"maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields."
UCF is an ICPSR member, so faculty, students, and staff may create an account to deposit or download data sets.
Florida’s Computerized Criminal History (CCH) system is a fingerprint-based repository that collects electronic arrest and disposition data from law enforcement and criminal justice agencies across the state. Unless fingerprints were taken at a later stage in the criminal justice process, CCH does not include records involving a notice to appear, direct file, or sworn complaint where no jail booking has taken place. The presentations contain datasets comprised of the records with the date of arrest going back approximately 10 years. Only adult records and records of juveniles treated as adults are included in this statistic.
This is an essential resource for criminal justice data in Florida. The Florida Statistical Analysis Center analyzes criminal justice data and prepares statistical reports for policy makers, planners, and program developers; and serves as a criminal justice resource for academicians, media, students, and others researching crime in Florida. FSAC contributes to the quality of data in the Criminal History files and Uniform Crime Reports (UCR) by analyzing and reporting on issues and anomalies in the data.
Mission: To increase public safety by reducing juvenile delinquency through effective prevention, intervention and treatment services that strengthen families and turn around the lives of troubled youth.
"To promote public safety and strengthen domestic security by providing services in partnership with local, state, and federal criminal justice agencies to prevent, investigate, and solve crimes while protecting Florida’s citizens and visitors."
FDLE's Uniform Crime Report (UCR) system provides sandardized reports on crime statistics based on data gathered from across the state. Records providing summary and detailed information are issue yearly. Pages include: Individual Crime Pages, Semi-Annual Reports, Annual Reports that include Arrest Data, Domestic Violence, Offense Data, and Officer Data.
"Annual and semiannual national and state-level data that includes the number of prisoners in state and federal prison facilities. Aggregate data are collected on age, race, and sex, inmates held in private facilities and local jails, system capacity, non-citizens, and persons under age 18."
"Criminal history data from the FBI and state record repositories to study recidivism patterns of various offenders, including persons on probation or discharged from prison. The latest study of state prisoners estimated the recidivism patterns of about 400,000 persons released from state prisons in 30 states in 2005."
"The Bureau of Justice (BJS) provides freely available information about crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of the government. The Nation's two crime measures -- Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) and the Bureau of Justice (BJS) and a statement of the purposes and advantages of the Uniform Crime Reporting and the National Crime Victimization Survey. "After summarizing the collection methods that the two statistical programs use and highlighting the aspects of crime that each measures, the statement concludes with similarities and differences."
The Crime Data Explorer is part of the FBI’s broader effort to modernize the reporting of national crime data. The CDE pages provide a view of estimated national and state data, reported agency-level crime statistics, and graphs of specific variables from the National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS). You can also download bulk datasets from a variety of UCR topics.
The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) hosts several large-scale datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN).
The National Center for Juvenile Justice (NCJJ), located in Pittsburgh, PA. is the research division of the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges and is the oldest juvenile justice research group in the United States, having conducted national and sub national studies on crime and delinquency since 1973.
"The survey (NCVS) is the nation's primary source of information on criminal victimization. "NCVS collects information from victims on nonfatal violent and property crimes, reported and not reported to the police, against persons age 12 or older. Each year, data are obtained from a nationally representative sample of about 90,000 households, comprising nearly 160,000 persons, on the frequency, characteristics, and consequences of criminal victimization in the United States. Each household is interviewed twice during the year." NCVS looks at crime as experienced by victims."
"Established in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide." (Public Access)
The OJJDP Statistical Briefing Book (SBB) enables users to access online information via OJJDP's Web site to learn more about juvenile crime and victimization and about youth involved in the juvenile justice system.
"The FBI's UCR program, which began in 1929, collects information on the following crimes reported to law enforcement authorities: homicide, forcible rape, robbery, aggravated assault, burglary, larceny-theft, motor vehicle theft, and arson. Arrests are reported for 21 additional crime categories." The UCR measures crime as reported to law enforcement agencies."
"The U.S. Census Bureau acts as a data collection agent to provide statistical data on a range of topics including capital punishment statutes, inmates on death row, inmate sexual victimization, inmate deaths, criminal justice expenditures, and a variety of facility data."