Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Theses and Dissertations: Searching for UCF Theses and Dissertations

Tips for Searching for PRINT Theses & Dissertations

While today’s theses and dissertations are published electronically, many works submitted at UCF before 2004 are only available as print copies on our libraries’ shelves. Many of the print theses and dissertations authored by UCF graduate students after 1988 are shelved by year at LD 1772.F96T45. Those printed prior to 1988 are shelved by subject matter call number (i.e. Education theses are in the Ls, Psychology in the BFs, etc.).

Search tips for the Library Catalog:

Select the Advanced Search option.

  • Use the first search box to enter a search term regarding the title, author, subject, or other information. Select the appropriate field to search from the drop down menu.
  • The second box should specify thesis AND "university of central florida"
    •   For theses written prior to 1979, use "florida technological university"
  • For Honors theses, include the keyword "honors"

Where are UCF PRINT Graduate Theses and Dissertations??

The Library owns 2 print copies of each Graduate-level thesis and dissertations written through 2004: one copy in the General Collection which may be checked out, and one non-circulating copy in Special Collections.  The library also has one circulating copy of theses and dissertations written between 2004 and 2007.

Beginning in 2008, UCF no longer required students to submit a printed copy of any graduate thesis or dissertation.

Where to find print copies within the General Collection:

Dissertations and Theses Written before 1988: 

  • Fully cataloged with keyword, author, and title access
  • Subject specific Library of Congress subject headings. 
  • Unique Library of Congress call number and shelved within Main Library General Collection.

Dissertations and Theses Written from 1988 to 1999:

  • Partially cataloged: author, title, and keyword
  • Very general subject headings, not subject specific
  • Shelved in the common call number:  Main Library General Collection LD1772.F96T45 (year)
  • Can be found along the perimeter of the 3rd floor.

Dissertations and Theses Written from 1999 to Fall 2007:

  • Fully cataloged with keyword, author and title access
  • Subject specific Library of Congress subject headings
  • Shelved in the common call number:  Main Library General Collection LD1772.F96T45 (year)
  • Can be found along the perimeter of the 3rd floor.

Browse the Library Catalog for ALL graduate theses written at Florida Technological University (1972-1978)

Browse the Library Catalog for ALL graduate theses and dissertations written at UCF (1979-present)

Where are PRINT Honors in the Major Theses??

There are two fully cataloged print library copies of honors theses (one in General Collection and one in Special Collections) written between 1990 and 2010; these are classified into the established common call number for theses

In 2011, the Honors College transitioned to electronic theses. Print copies are no longer created.

Browse the Library Catalog for ALL Honors theses written at UCF (1990-present)

Browse the Library catalog for online Honors Theses (2011-present)

Searching WorldCat for UCF Theses and Dissertations

Browse WorldCat theses and dissertations (UCF only - print and electronic)

Tips for Searching for ONLINE Theses & Dissertations

Currently we have three individual collections of UCF Theses and Dissertations: ETDs, RTDs, and Honors.  Each collection is searchable by title, author, degree awarded, college, and advisor, along with keyword and subject searching.  Use the links below to browse the collections, or the following boxes for more detailed searches.

Browse all ETDs

Browse all RTDs

Browse all Honors

Please note that we are working to consolidate these into ONE collection.  Stay tuned!

Searching for ETDs

Search ETDs

 

 

 

 

Honors Digital Collection