Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Music: Articles, Essays, and Reviews

Databases and Indexes

Use the following electronic and print indexes to find articles about music topics. In some instances, books, essays in books, and performance and book reviews also may be found in these sources.
Database that abstracts and indexes over 3,200 scholarly journals, and offers full text (often dating back to 1990) for over 1,000 journals. A number of music journals are covered, such as American Music, Computer Music Journal, Musical Quarterly, Opera News, and PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art. To find recording or performance reviews, select "Entertainment Review" in the Document Type box.
The major source for anthropological literature. Useful for coverage of topics related to the cultural and ethnic aspects of music.

Indexes articles, books, and book reviews from more than 1,100 art and humanities journals. This database's primary use is to track citations to the works of a specific author through the "Cited Ref Search" feature.

ERIC (1966+)
This is the primary database in the field of education and should be consulted for music education and music therapy topics. It indexes scholarly journals as well as ERIC documents.

Index to collections of essays in books, with emphasis on the humanities.

This general database covers the humanities and sciences. It has references and full text articles from many music journals such as Nineteenth Century Music, Journal of Research in Music Education, Billboard, Ethnomusicology and also general publications such as Time.

FRANCIS (1984+)
Provides multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage of humanities and social sciences, including music. This database is a continuation of the older print index Bulletin signalétique.

An electronic database of citations to articles appearing in more than 400 English-language periodicals dealing with the humanities, including music. To find recording or performance reviews, select the appropriate review type in the Document Type box. 

Index to Record Reviews: Based on Material Originally Published in Notes, The Quarterly Journal of the Music Library Association between 1949 and 1977
Main Library Reference ML 156.9 .M89 1978
Index to Record Reviews, 1978-1983
Main Library Reference ML 156.9 .M89 1985
Index to Record Reviews, 1984-1987
Main Library Reference ML 156.9 .M89 1989
Index to CD and Record Reviews, 1987-1997
Main Library Reference ML 156.9 .P35 1998
A cumulation, with three supplements, of the quarterly column in the periodical Notes. A guidebook to a huge body of critical writings about music recordings from about 50 periodicals and other sources.

Full text of core research journals (including almost 600 titles in music) from the year of their inception, many dating back to the early 1900s. JSTOR frequently does NOT cover the last three to five years of journals.

LexisNexis Academic (coverage varies)
A full text database containing access to more than 7,000 English language newspapers, newsletters, magazines, trade journals, wire services, and broadcast transcripts. The database also offers international resources in French, Italian, and German. A good source to get reviews of recent performances and recordings. From the drop-down menu labeled "Search by Content Type" in the top right corner, select "All News"; then, under the "Advanced Options" drop-down menu, select "Music Reviews" under "Article Type."

Music Index
Online version (1970+)
Main Library General Collection ML 118 .M84 (1949-1972)
Indexes more than 640 international music periodicals. Coverage is broad and includes classical, world, and popular music. It also has reviews of recordings and performances.

Provides the full image of articles published in the Times from its first issue in 1851. It is searchable by keyword, author, article title, and first paragraph (abstract), and includes illustrations and advertisements.

PsycINFO (1887+)
Major source for abstracts of psychology literature. Useful for coverage of topics related to the psychology of music.

Provides access to the contents of over 300 popular English-language magazines and journals. To find recording or performance reviews, select the appropriate review type in the Document Type box.

Abstracts are drawn from articles, books, conference proceedings, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, reviews, etc.

Major source for abstracts of sociological literature. Useful for coverage of topics related to the sociological and cultural aspects of music.

Interlibrary Loan

The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service enables current UCF students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials — such as periodical articles — from other libraries that are not available at the UCF Libraries.

Where's the Full Text?

If a database search tells you about an article but the full text of the article is not there, look for the "Get Full Text" button.
Integrated by the UCF Libraries into many databases, "Get Full Text" helps you get the article in one of three ways:

> If an article cited in one database is available in full text in another online source, there will be a direct link to the full article or, in a few cases, to the journal.

> If the journal in which an article appeared is available in hard copy in the UCF Libraries, there will be a link to the UCF Library Catalog. Click on that link and then check "Holdings" to see if the article you need is owned by UCF.

> If the article is not available electronically or in hard copy at UCF, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan Request, which will bring up a form through which you can request the UCF Libraries to obtain the article for you from another library.