Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Women's and Gender Studies

Videos/Images

Domestic Violence: Portrait of Abuse
DVD Collection: RC569.5 F3 D6576 2008
Raises our social awareness of the effects and cycles of domestic violence and also delves into the psyche of both the victim and aggressor to understand better how a new outcome can be realized.
 
Feminist Therapy Over Time
DVD Collection: RC489 .F45 F46 2009
Dr. Laura S. Brown demonstrates how this qualitative and phenomenological approach, which takes into account the meanings of gender and power in the client's social realities, empowers the client.
 
First Comes Love, Then Comes Marriage
Video Collection: HQ503 .F57 2000
Discusses issues such as death, family, gender identity, love, marriage, ans sex roles.
 
Gender Communication : An Introduction
Video Collection: HQ1075 .E37
A lecture on gender, sex and sex role, and the effects of rigid sex role identity in society.
 
Juggling gender: Politics, Sex and Identity ; Still Juggling ; Coney Island Side Show
DVD Collection: HQ75.4 .M53 J84 2008
A loving portrait of Jennifer Miller, a lesbian performer who lives her life with a full beard.  Miller works as a performance artist, circus director, clown and as the "bearded lady" in one of the only remaining sideshows in America.  In public she is often taken for a man, an experience she handles with the wit and intelligence that characterize her stage performance.  Juggling Gender explores the fluidity of gender and raises important questions about the construction of sexual and gender identity. 
 
Killing Us Softly 4: Advertising's Image of Women
DVD Collection: HF5822 .K52 2010
"In this new, highly anticipated update of her pioneering Killing Us Softly series, the first in more than a decade, Jean Kilbourne takes a fresh look at how advertising traffics in distorted and destructive ideals of femininity."
 
DVD Collection: HQ1421 .M57 2011
Explores how mainstream media contributes to the under-representation of women in influential positions in America and challenges the media's portrayals of women.
 
Sex Slaves
DVD Collection: HQ281 .S49 2006
The movie explores the global trafficking problem though personal stories and unfettered access to traffickers and the people they use as human chattel.
 
DVD Collection: HF5827.85 .S74 2005
A documentary about the image of women in advertising. The film presents the ideas of girls and young women as well as those of the leading authorities in the fields of psychology of women and girls, eating disorders, gender studies, violence against women, and media literacy -- and focuses their ideas on practical solutions and the best tactic's for reclaiming our culture.
 
Tomboys: Feisty girls & Spirited Women
DVD Collection: HQ1075.5 U6 T66 2004
Interviews with activist women who are intercut with archival footage and photographs to celebrate tomboys of all ages. Explores the way gender identity is constructed from a very early age.
 
 Tough guise : violence, media, and the crisis in masculinity
DVD Palm Bay: BF692.5 .T68 2002
Systematically examine[s] the relationship between images of popular culture and the social construction of masculine identities in the U.S. at the dawn of the 21st century ... Argues that the widespread violence in American society needs to be understood as part of an ongoing crisis in masculinity