Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Women's and Gender Studies

Databases

Key Journals

The following journals are devoted exclusively to Women's Studies. Current print issues of periodicals to which the Library subscribes are arranged by title on the third floor; print back issues are shelved in the general collection by call number, while microform back issues are arranged by call number on the third floor.

AFFILIA: Journal of Women and Social Work (AFF)
Peer-reviewed, scholarly social work journal addressing the concerns of social workers and their clients from a feminist point of view.
 
Asian Journal of Women's Studies
Provides a multi-disciplinary international forum for the presentation of feminist scholarship and criticism in the fields of humanities and social sciences.
 
Australian Feminist Studies 
Promotes cutting–edge feminist scholarship both within and beyond conventional academic disciplines. This includes discussion of feminist pedagogy; reports on local, national and international conferences; analyses of government, trade union, and United Nations policies that concern women; discussion in cultural, post-colonial and trans-national studies that involve feminist analyses..
 
Canadian Women's Studies = Les cahiers de la femme
Online version (Winter 1993+)
General Collection HQ1101 .C35 (1986 - 1991/92)
Features up-to-date and accessible theme-base discussion on a very wide range of global issues and their impact on the lives of women in Canada and around the world.
 
Critical Matrix
Online version (1985-2009)
Feminist journal on gender and culture, publishing both traditional scholarship and new work that might encounter resistance within established disciplines.
 
differences: A Journal of Feminist Cultural Studies
Highlights theoretical debates across the disciplines that address the ways concepts and categories of difference—notably but not exclusively gender—operate within culture.

European Journal of Women's Studies
Online version (1999+)
Focuses on the nature of the complex relationship between women and the diverse regions and meanings of Europe.
  
Feminism & Psychology
An international peer reviewed journal that provides a forum for debate at the interface between feminism and psychology.
 
Feminist Collections: A Quarterly of Women's Studies Resources
Online version (1994+)
General Collection: Z675 .W57 F46 (1997/1998+)
Contains news and reviews of the latest print, audiovisual, and computer resources for research and teaching in women's studies.
 
Feminist Legal Studies
Feminist Legal Studies is committed to an international perspective and to the promotion of feminist work in all areas of law, legal theory and legal practice. The journal publishes material in a range of formats, including articles, essay reviews, interviews, book reviews and notes on recent legal developments.
 
Feminist Studies
Online version (1972+)  
General Collection: HQ1101 .F18 (2005+)
Microfilm: HQ1101 .F18 (1972.1973 - 1973.1974)
Contains scholarly research, essays, art book reviews, and poetry, fiction, and creative narrative pertaining to the feminist experience in the social sciences, history, politics, and literature.
 
Feminist Review
Online version (1991-2015)
"Feminist Review invites critical reflection on the relationship between materiality and representation, theory and practice, subjectivity and communities, contemporary and historical formations. The FR Collective is committed to exploring gender in its multiple forms and interrelationships." (publisher's site)
 
Frontiers: A Journal of Women's Studies
Online version (1975+)
Encourages submission in all areas of women studies that cross and/or re-examine boundaries and that explore the diversity of women's lives as shaped by factors such as races, ethnicity, class, sexual orientation and place.
 
Gender & Society
Microfilm: HQ1075.G457  (1987-1995)
Official publication of Sociologists for Women in Society.
 
Gender Forum
Online version (2006+)
The discussion of gender-related topics in the fields of literary and cultural production, media and the arts as well as politics, the natural sciences, medicine, the law, religion and philosophy.

Hypatia: A Journal of Feminist Philosophy
Online version (1986+)
General Collection: HQ1104 .H47 (1986 - 2005)
Cumulative Index: HQ1101 .H47 (1983 - 1990)
Recognizes the historical roots of feminist philosophy; created to help end sexism and provide a sense of relevancy to feminism.
 
Indian Journal of Gender Studies
Online version (1999+)
Provides a holistic understanding of society, analyzing changing social attitudes and academic biases that obstruct a holistic understanding of contributions to the family, community, and the wider polity.
 
