Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Urban Documents Microfiche Collection

Subject Headings in ICUD

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

The subject headings reproduced in this guide are those used between 1979 and 1998 (the period for which microfiche are held by UCF), plus the online database topics in effect as of December 2006. The preferred terminology for some concepts changes over time; additional "see" and "see also" references appear in the print indexes. This list of subject headings is provided with the permission of Greenwood Press.

Q

Quality control

Quality of life (SEE ALSO Living conditions)

Questionnaires

R

Race relations

Race tracks

Racial groups

Racing

Racism

Radar

Radiation

Radio and television

--ownership

--regulation

Radio communication

Radiological hazards

Railroad equipment, rolling stock

Railroad safety devices and measures

Railroad stations

Railroad terminals

Railroads

--agencies, authorities

--taxation

Rainfall

Rape

--statistics

Rapid transit

--finance

--planning

Real estate business

--discrimination, integration

--law and legislation

Real property

--appraisals

--assessments

--maintenance, management

--taxation

Real property, public

--auction

--management

Recalls

Recession

Records

--administration, management

Recreation

--administration, management

--associations

--directories

--facilities

--finance

--inventories, surveys

--planning

Recreation areas

Recreation centers

Recreation departments

--periodic reports

Recreation programs

Recycling of waste products (SEE ALSO Resource recovery)

Redevelopment

Referenda

Reformatories, juvenile

Refugees

Refuse and refuse disposal

--agencies, authorities

--agencies, authorities--periodic reports

--environmental impact

--facilities

--finance

--law and legislation

--outside services

--planning

Regional agencies, authorities

--periodic reports

Regional directories

Regional growth

Regional planning

--agencies, councils of government

--agencies, councils of government--periodic reports

--bibliographies

--citizen, community participation

--directories

--finance

--handbooks, manuals

--inventories, surveys

--law and legislation

--policy, goals

--research

Regional zoning

Rehabilitation services

Religious activities

Religious groups

Religious organizations

Relocation

Remedial education programs

Renovation

Rent control

--law and legislation

Rent subsidies, housing allowances

Rental housing

Rents

Report writing

Reporting

Research

Reservoirs

Residential districts

Residential facilities

Resource management

Resource planning

Resource recovery

Rest rooms

Restaurants

Retail stores

Retail trade

--law and legislation

--market analyses

--statistics

Retirement

Retirement plans (SEE ALSO Pensions, retirement plans)

Revenue sharing

Revenue sharing, federal

Revenue sharing, state

Revenues

--statistics

Rezoning

Risk management

Rivers

Road departments

--periodic reports

Road signs

Road systems

Roads

--construction

--designs and plans

--environmental impact

--finance

--finance, federal aid

--finance, state aid

--improvements

--maintenance and repairs

--maps

--planning

--planning--land acquisition

Roads, elevated

Roads, toll

Rodents

Runaways

Rural areas

S

SMSA (Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area)

Safety codes, standards

Safety devices and measures

Safety education

Safety programs

Safety zones

Salaries, wages

Sales tax

Salvage

Same-sex marriages

Sampling

Sanitary codes

Sanitary inspection

Sanitation

Sanitation departments

--periodic reports

Savings and loan associations

Savings banks

Scatter site housing

School administrators

School attendance

--statistics

School boards

--proceedings

School buildings

--construction

--costs

--finance

--planning

School children

School clinics

School closings

School discipline

School districts

--finance

--periodic reports

School libraries

School lunch programs

School systems

--finance

--labor agreements

--organization charts

--periodic reports

School tuition

Schools

--administration, management

--citizen, community participation

--curricula

--curricular materials and equipment

--directories

--discrimination, integration

--enrollment

--examination

--handbooks, manuals

--inventories, surveys

--promotion, retention

--pupil transport

--standards

--statistics

--support services

Schools, private

Scientific research

Scientific societies

--directories

Sculpture

Securities

Security systems and measures

Seismology

Senior center

Sentence

Septic tanks

Service charges

Service contracts, contracting

Sewer districts

--finance

--periodic reports

Sewerage and sewage disposal

--agencies, authorities

--agencies, authorities--periodic reports

--environmental impact

--facilities

--finance

--law and legislation

--planning

Sewers

--maintenance, management

--standards and specifications

Sexual abuse

Sexual harassment

Shelters

Sheriffs

Shipping

--statistics

Shopping centers, malls

Shorelands (SEE ALSO Coastal zones)

Shuttle service

Sick leave

Sidewalks

Sign codes

Signs, billboards

Single parents

Sinking fund

Site planning

Site selection

Slums

Small business

Small claims courts

Smoke detectors

Smoking

SMSA (Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area)

Snow removal

Social change

Social conditions

--statistics

Social legislation

Social policy

Social problems

Social psychology

Social science research

Social Security

Social service agencies

--directories

--inventories, surveys

--periodic reports

Social services

--bibliographies

--directories

--finance

--glossaries

--handbooks, manuals

--inventories, surveys

--law and legislation

--planning

--statistics

Social surveys

Social workers

--certification

Socio-economic analyses

Soils

Solar energy

Solid waste disposal

Space considerations

Special assessments

Special districts

--finance

--periodic reports

Special education (SEE ALSO Remedial education programs)

Sports activities

Sports events

Sports facilities

Spouse abuse

Stadiums (SEE ALSO Arenas, stadiums)

State aid

State bonds

State debts

State development commissions

State government

--directories

--emergency powers

State-municipal cooperation, relations

State ownership

State planning

State planning agencies

State supervision of local finance

State taxation

Statistics

Steering committee

Stocks

Storage

Storms

Stormwater

Street closing

Street guides

Street lighting

Street openings

Street widening

Streets

--finance

--improvements

--maintenance and repairs

--planning

--standards and specifications

Strikes

Students

Style manuals

Subdivision

Subdivision regulation

Subsidies

Subsidized housing

Substance abuse (SEE ALSO Alcohol abuse, Drug abuse)

Suburbs

Subways

Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS)

Suggestion systems

Suicide

Summer schools

Support services

Survey methods

Surveying

Surveys

Swimming pools

Systems analysis