It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access Excellence, launched in 1993, is a national educational program that provides health, biology and life science teachers access to their colleagues, scientists, and critical sources of new scientific information via the World Wide Web.
Provide library and information services to Native Peoples (primarily Hawaiians and Native Americans). It serves individuals interested in the history, culture, and contributions of Native Hawaiians. It's primarly mission is to preserve Traditional Botanical Knowledge in indigenous languages.
The purpose of the Ethnobotanical Resource Directory is to unify global information regarding ethnobotanical research and documentation on the Internet. You can use this website to find a variety of information related to ethnobotany. The Ethnobotanical Resource Directory is a collection of more than 150 links which are divided into 12 areas.
Through a series of operating committees of executives from corn refining firms, the association conducts programs of technical service, public relations, and government relations for the association membership. The association is a primary source of educational material on corn and products from corn for schools, government, journalists, agriculture, and agribusiness.
The Economic Botany Collection is an important research resource because of its extraordinary breadth, and the copious documentation associated with many specimens. The collection of resources spans specimen labels, museum entry books, key archives, collection files, printed sources, and photographs of botanicals.
The International Coffee Organization (ICO) is the main intergovernmental organization for coffee, bringing together exporting and importing Governments to tackle the challenges facing the world coffee sector through international cooperation. Its Member Governments represent 98% of world coffee production and 83% of world consumption.
With over 8.5 million items, Kew houses the largest and most diverse botanical and mycological collections in the world. They represent over 95% of known flowering plant genera and more than 60% of known fungal genera.
MERLOT Community Portals include 1) academic discipline content supported and curated by content experts, 2) communities that support institution-wide academic programs, and 3) those built and maintained by our partner institutions.
Project Open Hand is a proud founding partner of the Food Is Medicine Coalition (FIMC). The FIMC is a volunteer association of nonprofit, medically-tailored and nutrition services (FNS) providers from across the country. The FIMC's purpose is to advance public policy that supports access to food and nutrition services for people with severe and/or chronic illnesses. The FIMC promotes research on the efficacy of food and nutrition services on health outcomes and cost of care and sharing best practices in the provision of medically-tailored meals of nutrition education and counseling.
Tropicos® was originally created for internal research but has since been made available to the world’s scientific community. All of the nomenclatural, bibliographic, and specimen data accumulated in MBG’s electronic databases during the past 30 years are publicly available here. This system has nearly 1.3 million scientific names and over 4.4 million specimen records.
The Mildred E. Mathias Botanical Garden (MEMBG) is a 7.5 acre garden on the UCLA campus in Los Angeles, California which contains a diverse collection of plant species from around the world. Over 3000 types of plants grow in the garden and a wide range of environments are found within its borders, from the sunny, dry desert and Mediterranean sections on the eastern edge to the shady, lush interior. A stream and series of ponds run through the center of the garden, home to koi and turtles. MEMBG is devoted to showcasing the beauty, utility and incredible diversity of the plant kingdom to the UCLA community and the public at large.
The Germplasm Resources Information Network's (GRIN) mission is to support four projects, the National Plant Germplasm System (NPGS), the National Animal Germplasm System (NAGP), the National Microbial Germplasm Program (NMGP), the National Inverteb rate Germplasm Program (NIGRP). GRIN provides National Genetic Resources Program (NGRP) personnel and germplasm users continuous access to databases for the maintenance of passport, characterization, evaluation, inventory, and distribution data important for the effective management and utilization of national germplasm collections.
From the University of Louisville
"The best place to look for information about careers in biology is on the web. Below we have listed some useful sites where you can find out about different careers in biology.
One good way to investigate careers in biology is to look at job advertisements. By looking at job listings, you can discover what kinds of jobs are available and think about which of them appeal to you. Then, by looking at the requirements for positions of interest, you can learn what skills you need to acquire and can tailor your courses and college work experiences accordingly."
Biology Department at Boston University
"Biology majors pursue a variety of different options after they complete their undergraduate degree. Some continue their schooling, pursuing graduate programs or medical school. Others begin their careers, working in a variety of fields like research, education, medicine, public policy, sustainability, and more."
From Boston University
"The mission of the Center for Career Development is to empower students and alumni to make intentional decisions about their professional futures, to build purposeful lives, and to pursue goals while adapting to a changing world."
"The O*NET Program is the nation's primary source of occupational information. Valid data are essential to understanding the rapidly changing nature of work and how it impacts the workforce and U.S. economy. From this information, applications are developed to facilitate the development and maintenance of a skilled workforce.
Central to the project is the O*NET database, containing hundreds of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors on almost 1,000 occupations covering the entire U.S. economy. The database, which is available to the public at no cost, is continually updated from input by a broad range of workers in each occupation."