Articles and Databases - ESI 6891 - IEMS Research Methods - UCF Research Guides at University of Central Florida Libraries

To Find Articles About General Engineering, and Computer Science

General Engineering

Compendex (Ei Engineering Village) (1884+) This link opens in a new window
"Inspec Database (1969+) is also searched simultaneously in Compendex."
Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.
Engineering Collection (ProQuest) (1966+) This link opens in a new window
"The collection contains engineering related full-text articles, granular access to millions of figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Engineering Research Database."
Included databases:
- Abstracts in New Technology & Engineering
- Biotechnology and BioEngineering Abstracts
- Biotechnology Research Abstracts
- Civil Engineering Abstracts
- Earthquake Engineering Abstracts
- Environmental Engineering Abstracts
- Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts
- ProQuest Deep Indexing: Engineering
- ProQuest Engineering Journals
Subject coverage:
- Aircraft design and engineering
- Arctic and tropical engineering
- Automotive design and engineering
- Bridges and tunnels
- Buildings, towers and tanks
- Civil engineering for air and space transportation
- Coastal and offshore structures
- Construction materials
- Design and properties of substructures
- Earthmoving and construction machinery
- Electric and hybrid vehicles
- Engineering for electric power generation
- Engineering for industrial and manufacturing processes
- Flood analysis
- Fuels and propellants
- Geotechnical engineering
- Hazardous materials
- High speed trains, rapid transit railways and monorails
- Highways and roads
- Industrial robots and automation
- Industrial waste and sewage
- Internal combustion engines
- Land development, irrigation and drainage
- Magnetic levitation railways
- Military technology
- Nuclear power plants
- Pollution, waste and water engineering
- Railroad rails and structures
- Road, rail and sea transport
- Seismic engineering
- Seismic phenomena
- Shipbuilding
- Site remediation and reclamation
- Sporting and recreational vehicles
- Storm water management
- Tanks and armored vehicles
- Theoretical mechanics and dynamics
- Thermoelectric energy
- Tidal and wind power
- Waste management
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citation indexing of top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder, 256 categories thoroughly cover the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1965+)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1965+)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+)

Citation Connection is now available. This includes:
- Data Citation Index (1900+)
- Derwent Innovations Index – Patents Database (1963+)
- Book Citation Index: Scholarly Books (2005+)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990+)
- Index Chemicus (IC) (1989+)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1993+)
- Current Contents Connect (1998+)

Preprint Service

Preprints are research papers shared prior to undergoing peer review, and are transforming the scholarly communication landscape.

engrXiv (Engineering)

Thesis Commons (Theses and Dissertations)

OSF Preprints (Any Discipline)

Subject Specific Databases

To Find Journal Articles about Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Topics

To Find Journal Articles About Electrical and Computer Engineering, and Computer Science Topics

To Find Journal Articles About Civil, Environmental, and Construction Engineering Topics

To Find Journal Articles about Industrial Engineering & Management Systems Topics

To Find Journal Articles about Materials Science and Engineering Topics

All Engineering Databases at UCF Libraries

Online Standards

The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.

ASCE Standards provide technical guidelines for promoting safety, reliability, productivity, and efficiency in civil engineering. Many of our standards are referenced by model building codes and adopted by state and local jurisdiction. They also provide guidance for design projects around the world.

IEEE, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, is a nonprofit organization that develops and publishes over 900 standards relating to electronics, a broad field in today's modern world.

Florida Building Codes . Access to several editions including the most recent 5th edition (2014) is available online.