Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Social Explorer: Comparison

provides help in using the database

Comparison of Features in American FactFinder, DemographicsNow, SimplyMap and Social Explorer

The following table compares some of the features available in four resources available to UCF students, faculty and staff. Each database provides demographic data about the U.S. population from the national level down to the block group level.

  American FactFinder DemographicsNow SimplyAnalytics Social Explorer
Subscription? Free from U.S. Census Available to library card holders of public & academic libraries throughout Florida

UCF students, faculty, staff

 

UCF students, faculty, staff
Overview Free, but confusing Ready-made reports & graphs (e.g., Executive Summary); five-year forecasts Extensive marketing data with attitudes/opinions, specific brands and powerful customization; five-year forecasts Easy reports, maps across decades, PowerPoint export
Research Guide - http://guides.ucf.edu/demographicsnow http://guides.ucf.edu/simplymap http://guides.ucf.edu/socialexplorer
Login URL http://factfinder2.census.gov/ http://guides.ucf.edu/database/DemographicsNow http://guides.ucf.edu/database/SimplyMap http://guides.ucf.edu/database/SocialExplorer
Limit # Users? No No 5 simultaneous users 3 simultaneous users
Personal Storage? No No create personal account within libraries' subscription(recommended) create personal account within libraries' subscription
Coverage current & historical data current & historical data
and future estimates
current data
and future estimates

current & historical data

Dates 2000-2010+ 1980-2010+ & 5-Yr Forecast 2010+ & 5-Yr Forecast 1790-2010+
Earliest year 2000 1980 (brief data); 1990 2010 1790
Annual data? American Community Survey No American Community Survey American Community Survey
Forecasts? No 5-year forecast 5-year forecast No 
Number of Variables  ? 18,000+ 75,000+ 250,000+
Topics 2000 & 2010 decennial population & housing data + American Community Surveys

1990, 2000, & 2010 decennial census population & housing data

1980 & 2000 brief comparison

2010 & 2015: decennial population & housing data + American Community Surveys

current/recent: consumer
expenditures, consumer price index, business counts, business locations, retail sales, market segments, consumer behavior, consumer attitudes & opinions

1790-current: decennial population & housing data + American Community Surveys

1980-2009: religious congregations & membership

2002: carbon dioxide emissions map

Ready-made reports? QuickFacts Yes (major feature) No

Yes

Consumer spending? No Yes Yes

No

Attitudes & Opinions? No No Simmons (extensive) No
Health? No No Simmons No
Religion? No No limited attitudes/opinions data about religion available in Simmons lifestyle data congregations & membership (1980+)
churches by faith (1850-1870)
Market segments? No Mosaic PRIZM and other data No
Ring Study? No customizable by distance & drive time 1, 3, 5 miles  No
Select data by points on map? No No Yes Yes (recommended)
Download Excel, CSV, PDF, RTF Excel, Word, PDF Excel, CSV, DBF Excel, CSV
Statistical analysis download CSV download CSV download CSV programs to import & label data in SAS, STATA, & SPSS
PowerPoint - - save maps as GIF or PDF direct export of map slides to PowerPoint
GIS TIGER/Line files separate use external sources direct export of shapefiles use external sources
Data Sources U.S. Census Bureau U.S. Census Bureau, Applied Geographic Solutions U.S. Census Bureau, D&B, Experian Simmons, Nielsen, Mediamark Research, Easy Analytics Software Inc., Applied Geographic Solutions U.S. Census Bureau, InfoGroup, Glenmary Research Center, NASA/Dept. of Energy
Company website U.S. Census Bureau Gale Cengage Learning Geographic Research, Inc. Oxford University Press