International Feminist Journal of Politics
"a unique cross-cultural and international forum to foster debate and dialogue at the intersection of international relations, politics and women's studies." (publisher)
 
Journal of Feminist Studies in Religion
Online version (1985 - 2006)
Provides a forum for discussion among women and men of differing feminist perspectives as well as highlighting feminist scholarship in religion. 
 
Journal of International Women's Studies
Online version (2007+)
Provides a forum for scholars, activists and students to explore the relationship between feminist theory and various forms of organizing.  It aims to create an opportunity for building bridges across the conventional divides of scholarship and activism; western and third world feminists; professionals and students; men and women.
 
Journal of Middle East Women's Studies
Aims to enhance the fields of Middle East Women's studies, gender studies, and Middle East studies through contributions from multiple disciplines in the social sciences and humanities.
 
Nashim: A Journal of Jewish Women's Studies and Gender Issues
Contains scholarly and literary articles, reviews of new scholarship in the field of Jewish women's and gender studies and the arts.
 
NORA: Nordic Journal of Women's Studies
Online version (1998+)
Publishes original research articles, short communications and review essays within women's studies.
 
NWSA Journal (new name Feminist Formations)
Online version (1988 - 2004)
Online version (1996+)
Publishes research linking feminist theory with teaching and activism.
 
Politics & Gender
Scholarship on gender and politics and on women and politics; aims to represent the full range of questions, issues, and approaches on gender and women across the major subfields of political science, including comparative politics, international relations, political theory, and U.S. politics.
 
Psychology of Women Quarterly
General Collection: HQ1206.P76  (1976-2004)
Feminist, scientific, peer-reviewed journal that publishes empirical research, critical reviews and theoretical articles that advance a field of inquiry, brief reports on timely topics, teaching briefs, and invited book reviews related to the psychology of women and gender.
 
Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society
Online version (1975 - 2004)
Online Version (2002+)
General Collection: HQ1101 .S5 (2004/2005 - 2007/2008)
Microfilm: HQ1101 .S5 (1975)
Remote Storage: HQ1101 .S5 (1976/1977 - 2003/2004)
Examines the theories and methodologies from a variety of disciplines and provides important links between feminist theory and the realities of women's lives.
 
Social Politics
The journal for incisive analyses of gender, politics and policy across the globe.
 
StandPoint (formerly Newsletter and Center News)
Online version (1982 - 1984; 1989+)
Highlights research and educational activities as well as recent developments in race, class and gender scholarship.
 
Transgender Studies Quarterly (TSQ)
From the publisher "TSQ: Transgender Studies Quarterly offers a high-profile venue for innovative research and scholarship that contest the objectification, pathologization, and exoticization of transgender lives."
 
Women's Health Issues
The official journal of the Jacobs Institute of Women's Health, this is a peer-reviewed, multidisciplinary journal that publishes research and review manuscripts related to women's health care and policy.
 
Women's Studies
Provides a forum for the presentation of scholarship and criticism about women in the fields of literature, history, art, sociology, law, political science, economics, anthropology and science.
 
Women's Studies International Forum (formerly Women's Studies International Quarterly; Feminist Forum; and Women's Studies International Quarterly Forum)
General Collection: HQ1101 .W775 (1981 - 2004)
Contains forum for the distribution and exchange of feminist research in the multidisciplinary, international area of women's studies and feminist research in other disciplines.
 
Women's Studies Quarterly (formerly Women's Study Newsletter)
General Collection: HQ1101 .W7 (1975 - 1980)
General Collection: HQ1101 .W72 (2004 - 2006; 2007 - 2008)
Remote Storage: HQ1101 . W72 (1981 - 2004)  
The articles in this journal regularly include analytic reviews of research, theoretical articles pertaining to social work research, evaluation studies, and research studies that contribute to knowledge about social work issues and problems.