New Books - Tourism
Dynamics of the Tourism Industry by
The tourism industry is one of the most fragile industries because it can be significantly impacted by outside forces, such as pandemics and health scares, natural disasters and catastrophes, economic crises, political recessions and wars, and more, especially epidemics that occur on a global scale, which can cause societies to weaken or be damaged. This new volume presents collective experiences that explore how the tourism industry is affected by pandemics and natural disasters, offering case studies and strategies to mitigate their harmful impact.
Call Number: G155.A1 D967 2024
Handbook on Tourism Planning by
Timely and accessible, this Handbook offers a thorough account of the growth, development, and changes in the field of tourism planning over recent decades. With contributions from an interdisciplinary and international range of top scholars, it examines critical issues and challenges facing contemporary tourism planning. Covering research at local, national, and global levels, chapters unpack and frame planning strategies in various destinations, expanding the definition of tourism planning to encompass a range of successful case studies. The Handbook looks at reimagining tourism planning through sustainability; engaging with forms of creative cultural tourism, the smart city, and rethinking how we see, communicate, understand, and can transform tourist destinations. It also highlights how the COVID-19 pandemic has intensified pre-existing issues in the tourism sector, including sustainability, policy, and governance. Providing both theoretical and practical perspectives on tourism planning, this Handbook is an essential reference for students and scholars in the field. The diversity of perspectives and action-oriented, project-specific approach also make this an invigorating read for tourism planners and practitioners, particularly those focusing on making tourism practices more sustainable.
Call Number: G155.A1 H359 2023
Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning in the Travel Industry by
Over the past decade, Artificial Intelligence has proved invaluable in a range of industry verticals such as automotive and assembly, life sciences, retail, oil and gas, and travel. The leading sectors adopting AI rapidly are Financial Services, Automotive and Assembly, High Tech and Telecommunications. Travel has been slow in adoption, but the opportunity for generating incremental value by leveraging AI to augment traditional analytics driven solutions is extremely high. The contributions in this book, originally published as a special issue for the Journal of Revenue and Pricing Management, showcase the breadth and scope of the technological advances that have the potential to transform the travel experience, as well as the individuals who are already putting them into practice.
ISBN: 9783031254550Publication Date: 2023-05-27
Global Perspectives on Human Rights and the Impact of Tourism Consumption in the 21st Century by
Global Perspectives on Human Rights and the Impact of Tourism Consumption in the 21st Century is an essential reference book for those concerned with the interaction between tourism consumption, social justice, and human rights. With chapters covering topics such as human trafficking, geospatial discrimination, gentrification theory, violence, racism, child sex tourism, and the impact of COVID-19 on tourism and human rights, this book presents a rich conceptual debate on the impact of tourism consumption on human rights. It also provides practical solutions to promote sustainable tourism practices that respect and protect human rights, highlighting successful case studies where tourism has positively contributed to human rights. The book emphasizes that human rights violations in the tourism industry can no longer be ignored, and it's our responsibility to take action to ensure that tourism practices respect and protect the fundamental rights of all individuals involved. By implementing the solutions provided in this book, we can work together to promote sustainable tourism practices that benefit everyone involved and create a more equitable and just world. In conclusion, this book is a must-read for those concerned with promoting social justice, human rights, and sustainable tourism practices.
Publication Date: 2023-06-06
Migration, Tourism and Social Sustainability by
The distinctions between tourism and migration are increasingly blurred. Tourism often drives various forms of mobility, and an international workforce is essential to maintaining functioning tourism economies. This book explores intersections of tourism and migration, considering their relationships with and impacts on social sustainability. The chapters explore in a variety of contexts how the planning, development and governance of tourism affects the sustainability of communities, which consequently influences attitudes towards migrants and tourists. They also consider how migrant-local connections may evolve, creating opportunities for positive, symbiotic co-existence or intergroup tensions and exploitative relationships. The book paves the way for future work examining new forms and interactions between migration and tourism that contribute to social sustainability. This book will be of great value to students, academics, and researchers interested in tourism, geography, migration/diaspora studies and sociology. The chapters in this book were originally published as a special issue of Tourism Geographies.
