Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UCF Libraries Home

Mendoza

Introduction

Welcome to the virtual library instruction session for ARH 3610: American Art. My name is John Venecek, Humanities Librarian at UCF and liaison to the School of Visual Arts & Design.

These modules will walk you through the process of conducting research for this course while helping to refine your library skills. Each module will focus on a specific skill ranging from navigating subject databases, using effective keywords, evaluating scholarly resources, synthesizing resources, and using primary sources.

Let's begin with an overview of some basic library resources and services. This short video introduction will provide an overview of the following:

[enter video here]

Embed Code:

<iframe src="https://player.vimeo.com/video/545605044?badge=0&amp;autopause=0&amp;player_id=0&amp;app_id=58479" width="1920" height="1080" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; fullscreen; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen title="Library Instruction_Mendoza"></iframe>

Now let's move on to searching for images in ArtStor.

Using ArtStor

ArtStor consists of 2.5 million high-quality images from over 300 collections worldwide. All the images have been copyright-cleared through the ArtStor's licensing agreement with their partners, which means you are free to use them for non-commenrcial educational purposes. The images are the highest quality available and they include extensive metadata provided by the institutions that maintain the materials. Artstor also includes an image viewer with side-by-side comparison modes, group sharing options, and increased accessibility for users with disabilities.

Additionally, Artstor provides research assistance with curated collections on an array of topics along with guides to those collections and a series of webinars that focus on advanced research skills. The video below focuses on finding, collecting, and haring. I discuss how students can use ArtStor to locate high-quality images, build personal libraries, and share those collections with groups or export them to  PowerPoint.

[enter video here]

Embed Code:

<iframe src="https://player.vimeo.com/video/512274994" width="640" height="360" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; fullscreen; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

 

Links to the resources discussed in the video:

Oxford Art Online

The Oxford Art Online database consists of two collections: The Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists.

The Grove Dictionary of Art is the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering art and architecture from prehistory to the present day. It includes peer-reviewed articles contributed by nearly 7,000 scholars from 120 countries. It is accompanied by images, bibliographies, and extensive links to additional resources.

The Benezit Dictionary of Artists is a comprehensive resource for artists’ biographie. Founded in 1911 and originally published in French, it was translated into English in 2006 and published online for the first time in 2011. It includes 149,000 biographies as well as over 11,000 images and a collection of artists’ signatures.

[Enter Video here]

<iframe src="https://player.vimeo.com/video/512267193" width="640" height="360" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; fullscreen; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

 

As mentioned in the video, here is the link to a page of resources for researching art markets:

Oxford Art Online Art Markets

Databases for Art Criticism

The UCF Libraries subscribes to two key art-related databases: Art & Architecture Sources and Index to 19th Century Art Periodicals. This is where you'll find peer reviewed articles on a  wide array of art topics. In the video below, I'll show you how to search both collections at once and demonstrate how the databases are designed to help you narrow and focus your searches by using the advances search filter. 

[enter video here]

<iframe src="https://player.vimeo.com/video/512274994" width="640" height="360" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; fullscreen; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

 

In addition to the dedicated art databases covered in the video, think strategically about what other subject databases might be appropriate for your topic and explore those as I did with the Modern Language International Databases (MLA).