Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Music: Bibliographies, Style Manuals, and Citation Tools

Basic Subject Bibliographies

Use the following bibliographies to identify other resources in music that may be in the UCF Libraries' collections.
 
Music Reference and Research Materials: An Annotated Bibliography
Main Library Reference ML 113 .D83 1997
"Duckles," as this title is popularly known, provides descriptions of more than 3,000 dictionaries, discographies, and other print and electronic resources. Although dated, it remains the definitive bibliography in the field.

Music Library and Research Skills
Main Library General Collection ML 3797 .G68 2009
Nice guide to music research, giving background information and explanations; includes everyday examples to illustrate topics and techniques.

http://sites.lib.byu.edu/musref/
A site devoted to music and dance bibliography and reference, maintained by Brigham Young University. The site consists of five main features: an online bibliography of music and dance bibliographies and reference sources (both print and online); a blog devoted to music and dance bibliography and reference; basic introductions to reference tools intended to help students understand how reference sources can guide them to appropriate research materials; links to unpublished bibliographies; and a corresponding Facebook page designed as a forum for interested librarians, scholars, and students. Currently the bibliography section includes more than 7,300 titles (both print and online), approximately 1,800 of which are annotated with critiques on use, coverage, organization, and pros and cons.

Reader's Guide to Music History, Theory, Criticism
Main Library Reference ML 160 .R42 1999
Contains approximately 500 essays on a wide range of music topics, referencing some of the most important book publications on each topic.

Sourcebook for Research in Music, 2d ed.
Main Library General Collection ML 113 .C68 2005
Emphasizes English-language and recent sources, and also includes essential materials in other languages. Seven bibliographical chapters cover lists of sources as well as collective annotations that introduce and identify specific items. A good complement to Duckles' Music Reference and Research Materials (above).

Style Manuals

How to Write About Music: The RILM Manual of Style, 2d ed.
Main Library Reference ML 3797 .H69 2006
From the publisher's description: "The manual addresses a multitude of special problems faced by writers on music — problems rarely solved by general writing guides. It applies an international perspective to matters often handled piecemeal and in ethnocentric fashion: work titles, manuscript sources, transliteration, non-Western theoretical systems, opus and catalogue numbers, and pitch and chord names, to name just a few. Detailed guidelines are provided for the bibliographic handling of standard print, audiovisual, and electronic sources, as well as specialized ones such as program notes, liner notes, and music videos."
 
Music Notation in the Twentieth Century: A Practical Guidebook
Main Library General Collection MT 35 .S87
Describes and recommends methods for notating modern music and discusses traditional practices still in use.
 
https://www.areditions.com/mla/notes/stylesheet.html
The online style sheet of Notes, the quarterly journal of the Music Library Association. Compiled by the journal's editorial staff.
 
A Style and Usage Guide to Writing About Music
Main Library General Collection ML 3797 .D76 2010
"...Presents a collection of style and formatting guidelines designed to help writers express the special notations, terms, and concepts found in the discipline of music" (publisher's description). Includes a glossary of typographic terms.
 
Writing About Music: A Style Sheet from the Editors of 19th-Century Music
Main Library General Collection ML 63 .W68 1988
Topics include: how to go about describing musical works and procedures in prose, rules for citations in notes and bibliography, proper preparation of such materials as musical examples, tables, and illustrations. One section discusses program notes, another explains the requirements of submitting manuscripts written on a word processor. An appendix lists common problem words in music.
 
Writing About Music: An Introductory Guide
Main Library General Collection ML 3797 .W54 2009
Designed to assist undergraduate students, both music majors and non-majors, to write about music. Subjects covered include: choosing a topic, musical analysis, and a step-by-step guide to writing a research paper.

Citation Management Tools

Citation management programs help researchers:

> Collect citations from online sources, including library catalogs and electronic databases;

> Organize references by subject, project, author, or other schemes; and 

> Create bibliographies formatted according to MLA, APA, Chicago, Turabian or other widely used citation styles.

The UCF Libraries make available free of charge to current students, faculty, and staff two of the most commonly used citation management programs, RefWorks and EndNote.

There are also several free, open-source citation management programs, chief among them Zotero and Mendeley.