Databases - EIN 6370 - Innovation in Engineering Design - UCF Research Guides at University of Central Florida Libraries

Subscription Databases (UCF Library Access Required)

Engineering & Technology * Business & Industry * Environmental Sources

Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
Provides citation indexing of top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder, 254 categories thoroughly cover the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1965+)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1965+)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+)

Citation Connection is now available. This includes:
- Data Citation Index (1900+)
- Derwent Innovations Index – Patents Database (1963+)
- Book Citation Index: Scholarly Books (2005+)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990+)
- Index Chemicus (IC) (1989+)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1993+)
- Current Contents Connect (1998+)
Engineering Collection (ProQuest) (1966+)
"The collection contains engineering related full-text articles, granular access to millions of figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Engineering Research Database."

Included databases:
- Abstracts in New Technology & Engineering
- Biotechnology and BioEngineering Abstracts
- Biotechnology Research Abstracts
- Civil Engineering Abstracts
- Earthquake Engineering Abstracts
- Environmental Engineering Abstracts
- Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts
- ProQuest Deep Indexing: Engineering
- ProQuest Engineering Journals
Subject coverage:
- Aircraft design and engineering
- Arctic and tropical engineering
- Automotive design and engineering
- Bridges and tunnels
- Buildings, towers and tanks
- Civil engineering for air and space transportation
- Coastal and offshore structures
- Construction materials
- Design and properties of substructures
- Earthmoving and construction machinery
- Electric and hybrid vehicles
- Engineering for electric power generation
- Engineering for industrial and manufacturing processes
- Flood analysis
- Fuels and propellants
- Geotechnical engineering
- Hazardous materials
- High speed trains, rapid transit railways and monorails
- Highways and roads
- Industrial robots and automation
- Industrial waste and sewage
- Internal combustion engines
- Land development, irrigation and drainage
- Magnetic levitation railways
- Military technology
- Nuclear power plants
- Pollution, waste and water engineering
- Railroad rails and structures
- Road, rail and sea transport
- Seismic engineering
- Seismic phenomena
- Shipbuilding
- Site remediation and reclamation
- Sporting and recreational vehicles
- Storm water management
- Tanks and armored vehicles
- Theoretical mechanics and dynamics
- Thermoelectric energy
- Tidal and wind power
- Waste management
Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate (EBSCOhost)
Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate provides STEM students and researchers with the resources they need to succeed. Providing coverage of a wide range of topics including artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, plastics, hydroponics, computer science, chemical engineering, energy resources and robotics, as well as the business and social implications of new technologies, this comprehensive database is essential for STEM programs.

formerly called Applied Science & Technology (EBSCOhost/Wilson) (1983+)
IEEE Xplore
Full text access to quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Includes most IEEE journals, conference proceedings, and standards.

IEEE Electronic Library (IEL) includes access to the full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1872 from:
- IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents
- IEEE conference proceedings
- IET conference proceedings
- IEEE published standards
- IEEE Standards Dictionary Online
VDE VERLAG Conference Proceedings includes complimentary access to the AbstractPlus records and select full text published since 2005
Bell Labs Technical Journal includes access to the AbstractPlus records and full text articles published from 1922
IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library includes full text access to all IEEE-Wiley eBooks titles copyrighted in the year(s) 1974-2013
Individual Online Journals includes access to all AbstractPlus records and full text published since 2005 from:
- Systems Engineering and Electronics, Journal of
-IET journals are now largely Open Access at the IET Research Hub on Wiley Online Library
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) (1971+)
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world
AccessEngineering
"AccessEngineering is an award-winning engineering reference and teaching platform that delivers world-renowned, interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools.

- Search the latest editions of renowned engineering handbooks as well as hundreds of other expert references
- Access leading upper-level engineering textbooks
- Better understand material properties with DataVis, the interactive data visualization tool
- Accurately solve complex engineering equations with downloadable Excel spreadsheets
- Watch engineering solutions in action with hundreds of faculty-created videos
- Analyze key data with thousands of interactive graphs and downloadable tables
- Review comprehensive step-by-step explanations—not just answers— of engineering problems using solutions walkthroughs"
(UCF access provided by FLVC)
Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
IBISWorld - Industry Market Research
A collection of Industry Market Research. Includes Industry Reports (NAICS) and Industry iExpert Summaries for the United States.
GlobalData Explorer
International industry and company information, including SWOT profiles.
Additionally, some MarketLine reports are available via Business Source Premier.

To manually search MarketLine reports via EBSCOhost, connect to Business Source Premier, search for "Marketline" and then use the left column filter to limit Publisher to "Marketline"
Mergent Intellect by FTSE Russell
"Mergent Intellect is a highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence."
See video tutorials

"Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B®'s private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
Additionally, through Mergent’s partnership with Whitepages Pro, clients now have immediate access to contact information for over 250 million U.S. consumers. This enhanced search tool features specific information - name, address, previous address, age, number of household members and reverse phone number lookup capabilities - another valuable source of business insight."
GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,000,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 15,000 records.
APA PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) (1887+)
The APA PsycInfo® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.