Call Number: JV 6035.M547 2023Publication Date: 2023-03-21
Managing the Smart Revolution in Tourism Firms by
Smart Technologies are revolutionizing tourism, as they promise to change the way tourists behave and how companies interact with them and generate profits. The increasing availability of real-time data in combination with advanced machine learning techniques, artificial intelligence and business analytics, to name but a few, will transform the tourism industry forever and in unthinkable ways. The degree of sophistication achieved by Smart Technologies and the speed with which transformations are taking place means that those people lacking a relevant digital background may lag behind, therefore being unable to take advantage of the opportunities offered by the data economy and fully benefit from its applications. This practical book explains the key ideas that tourism practitioners and decision-makers must know to understand Smart Technologies, and the management principles supporting them. The contents: · Include real-life cases to illustrate to the reader the true dimension of the "smart" phenomenon and the new frontiers that are yet to open in the coming years · Bring together the knowledge and experience of leading experts from the academia, tourism sector and technology companies, who reveal, in a unified way, the fundamental points your organization must consider in the path towards being smarter · Create a practical knowledge tool that allows getting the most out of Smart Technologies, its products and future trends, while learning how to make them a competitive tool, and avoid being left behind · Features full colour figures and photographs The book will be a vital resource for Tourism practitioners, strategic planners and policy makers as well as students of tourism marketing, management and technology
Call Number: G 156.5.I5 N38 2023Publication Date: 2023-05-09
Handbook of Tourism and Small Island States in the Pacific by
This timely handbook critically examines the development and role of tourism in small Pacific Island states located across Melanesia, Micronesia and Polynesia. The volume presents an expansive evaluation of current issues, challenges and potentialities for the 13 self-governing states. Interdisciplinary in coverage and borne of a varied and international authorship, this handbook incorporates 27 specifically commissioned and original contributions. Structured into four thematic sections and embellished with insightful tables and illustrations throughout, the overarching ethos of this volume is to contribute to framing the role of tourism, tourism development and the tourism industry within the context of self-governing Pacific Island states faced with the challenge of pursuing an independent path of development. In doing so, the work highlights and deciphers various tourism development perplexities in the Pacific, examining closely the intersecting sociocultural, geopolitical, environmental, organizational, operational and strategic challenges. This volume, thus, discusses a range of issues: facilitators and inhibitors of tourism growth and development; climate change, ecological concerns, and eco-tourism; non-tourism and undertourism; crisis management and the COVID-19 virus; transportation and tourism infrastructural concerns; tourism policy and planning (including tourism governance); sectoral links between tourism; food and agriculture; gender and micro-entrepreneurship; community management and participation; cultural and natural heritage sites; and the handicraft industry. The work pays critical attention to the various trajectories of sustainable tourism and the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals. Despite the many challenges and concerns raised, the book implicates the importance of good governance, progressive post-COVID-19 recovery strategies and directives, and creative and imaginative options in the successful development, re-development and advancement of tourism. As a definitive reference resource for this subject area, this handbook will be of great interest to students, researchers and academics within tourism, development studies, geography, Pacific studies, sustainability and environmental studies.
Call Number: G 155.P25 R68 2023
The Local Turn in Tourism: Empowering Communities by
In a world that is subject to rapid change and cascading crises this book considers the vital importance of local communities to grounded, just and sustainable tourism futures. Embracing local tourism as relational, the contributors examine how tourism can be reoriented to better connect people, place and planet.
Call Number: G156.5.S63 L64 2023
Cutting Edge Research Methods in Hospitality and Tourism by
Cutting Edge Research Methods in Hospitality and Tourism sits at the forefront of fast-paced developments in the tourism and hospitality industry, highlighting the importance of applied and pure research to address the theoretical and practical problems and gaps.
Publication Date: 2023-01-25
Culture as a Critical Enabler for Tourism Destination Development by
The relationship between cultural heritage and tourism has stimulated the theoretical debate for many years. While it is evident that cultural attractions have the potential to be critical assets for tourism policymakers and destinations, tourist behaviors are often seen as potential harm to both the preservation of cultural heritage and the development of a profound cultural experience. Nevertheless, a growing number of experiences show that a sound management of cultural tourism can generate substantial social, economic, and even environmental benefits. This chapter aims to investigate the trajectories and strategies tourism destinations can adopt to leverage their (material and immaterial) cultural assets, improve their brand, and eventually, enhance their competitive position in the tourism markets, with particular reference to the case of Parma Italian Capital of Culture 2020.
