Here's the primer every first-time inventor needs. Packed with plain-English explanations and step-by-step instructions, Nolo's Patent for Beginners defines clearly and simply what a patent is and why you need one. The book shows you: - how to document an invention for maximum protection - how to tackle the time-and-money-saving, patent-searching process - the patent application process - who owns a patent - how to avoid patent infringement The 4th edition is completely updated and revised to reflect current law and court rulings, including the Supreme Court's decision in the controversial "Festo" case.
Attorney David Pressman and updater Thomas Tuytschaevers takes you through the entire patent process, providing scrupulously updated information and clear instructions to help you: determine if you can patent your invention understand patent law evaluate the commercial potential of your idea perform your own patent search file a provisional patent application prepare a formal patent application respond to patent examiners amend an application enforce and maintain your patent market and license your invention Thoroughly updated to reflect the latest changes in intellectual property law, this edition provides the latest U.S. Patent and Trademark Office rules and forms. It includes up-to-date discussions of the new "first to file" rule, which has to revolutionized patent law.
Save on patent drafting and do it yourself! If you’re trying to patent your invention, you know need a drawing to complete your USPTO application. Professional patent drafters charge per sheet for their patent drawing services and it can cost you hundreds of dollars. But with How to Make Patent Drawings you’ll be able to complete this crucial step and create a patent drawing that complies with the strict rules of the USPTO. The 6th edition is completely updated to reflect recent changes to patent law and the newest advances in technical drawing. It includes all necessary forms with step-by-step instructions.
Whether you're an inventor, designer, writer or programmer, you need to understand the language of intellectual property law. Otherwise, you can't intelligently deal with intellectual property issues such as: . who owns creative works or valuable information . how owners can protect and enforce their ownership rights . how disputes between intellectual property owners can be resolved, and . how ownership rights can best be transferred to others. With Patent, Copyright & Trademark, you will: . get clear overviews of relevant laws . understand the different kinds of protection offered by patents, copyrights, trademarks and trade secrets -- and which apply to your work . get a plain-English definition of every term you're likely to come across, and . find the information you need, quickly and easily -- all entries are organized by topic and extensively cross-referenced. This edition has been updated to reflect the latest changes in intellectual property law and provides the latest U.S. Patent and Trademark Office rules and forms. It includes up-to-date discussions of the new ""first to file"" rule, which promises to revolutionize patent law. Plus, read all new Q&As excerpted from author Richard Stim's popular blog, "Dear Rich".
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection - 3rd Floor KF3120.Z9S75 2013
Publication Date: January 2013
Take the first step to protecting your invention! Ready to stamp "patent pending" on your invention? Then you need to file a provisional patent application (PPA), an inexpensive way to claim your hard work. With a PPA, you'll have time to figure out whether you can make a profit from your creation before you invest more time and money. With Patent Pending in 24 Hours, you have all the forms and information you need to get the job done! Find out how to: . evaluate hurdles to patentability . write a clear PPA . prepare informal drawings of your invention . conduct a patent search online . understand basic patent law . complete all forms required by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office . file your application . modify your invention after filing The book also includes important legal forms to help you preserve your rights when showing or selling your invention: . nondisclosure agreement . patent assignment . prototype-maker agreement . joint-ownership agreement This edition is completely revised with updated case law and patent regulations, updated patent searching information and additional resources. The first book to cover huge legislative changes to American patent law, taking effect throughout 2012 and 2013
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection - 4th Floor T223.U3 L6 1997
Publication Date: 1997
A companion to David Pressman's bestselling Patent It Yourself, this book shows inventors how to complete a crucial step in the patenting process--creating formal patent drawings that comply with the strict rules of the U.S. Patent Office. Illustrations.
A guidebook to protecting, patenting, marketing and selling inventions. Includes a new 64 page pullout workbook which walks inventors through each step of the process, while explaining how to save thousands of dollars in patent costs.