Finding Articles, Journals, and Databases
This page helps you locate articles and journals. Articles are published in journals (more professional/scholarly) or magazines (more informal) or another type of publication. These journals and magazines, in turn, can be found in databases or repositories.
Databases and repositories may contain content other than or in addition to articles. They may contain books, chapters, data, maps, photos, plans, videos, etc. Some of these specialized databases are listed below. Databases typically have many settings or tools to use to find what you are seeking.
Databases
- Art & Architecture Source (EBSCOhost)“This art research database covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. It features full-text articles, indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books and more.”
see also Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) - Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)Indexing and full text of articles for array of scholarly and popular topics. Provides full text for over 4,600 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, science, cultural studies, education, and much more.
- APA PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) (1887+)American Psychological Association's (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
- JSTORFull text of Architecture & Architectural History journals (29 titles) from the year of their inception, many dating back to the early 1900's, providing high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (ProQuest) (1934+)Offers a listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Coverage is from the 1930s to the present, with selective coverage back to the 1860s.
- ARTstor
This link opens in a new window
A digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences for research and pedagogical purposes. To browse images, click "Classification", then choose "Architecture and City Planning" from the list. - Oxford Art OnlineThis is a comprehensive encyclopedia on every aspect of the visual arts; provides access to more than 5,000 images.
- Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCOhost)“This database offers a diverse array of full-text and indexed content that covers the full spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplines—from acoustics to aeronautics, and neural networks to nuclear engineering.”
- Architecture Commons (Digital Commons)"brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide."
Sub-Disciplines include: Urban, Community & Regional Planning -- Historic Preservation & Conservation -- Landscape Architecture -- Environmental Design -- Architectural History & Criticism -- Architectural Engineering -- Interior Architecture -- Cultural Resource Management & Policy Analysis -- Construction Engineering -- Other Architecture -- Architectural Technology - Art & Architecture in Video (Alexander Street)
- This link opens in a new window
"an online streaming film collection, delivers over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis. Ideal for both undergraduate and graduate courses, the works within this collection offer a dynamic tool to enhance understanding of visual media." - Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) (1929-1984)"provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews."
see also Art & Architecture Source - Urban Studies Abstracts (EBSCOhost)Covers 1950s through the present
- Compendex (Ei Engineering Village) (1884+)a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines.
Requesting Full-Text Articles FAQs
If the article or book I am looking for is not available through the UCF Libraries, is there a way I can request it?
Yes. Interlibrary Loan/Borrowing from Other Libraries/UBorrow is a free service in which materials are borrowed and lent between different libraries. This allows you to borrow items, such as books and articles, that are not owned by the UCF Libraries. Once you place the request in Illiad for an article, you will receive an email notifying you to log-in to your Illiad account to view or download the PDF.
How long will it take my article to arrive?
Articles usually take 1 to 3 business days for online delivery. Physical books may take a couple weeks.
List of Featured Journal Titles
- Journals List (UCF Library) This link opens in a new windowSearch for specific journals or magazines by title or ISSN. Selecting an individual journal title may provide an option to search inside for articles from that journal. To search for articles from multiple journals go to one of the subject area databases.
- the Journals List also provides an option to browse to identify journals by subject category
- Architect (formerly Architecture)
- Architects Journal
- Architectural Digest
- Architectural Record
- Architectural Review
- ARQ: Architectural Research Quarterly
- Building Design and Construction
- Canadian Architect
- Daidalus - Berlin Architectural Journal
- Environment & Behavior
- Interior Design
- Journal of Architectural and Planning Research
- Journal of Architectural Education
- Journal of Architecture
- Journal of the American Planning Association
- Landscape Journal
- Planning
- Technology Architecture + Design