, the Library made and bound one paper copy of the thesis or dissertation for the General Collection (using the established common call number). The paper copy was fully cataloged at the same time as the electronic copy and included in WorldCat. Print copies are no longer created.
Honors Theses Written from Fall 2004 to 2010: There are two fully cataloged print library copies of honors theses (one in General Collection and one in Special Collections) which are classified into the established common call number for theses. Some of the theses are included in WorldCat. Full text of UCF honors theses is not available electronically.
Until Fall 2004: The Library owns 2 print copies of each title. There is one copy of all theses and dissertations in the General Collection which may be checked out. Special Collections also has a non-circulating copy of all pre-Fall 2004 titles arranged by year and author.
Dissertations and Theses Written from 1999 to Fall 2004: Starting in 1999 titles are treated like books. They are fully cataloged with keyword, author and title access, and specific Library of Congress subject headings. They are not presently included in WorldCat but eventually will be. They are shelved in the common call number used since 1988: GENERAL COLLECTION LD 1772.F96T45 (year)
Dissertations and Theses Written from 1988 to 1999: From 1988 to 1999 titles are partially cataloged. There is author, title, and keyword access but there are only very general subject headings. They are not presently included in WorldCat but eventually will be. They are shelved in the common call number: GENERAL COLLECTION LD1772.F96T45 (year)
Dissertations and Theses Written before 1988: Titles pre-1988 are treated like books. They are fully cataloged with keyword, author, and title access, a unique Library of Congress call number, and specific Library of Congress subject headings. They are included in WorldCat.