Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Urban Documents Microfiche Collection

Subject Headings in ICUD

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

The subject headings reproduced in this guide are those used between 1979 and 1998 (the period for which microfiche are held by UCF), plus the online database topics in effect as of December 2006. The preferred terminology for some concepts changes over time; additional "see" and "see also" references appear in the print indexes. This list of subject headings is provided with the permission of Greenwood Press.

A

ADA (Americans With Disabilities Act)

AIDS (acquired immune deficiency syndrome)

Abortion

--law and legislation

Absenteeism, tardiness

Accidents

--prevention

--statistics

Accidents, building construction

Accidents, industrial

Accidents, traffic

--prevention

--statistics

Accountability

Accounting methods

Achievement

--test, examinations

Administration, management

--audit reports

--centralization, decentralization

--codes, ordinances

--handbooks, manuals

--organization

Adolescents (SEE ALSO Youth)

Adoption

Adult care

Adult education

Advertising

Affirmative action, equal opportunities programs

Affordable housing (SEE ALSO Low-cost housing)

African-American

Aged

--abuse, neglect

--education

--employment

--health programs

--health services

--housing

--income

--institutional care

--insurance

--pensions, retirement plans

--recreation

--social services

--statistics

--transportation

--volunteer work

Agriculture

Aid to dependent children programs

Aid to families with dependent children

Air conditioning

Air pollution

--bibliographies

--economic aspects, impact

--environmental impact

--law and legislation

--research

Air pollution control

--agencies, authorities

Air quality

--monitoring

Air traffic

--regulation

Air traffic control

Air transportation

--statistics

Air travel

--statistics

Aircraft

Air-ground transport

Airlines

--regulation

Airports

--administration, management

--economic aspects, impact

--environmental impact

--facilities

--finance

--planning

--zoning

Alcohol abuse

--education, prevention

Alcoholic beverage control

Alcoholic beverages

--licenses

--taxation

Alcoholics

--rehabilitation, treatment

Alcoholism

--education, prevention

Ambulances

American Indians

Amusement areas

Animals, pets

--codes, ordinances

Annexation

Apartment houses

--social aspects, impact

Apartments

Apportionment, reapportionment

Apprenticeship programs

Aquariums

Aquatic life

Arbitration

Arboretums

Archaeology

Architects

Architectural features

Architecture

--bibliographies

--designs and plans

--history

--inventories, surveys

--standards and specifications

Archives

Arenas, stadiums

Armories

Arrest

--statistics

Arson

Art

Art commissions

Art exhibitions

Artists

Asians, Asian Americans

Associations, organizations

Athletic facilities & fields

Athletic programs

Auction

Audio-visual aids

Auditoriums

--acoustics

Authorities

--finance

Automation

Aviation

B

Bail

Ballots

Banks and banking

--regulation

Beaches

Beautification

Benchmarking

Better business bureaus

Bibliographies

Bicentennial centers

Bicentennial programs

Bicycling

Bids, bidding

Bikelanes

Bikeways

Biosolids disposal

Birds

Birth control

Birth rates

Births

--statistics

Black Americans

Blight

Blighted areas

Block grants

Blocks

Boards, commissions

Boats, boating

Bonds

--law and legislation

--taxation

Bonds, general obligation

Bonds, revenue

Bonds, serial

Bonds, sinking fund

Bonds, special assessment

Botanical gardens, arboretums

Boundaries

Boundaries, municipal

Bridges

--special districts

--standards and specifications

Bridges, toll

Bridle paths

Brownfields

Budget

--appropriation ordinances

--appropriations

--handbooks, manuals

--procedure

Budget, capital

Budget, county

--appropriation ordinances

--appropriations

Budget, county, capital

Budget, county, operating

Budget, metropolitan

Budget, municipal

--appropriation ordinances

--appropriations

Budget, municipal, capital

Budget, municipal, operating

Budget, operating

Budget, school districts

Budget, school systems

Budget, special districts

Budget, supplementary

Budget bureaus

Budget messages

Building

--agencies, authorities

--agencies, authorities--periodic reports

--contracts

--standards and specifications

--statistics

Building, housing codes

--administration, management

--enforcement

--inspection

--inspection--statistics

Building and occupancy permits

--statistics

Building conditions

Building construction and technology

Building costs

Building equipment

Building industry

--affirmative action, equal opportunity programs

Building materials

--standards and specifications

Building re-use

Building trades

Buildings

--condemnation

--conditions

--height and bulk

--inventories, surveys

--preservation, rehabilitation

Buildings, abandoned

Buildings, high-rise

Burglar alarms

Burglary

Bus and rail systems

Bus lines

Bus terminals

Buses

Business

--directories

--inventories, surveys

--licenses

--regulation

--statistics

--taxation

Business and government cooperation

Business cycles

Business districts

--rehabilitation

--rehabilitation--business participation

Business ethics

Business incentives

Business location

Business organizations

Business parks

Business subsidies

Bylaws