Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Music: Key Journals

Core Music Journals

The following selected core journals are devoted exclusively to some aspect of music. Please note, however, that many other journals not listed here will contain articles about music; thus, the need to consult a periodical database or index.

American Music Teacher
Online versions
Main Library Microfilm ML 1 .A5 (1951/52-1966/67)
Main Library General Collection ML 1 .A5 (1967+)
Provides articles, reviews and regular columns that inform, educate and challenge music teachers and foster excellence in the music teaching profession.

Billboard
Online versions
Main Library Microfilm PN 2000 .B5 (1969+)
A leading music industry research and information source, reporting on entertainment trends, technological developments, legal concerns, marketing, and performing artists. The famous Billboard charts (also available online at http://www.billboard.com) list best-selling titles in a variety of categories, including jazz, country, Latin, and rock.

Early Music
Covers Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, and early classical music history and performance practice. Includes reviews of books, music, and recordings.

Ethnomusicology
Online versions
Main Library Microfilm ML 1 .E77 (1990-1999)
Articles of interest to musicians, cultural anthropologists, folklorists, and popular culture scholars. Each issue contains reviews of books, recordings, films, and videos.

Journal of Music Theory
Publishes scholarly articles on both contemporary and historical music theory and composition and covering all time periods.

Journal of Music Therapy
Main Library General Collection ML 1 .J85 (1964-2007)
Publishes authoritative articles on current music therapy research and theory, inluding book reviews and guest editorials.

Journal of Research in Music Education
Online versions
Main Library Microfilm ML 1 .J6 (1953-67)
The oldest journal of research in music education, with articles on historical, philosophical, and experimental educational research in the field.

Journal of the American Musicological Society
Renowned for its well-documented, refereed articles that focus primarily on western art music, but it also occasionally covers topics related to ethnomusicology, gender studies, and popular music. Articles present scholarship in virtually all fields of historical musicology, including but not limited to historiography, aesthetics, organology, iconography, and performance practice, theory, and criticism. Includes book reviews.

Music and Letters
Main Library Microfilm ML 5 .M64 (1920-1956)
The leading British journal of musical scholarship. Coverage embraces all fields of musical enquiry, from the earliest times to the present day, and its authorship is international.

The Musical Quarterly
Main Library Microfilm ML 1 .M725 (1915-49)
The oldest general music journal in America. Over the years it has published the writings of many important composers and musicologists, including Aaron Copland, Arnold Schoenberg, and Marc Blitzstein. Regular sections include "American Musics," "Music and Culture," "The Twentieth Century," and an "Institutions, Industries, Technologies" section which examines music and the ways it is created and consumed. Also publishes review essays on a wide variety of significant new music performances and recordings.

Nineteenth Century Music
Articles on historical musicology, analysis, criticism and interdisciplinary studies. Also has reviews of books and selected recorded and live performances.

Notes: Quarterly Journal of the Music Library Association
Each issue offers critical reviews of significant books and printed music, as well as columns providing complete bibliographic citations for new books, music, and music publishers' catalogs.

Perspectives of New Music
Main Library General Collection ML 1 .P109 (2005-2011)
Focuses on contemporary classical music and its creators. Often includes interviews with musical scholars and composers.

Popular Music and Society
"A peer-reviewed scholarly journal of broad interdisciplinary scope, accepting historical, theoretical, critical, sociological, and cultural perspectives on a similarly broad range of popular music in scholarly articles and in relevant book, audio, and media reviews. Academic contributors offer original and authoritative views on music as it interfaces with culture at large. Special-topic issues are presented (typically every other release), with recent and upcoming issues addressing such topics as New Orleans music legacy and survival, record charts, music as torture, krautrock, popular music in the post-Soviet space, and Bob Dylan" (publisher's description).

Psychology of Music
The official journal of the Society for Research in Psychology of Music and Music Education. Articles include research related to listening, performing, and memorizing music.

Rolling Stone
Online version
Main Library Microfilm AP 2 .R644 (1967-1987)
Main Library Microfiche AP 2 .R644 (1988+)
The primary source for the latest news about American popular culture, music, celebrities, and politics. Contains many popular music reviews.

Stereo Review's Sound & Vision
Main Library General Collection ML 1 .S74 (1968-84)
Main Library Microfiche ML 1 .S74 (1985-2003)
Main Library General Collection ML 1 .S74 (2004+)
Formerly titled Stereo Review until 1999. Features reviews of classical, jazz, popular, and folk music, as well as articles and reviews covering all aspects of sound equipment.

Update: Applications of Research in Music Education
"A peer-reviewed online-only journal which brings research in music teaching and learning close to everyday practice to help teachers apply research in their music classrooms and rehearsal halls. The journal presents reviews of the literature and findings of individual studies without research terminology or jargon" (publisher's description).

Journal Locations

The vast majority of the UCF Libraries' journals are available full-text online. Sometimes, however, the complete run of back issues of journals will not be online, but may nonetheless be available in the Libraries. The location in the Main Library, Orlando, of the following formats of back issues, as well the current issues of some journal titles, are indicated below:

> Bound Volumes: shelved by call number in General Collection.

> Microfilm/Microfiche Volumes: shelved in cabinets by call number on 3d Floor.

> Current Issues: shelved by title on 3d Floor.

Scholarly or "Peer-Reviewed" Articles

Many journal databases have the capability to limit searches so that only scholarly or "peer-reviewed" articles are in the results list. Many instructors specify that only these types of articles (as opposed to articles that appear in popular magazines) may be used in students' papers and presentations. Scholarly or peer-reviewed journal articles have the following characteristics:

> Reviewed by a panel of experts before they are accepted for publication

> Written by a scholar or specialist in the field

> Contain footnotes and/or references

> Frequently contain diagrams and charts but few glossy pictures

> Report on original research or experimentation

> Published by professional associations

> Employ terminology associated with the discipline

Journal Directories

For a comprehensive directory of music journals, consult UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory, which lists periodicals from many countries, arranged by category or subject focus. Entries usually include title, subtitle, sponsoring organization or publisher, editorial emphasis, date of origin, frequency, price, circulation, editors, place of publication, and where the title is indexed or abstracted.

For a list of open access journals in music, use the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ). DOAJ contains a list of approximately 1,300 journals that are freely available on the Internet. It aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.