Publishing Guides for Education and Library Science
- Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in EducationCall Number: Reference Z286.E3 C32 1998-99Lists information (review procedures, acceptance rates, etc.) on approximately 400 education journals. A subject index classifies titles by specific topic.
- Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Educational Curriculum and MethodsCall Number: Reference Z286.E3 C322 (CMC Reference 070.57 Cab)A two-volume set listing information on over 350 journals dealing with educational curriculum and instructional methods.
- Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Educational Psychology and AdministrationCall Number: Reference Z286.E3 C323 (CMC Reference 070.57 Cab)A two-volume set with information on over 225 educational psychology and educational administration journals.
- Guide to Publishing Opportunities for LibrariansCall Number: General Collection Z665.2.U6 S37 1995Practical information on periodicals and serials that publish articles likely to be written by and for librarians. Entries include name and address of the appropriate editor, indexing and abstracting services that include the publication, editorial aim and policy, intended audience, manuscript style requirement, and acceptance rate.
- Journals in the Field of Instructional TechnologyLists 46 journals in the field, indicating editorial focus, usual length of articles, and whether or not the title is refereed. Many titles have links to the publishers or organizations with editorial responsibilities for the titles.
- Professional Writing: Processes, Strategies, and Tips for Publishing in Educational JournalsCall Number: General Collection PN146.H39 1994Presents insights, tips, strategies, and recommendations for publishing in educational periodicals.
Journal Rankings
JCR: Journal Citation Reports -- A resources tool for journal evaluation and comparison of usage patterns for scholarly journals, using citation data drawn from titles worldwide. Among other data, JCR can provide a list of the most frequently cited titles, those with highest impact (i.e., the frequency with which the "average article" in a journal has been cited in a particular year), and those with the greatest immediacy (i.e., how quickly the average article in a journal is cited).
Coverage:
- Sciences -- approximately 6,500 titles worldwide
- Social Sciences -- approximately 1,700 titles worldwide
- Arts & Humanities -- not covered
- JCR: Journal Citation Reports (2009+)Provides citation data for evaluating and comparing scholarly journals.
*2000-2005 content is available in the Main Library CD-ROM Collection
Call Number Q1.J67
- Eigenfactor: Ranking & Mapping Scientific Knowledge"The citation data used at Eigenfactor come from Thomson Scientific's Journal Citation Reports (JCR)"
- SCImago Journal & Country Rank"a portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). These indicators can be used to assess and analyze scientific domains."
NOTE: UCF does not subscribe to Scopus - Journal & Academic Rankings (Science Gateway)"Science Gateway is a directory of links and resources for biomedical science and research. It is compiled by a group of scientists located in Europe and North America."
- Scopus PreviewUCF does not subscribe to Scopus. Scopus Preview provides free journal rankings and author metrics to non-subscribers.
General Sources
- The American Directory of Writer's Guidelines: What Editors Want, What Editors BuyCall Number: Reference PN147.A479 1997A compilation of submission guidelines for more than 1,000 periodical publishers and more than 400 book publishers.
- An Author's Guide to Scholarly PublishingCall Number: General Collection Z286.S37 D46 1996A manual on how to plan and prepare a book, approach a publisher, secure a contract, and build an author-publisher relationship. Covers all types of book publication: standard monographs, technical books, conference volumes, edited volumes, collected papers, textbooks, and works built on dissertations.
- Directory of Electronic Journals, Newsletters, and Academic Discussion ListsCall Number: Reference Z6951.D625 1997Published under the auspices of the Association of Research Libraries (ARL), includes over 7,000 listings of journals, newsletters, magazines, and professional e-conferences accessible via the Internet. While dated (and no longer published), this directory none the less provides a starting point for identifying e-journals and the like.
- Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast MediaCall Number: Reference PN4867.G3An annual guide to publications and broadcasting stations. Identifies specific print and broadcast sources of news and advertising for trade, business, labor, and professionals. Arrangement is geographic with a thumbnail description of each local market. Indexes are classified (by format and subject matter) and alphabetical (by name and keyword). Available online through the Gale Directory Library.
- International Directory of Little Magazines and Small PressesCall Number: Reference PN4836.I58Entries appear in one alphabetical listing. Information usually includes comments by the editors related to editorial policies and types of material published. Includes state, country, and subject indexes.
- International Literary Market PlaceCall Number: Reference Z291.5.I5An annual directory of publishers and book-trade organizations, arranged by country.
- Literary Market Place: LMPCall Number: Reference PN161.L5An annual directory of organizations, periodicals, and book publishers in the United States and Canada.
- Magazines for LibrariesCall Number: Reference PN4832.K32Annotates and evaluates approximately 7,000 periodicals. Helpful for identifying basic titles in a broad range of fields. Entries for each title are arranged by topic, then alphabetically, and includes contact and indexing information. Title index.
- Reference Guide of Professional Journals/Publications (Ohio State University)identifies types of work published and acceptance rates
- RoMEO (SHERPA)"RoMEO is a searchable database of publisher's policies regarding the self- archiving of journal articles on the web and in Open Access repositories."
- Ulrich's Periodicals DirectoryCall Number: Reference Desk Z6941.U5A list of periodicals from many countries, arranged by category or subject focus. Entries usually include title, subtitle, sponsoring organization or publisher, date of origin, frequency, price, circulation, editors, place of publication, and where the title is indexed or abstracted.
- The Writer's MarketCall Number: Reference PN161.W83An annual guide for freelance writers, covering the practical side of publishing, including information about book publishers, magazine, trade and professional journals, scriptwriting, and syndicates. Subject index of book publishers.
- Writer's Online Marketplace: How and Where to Get Published OnlineCall Number: Reference PN161.O45 2001Includes an annotated list of online publications, alternative markets, and commercial e-publishers.
- Revising Your Dissertation: Advice from Leading EditorsCall Number: General Collection LB 2369 .R49 2008
- Getting Published: A Guide for Lecturers & ResearchersCall Number: General Collection PN 161 .W37 2003