ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library
- ASTM Compass (1931+) This link opens in a new windowASTM standards, journals, and technical publications full text covering a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, and others.
IEEE Standards
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full text access to quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Includes most IEEE journals, conference proceedings, and standards.
Other Standards
There are other standards available in print in the library. Search the library catalog for availability. Use Interlibrary Loan to request for standards that the library does not own or subscribe. Below are select standards in the library, both print and online.
Guide for Resources for Engineering and Computer Science - Standards & COVID-19
In response to the growing Coronavirus (COVID-19) public health crisis, ANSI, AAMI, ASTM, SAE, and European Union are providing free access to key standards related to development, manufacturing, transportation, production, use and testing of personal protective equipment. This is not an exhaustive list, and you may need to consult other resources.
ISO 9001, ISO 14001, and New Management Standards by ISBN: 9783319656755Publication Date: 2018This book is a comprehensive reference on ISO management system standards and their implementation. The impacts that ISO 9001 and ISO 14001 have had on business performance are analyzed in depth, and up-to-date perspectives are offered on the integration of these and other management standards (e.g. SA8000, ISO/TS 16949). Detailed information is provided on the signaling value of different management standards and on the new ISO standards for management systems, such as ISO 50001 and ISO 45001, relating to energy management and occupational health and safety. The role of audits in ensuring compliance with the standards and achievement of objectives is also carefully considered. The volume examines avenues for further research and emerging challenges. In offering an integrated, holistic perspective on ISO management system standards, this book will have wide appeal for academics, public decision-makers, and practitioners in the field of quality and environmental management.
ISO 26000 - A Standardized View on Corporate Social Responsibility : Practices, Cases and Controversies by ISBN: 9783319926513Publication Date: 2019This book provides a comprehensive and detailed introduction to the ISO 26000 standard for social responsibility (SR) in businesses and corporations. In addition to discussing the standard's focus on various stakeholders and seven core topics, the book underscores its key aspects and most debatable issues, with a focus on its connection to sustainable business practices. It presents numerous cases and practical examples of the ISO 26000's implementation and discusses the outcomes and lessons learned, in terms of the extent to which organizations can envision practicing CSR in ways that fit their activities, stakeholders and environment. Lately, the ISO 26000 has proved to offer an interesting and important approach to the standardization of (corporate) social responsibility. Approached and perceived as a voluntary standard that does not include any specific requirements, determining the best way to implement and work with it involved a considerable amount of experimentation.
ISO 9000:2000 by Call Number: TS156.6 .H686 2003ISBN: 0750658444Publication Date: 2002-11-20Covering, in a handy pocket-sized format, the development, implementation and assessment of quality systems, this text provides the whats, whys and hows of ISO 9000:2000 to assist quality system developers to meet requirements and to help auditors perform effective audits.
ASCE Library (American Society of Civil Engineers)
ASCE Library. ASCE Standards provide technical guidelines for promoting safety, reliability, productivity, and efficiency in civil engineering. Many of our standards are referenced by model building codes and adopted by state and local jurisdiction. They also provide guidance for design projects around the world.
Other Resources for Standards
- Construction Criteria Base (CCB)"an extensive electronic library of construction guide specifications, manuals, standards and many other essential criteria documents. Published and updated continuously, CCB contains the complete unabridged, approved, current electronic equivalents of over 10,000 documents direct from participating federal agencies."
- Standards.gov"offers background materials and useful links for locating information about the use of standards in government. Our primary focus is on federal agency use of standards and conformity assessment for regulatory purposes."
- assistdocs.com (U.S. Department of Defense)"provides access to Defense Standardization Program documents obtained from the official DoD repository, the ASSIST database."
- Department of Energy Technical Standards Programprovides full text of approved and archived DOE technical standards
- OSHA Regulations (Occupational Safety & Health Administration)provides full text of OSHA standards contained in the Code of Federal Regulations (29 CFR)
- Federal Vehicle Standards (General Services Administration)provides full text of federal standards for ambulances, buses, fuel/water tankers, light trucks, medium & heavy trucks, sedans, and wreckers & carriers
- Index of Federal Specifications, Standards and Commercial Item Descriptions (FMR 102-27)does not include full text
"provides alphabetic, numeric, and Federal Supply Classification listings of Federal Specifications, Federal Standards, Federal Qualified Products Lists, Commercial Item Descriptions, and USDA Institutional Meat Purchase Specifications in general use throughout the federal government" - Information Resources (NSSN)provides links to a number of U.S. federal, state and local government agency websites that have programs or policies related to standards and conformity assessment activitie
Access to Standards in the Classroom
As the U.S. Member Body of the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), ANSI has been authorized to provide, upon request, complimentary access for students and faculty to selected standards currently available in the ISO collection. If needed, certain standards from the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) may also be made available.
These collections are comprised of nearly 20,000 standards, which can be made available to faculty and students in all disciplines in institutions of higher learning throughout the United States.