Databases
- Social Work Abstracts (EBSCOhost) (1965+) This link opens in a new windowSocial Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
- APA PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) (1887+) This link opens in a new windowThe APA PsycInfo® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
- Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest) (1979+) This link opens in a new windowResearch focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- Statistical Abstracts of the United States (U.S. Census) (1878-2012) This link opens in a new window"The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States."
- Food Environment Atlas (U.S. Department of Agriculture) This link opens in a new window"Food environment factors—such as store/restaurant proximity, food prices, food and nutrition assistance programs, and community characteristics—interact to influence food choices and diet quality."
Housing & Homelessness Statistics
- Joint Study for Housing Studies of Harvard UniversityThe Harvard Joint Center for Housing Studies advances understanding of housing issues and informs policy. Through its research, education, and public outreach programs, the center helps leaders in government, business, and the civic sectors make decisions that effectively address the needs of cities and communities.
- Homelessness Data Exchange (HDX)The Homelessness Data Exchange (HDX) is an online data submission tool for reporting to HUD. publishes data on the Housing Inventory Count (HIC), Point-in-Time (PIT) Count.
- National Alliance to End HomelessnessThe National Alliance to End Homelessness is a nonpartisan organization committed to preventing and ending homelessness in the United States.
- Homeless Services Network of Central Florida (HMiS)Homeless Services Network (HSN) is the lead agency for the Central Florida Commission on Homelessness in Orange, Osceola, and Seminole Counties, including the Cities of Orlando, Kissimmee, and Sanford. The Homeless Management Information System (HMIS) is a locally administered, electronic data collection system that stores longitudinal person-level information about persons who access the homeless service system in a Continuum of Care.