Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Peer Reviewed or Refereed Scholarly Journals

Many databases consist almost entirely of scholarly journals

Databases with content coming almost entirely from scholarly journals might not provide a specific limiter for peer-reviewed or refereed because the distinction wouldn't reduce the results enough to make it worth the effort.

The following are just a small sample of scholarly databases available:

ProQuest Databases with scholarly/peer-reviewed limiter

Scholarly Journals, including peer-reviewed -- "Check this box to search only scholarly journals, including peer-reviewed journals. Leave the box empty to include other sources in your search.

A publication is considered to be scholarly if it is authored by academics for a target audience that is mainly academic, the printed format isn't usually a glossy magazine, and it is published by a recognized society with academic goals and missions.

A publication is considered to be peer reviewed if its articles go through an official editorial process that involves review and approval by the author's peers (people who are experts in the same subject area.) Most (but not all) scholarly publications are peer reviewed. Some trade publications are actually peer reviewed, but ProQuest does not consider them when filtering on peer reviewed. This is because getting results from trade publications instead of academic journals can be frustrating to researchers. Instead, ProQuest excludes these peer reviewed trade publications and only considers publications that are scholarly in terms of content, intent, and audience."

EBSCOhost Databases with scholarly/peer-reviewed limiter

EBSCOhost databases identify "scholarly" and "peer-reviewed" as synonymous.

A partial list of available databases follows:

Gale Databases with academic/peer-reviewed limiter

The contents of many of Gale's subject area databases are cross-indexed in Academic Onefile.