Publication Date: 2023
more E-Books
Plunkett's Airline, Hotel & Travel Industry Almanac 2023 by
Plunkett's Airline, Hotel & Travel Industry Almanac is your complete guide to this fascinating industry. The exciting new reference book will give you access to the complete scope of the travel industry, including our famous analysis of major trends; market research; statistics and historical tables; airlines; hotel operators; entertainment destinations such as resorts and theme parks; tour operators; the largest travel agencies; e-commerce firms; cruise lines; casino hotels; car rental; train travel; and much, much more. It contains thousands of contacts for business and industry leaders, industry associations, Internet sites and other resources. We cover airline consolidation and discount airlines; travel and tourism trends in emerging markets such as India and China; and China's rapid development of high speed passenger trains. This book also includes statistical tables, a travel industry glossary, industry contacts and thorough indexes. The corporate profile section includes our proprietary, in-depth profiles of over 330 leading companies worldwide in all facets of the travel industry, public and private. You'll find a complete overview, industry analysis and market research report in one superb, value-priced package.
Publication Date: 2022-08-30
Contested Tourism Commodities: What's for Sale by Publication Date: 2020This volume explores a number of different tourism niches, including slum tourism, trophy hunting tourism, cosmetic surgery tourism, volunteer tourism, and sex tourism, to name but a few. It shows that the margins between contested commodity and mainstream acceptance are fluid and relative, becoming increasingly blurred.
The Future Past of Tourism: historical perspectives and future evolutions by Publication Date: 2020This book offers a critical account of the historical evolution of tourism through the identification and discussion of key turning points.
Neolocalism and Tourism: Understanding a Global Movement by Publication Date: 2020Neolocalism and Tourism: Understanding a Global Movement is the first comprehensive analysis of neolocalism in the tourism context and provides a forum to discuss the latest developments, trends, and research involving tourism and neolocalism, as well as exploring new areas for consideration.
Cycling and Motorcycling Tourism: An Analysis of Physical, Sensory, Social, and Emotional Features of Journey Experiences by Publication Date: 2019This book explores the understanding, description, and measurement of the physical, sensory, social, and emotional features of motorcycle and bicycle journey experiences in tourism.
Air Transport by ISBN: 2019Air Transport: A Tourism Perspective provides rigorous insights into the current complexities, synergies and conflicts within air transportation and tourism, presenting a balanced, comprehensive, contemporary, and global analysis that thoroughly examines the links between theory and practice.
Corporate Sustainability and Responsibility in Tourism : A Transformative Concept by Publication Date: 2019This book offers essential insights into how the world's second largest industry, tourism, is responding to challenges involved in expanding the corporate social responsibility (CSR) concept to corporate sustainability and responsibility, referred to as CSR 2.0.
Print Books
Browsing
Print books relating to the Lodging Industry are generally found in the following call number ranges:
| Subject | Call Number Range |
|---|---|
|
General travel/tourism |
G149-G550 (especially G154-G163) |
|
Cruise Industry |
G149-G550 (especially G154-G163) |
|
Airlines, airports, air travel |
G550 and G153.4 |
|
Travel/tourism law |
HE9700-HE9900 and TL685-TL726 |
|
Travel guidebooks |
TX907.2 |
Reference Sources
It is often a good idea to begin your research in the following types of reference sources, which are designed to be consulted for topic overview or for authoritative information. In many cases, they contain vital information that cannot be found anywhere else.
Please note that certain topics in travel and tourism may be covered in sources listed on the Rosen Research Guides on Statistics/Demographics, Marketing, or the Lodging Industry. If you need more assistance in locating or using appropriate reference sources, Ask a Rosen Librarian.
The following general books related to the Travel and Tourism Industry can be found in the Rosen Library reference section:
| General Travel & Tourism |
Call Number |
|---|---|
|
Compendium of Tourism Statistics |
Rosen REF G155.A1 T5896 |
|
Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America |
Rosen REF GV53 .E53 2004 |
|
International Dictionary of Hosp. Mgmt. |
Rosen REF TX905 .I57 2008 |
|
Key Concepts in Tourism |
Rosen REF G155.A1 L585 2007 |
|
Plunkett's Airline, Hotel, & Travel Industry Almanac |
Rosen REF G155 .A1 T682 |
|
SAGE Handbook of Hospitality Management |
Rosen REF TX911.3.M27S14 2008 |
|
SAGE Handbook of Tourism Studies |
Rosen REF G155.7.S24 2009 |
|
Tourism Society's Dictionary for the Tourism Industry |
Rosen REF G155.A1 C517 2008 |
|
Travel & Tourism Market Research Handbook |
Rosen REF G155.U6 T74 2007 |
|
World Travel Guide |
Rosen REF G153.4 .W67 |
|
Yearbook of Tourism Statistics |
Rosen REF G155.A1 A62 |
Domestic & International Travel
|
US Travel & Tourism |
Call Number |
|---|---|
|
Domestic Travel Market Report |
Rosen REF G155 .U6 T87 2007 |
|
Economic Review of Travel in America |
Rosen REF G155 .U6 E32 |
|
Florida Visitor Study |
Rosen REF G155.U6F5 |
|
Impact of Travel on State Economies |
Rosen REF G155.U6 I48 |
|
National Leisure Travel Monitor |
Rosen REF G155 .U6 R932 2004 |
|
Outlook for Travel and Tourism |
Rosen REF G155.U6 M273 |
|
Survey of U.S. State and Territory Tourism Offices |
Rosen REF G155 .U6 U58 |
|
Tourism Works for America: Travel Industry Snapshots |
Rosen REF G155.A2 U52 |
|
Travel and Tourism Works for America |
Rosen REF G155 .U6 T746 |
|
U.S. Domestic Business & Convention Travel |
Rosen REF G156.5.B86 U84 2006 |
|
U.S. Domestic Leisure Travel |
Rosen REF G155.8.U6 T73 2005 |
|
International Travel & Tourism |
Call Number |
|---|---|
|
Chinese Outbound Travel Market |
Rosen REF G155.C6 C57 2008 |
|
Country Reports (TTI/Mintel) |
Rosen PER G155 .A1 I6 |
|
Craighead's Int'l Business, Travel, & Relocation Guide |
Rosen REF HF5549.5.E45 D56 |
|
CultureGrams |
Rosen REF GT150 .C85 2004 |
|
Indian Outbound Travel Market |
Rosen REF DS432.5.I593 2009 |
|
International Outlook for Travel and Tourism |
Rosen REF G155 .U6 T72 2005 |
|
Online Metrics Handbook for Travel Marketers |
Rosen REF G155.A1 G74 2007 |
|
Russian Outbound Travel Market |
Rosen REF G155.R8.R88 2009 |
|
Tourism Market Trends (includes volumes on America, Asia, Europe, Middle East, and World) |
Rosen REF G155 [varies] |
|
Tourism in OECD Countries |
Rosen REF G155.O27 T68 2008 |
Geography & Maps
|
Geography, Maps, Atlases |
Call Number |
|---|---|
|
Essential World Atlas |
Rosen REF G1021.H36 2008 |
|
National Geographic Atlas of the World |
Rosen REF G1021 .N38 2005 |
|
Rand McNally Commercial Atlas & Marketing Guide |
Rosen REF G1200 .R32 |
Specific Kinds of Tourism or Special Topics
|
Specific Kinds of Tourism or Special Topics |
Call Number |
|---|---|
|
Casino Dictionary: Gaming and Business Terms |
Rosen REF GV1301.H295 2007 |
|
Complete Guide to Cruising and Cruise Ships |
Rosen REF G550.W37 2008 |
|
Cruise Industry News Annual |
Rosen REF G550 .C79 2005 |
|
Dictionary for Air Travel and Tourism Activities |
Rosen REF HE9768 .M37 2008 |
|
Encyclopedia of Tourism & Recreation in Marine Environments |
Rosen REF G155.A1E4296 2008 |
|
Event Tourism: Critical Concepts in Tourism |
Rosen REF G155.A1E93 2010 |
|
Golf Travel in the U.S. |
Rosen REF GV981 .G68 2009 |
|
Leisure Travel Planning: How Consumers Make Decisions |
Rosen REF G155.7 .L45 2005 |
|
Literature of Travel and Exploration: An Encyclopedia |
Rosen REF G465 .L565 2003 |
|
Travel Across the Generations |
Rosen REF G155.8.U6 T7 2006 |
|
Travel Weekly: Ultimate Hotel Guide |
Rosen REF G155.A1 T671 |
|
Traveler's Use of the Internet |
Rosen REF G155.U6 T76 |
|
Who's Buying for Travel |
Rosen REF G155 .U6 W65 2008 |
|
Youth Travel Matters: Understanding the Global Phenomenon of Youth Travel |
Rosen REF G156.5.Y6 Y68 2008 |