"contains approximately 5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,400 periodicals in dozens of languages."
Psychological Abstracts:
* 1927-1947 Microfilm BF1.P65
* 1948-2004 print in remote storage
Ergonomics Abstracts (EBSCOhost) (1985+)
Ergonomics Abstracts is a comprehensive and international database, spanning the world of ergonomics and human factors. Due to the changing frames of reference in modern scientific research and application, the database is a source of information on ergonomics, but also on related material from psychology, physiology, biomechanics, human-computer interaction, human engineering, medicine, occupational health, sport, and transport. Ergonomics Abstracts includes articles from over 400 leading journals plus book chapters and conference proceedings, covering more than 25 years of ergonomics research.
Business Insights (Gale) (1980+)
A collection of company & industry information, including articles, financials, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, and chronologies
(formerly Business & Company Resource Center)
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
This multi-disciplinary database provides active full text for more than 8,500 journals, including active full text for over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Business Abstracts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson) (1982+)
"contains the full text of articles from more than 510 key publications dating back to 1995, and provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences and more."

"Additional content includes quality indexing and abstracts for more than 900 publications dating back to 1982, as well as over 600,000 corporate names with cross references to specific industries and countries. Subject coverage includes accounting, acquisitions & mergers, advertising, banking, chemicals and pharmaceuticals, communications, economics, entertainment industry, finance, financial services, government regulations, industrial relations, insurance, international business, investments, marketing, retail trade, small business and much more."
EconLit (EBSCOhost) (1969+)
EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature. The database contains more than 1.1 million records from 1886-present. EconLit covers virtually every area related to economics.
MathSciNet (American Mathematical Society) (1940+)
Access to over 70 years of of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications from 1940 to the present.

"contains almost 3 million items and over 1.7 million direct links to original articles. Bibliographic data from retrodigitized articles dates back to the early 1800s. Reference lists are collected and matched internally from approximately 550 journals, and citation data for journals, authors, articles and reviews is provided. This web of citations allows users to track the history and influence of research publications in the mathematical sciences."
Mathematics Subject Classification
- 00 General
- 01 History & Biography
- 03 Mathematical Logic & Foundations
- 05 Combinatorics
- 06 Order, Lattices, Ordered Algebraic Structures
- 08 General Algebraic Systems
- 11 Number Theory
- 12 Field Theory & Polynomials
- 13 Commutative Algebra
- 14 Algebraic Geometry
- 15 Linear & Multilinear Algebra; Matrix Theory
- 16 Associative Rings & Algebra
- 17 Nonassociative Rings & Algebra
- 18 Category Theory; Homological Algebra
- 19 $K$-Theory
- 20 Group Theory & Generalizations
- 22 Topological Groups, Lie Groups
- 26 Real Functions
- 28 Measure & Integration
- 30 Functions of a Complex Variable
- 31 Potential Theory
- 32 Several Complex Variables & Analytic Spaces
- 33 Special Functions
- 34 Ordinary Differential Equations
- 35 Partial Differential Equations
- 37 Dynamical Systems & Ergodic Theory
- 39 Difference & Functional Equations
- 40 Sequences, Series, Summability
- 41 Approximations & Expansions
- 42 Harmonic Analysis on Euclidean Spaces
- 43 Abstract Harmonic Analysis
- 44 Integral Transforms, Operational Calculus
- 45 Integral Equations
- 46 Functional Analysis
- 47 Operator Theory
- 49 Calculus of Variations & Optimal Control; Optimization
- 51 Geometry
- 52 Convex & Discrete Geometry
- 53 Differential Geometry
- 54 General Topology
- 55 Algebraic Topology
- 57 Manifolds & Cell Complexes
- 58 Global Analysis, Analysis on Manifolds
- 60 Probability Theory & Stochastic Processes
- 62 Statistics
- 65 Numerical Analysis
- 68 Computer Science
- 70 Mechanics of Particles & Systems
- 74 Mechanics of Deformable Solids
- 76 Fluid Mechanics
- 78 Optics, Electromagnetic Theory
- 80 Classical Thermodynamics, Heat Transfer
- 81 Quantum Theory
- 82 Statistical Mechanics, Structure of Matter
- 83 Relativity & Gravitational Theory
- 85 Astronomy & Astrophysics
- 86 Geophysics
- 90 Operations Research, Mathematical Programming
- 91 Game Theory, Economics, Social & Behavioral Sciences
- 92 Biology & Other Natural Sciences
- 93 Systems Theory; Control
- 94 Information & Communication, Circuits
- 97 Mathematics Education
ERIC (EBSCOhost) (1966+)
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.

ERIC is available from several database vendors, including ProQuest. UCF students are advised to use ERIC in EBSCOhost, which provides many links to full text and allows users to search multiple education databases simultaneously. Users who are not UCF students are advised to use ERIC from DOE because no login is required.
ERIC + Education Research Index (1966+)
Education Research Index combines ERIC, the leading education research database produced by the U.S. Department of Education, with the new Supplemental Education Index, which was created to expand upon the current scope of ERIC. Together, they offer journal articles, reports, documents, books, all indexed with the ERIC vocabulary for a unified search experience.

Users who are not UCF students are advised to use ERIC from DOE because no login is required.
SPORTDiscus (EBSCOhost) (1975+)
Provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre, SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains well over 1.7 million records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 22,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.
International Abstracts in Operations Research Archive (IAOR) (IFORS)
-IAOR ceased at the end of 2017
-The archives moved from Palgrave to International Federation of Operational Research Societies (IFORS).
-Print version (1961-2008) is available from the Main Library
UCF ARC MAIN General Collection -- Q500.I 5
-Contains bibliographic and abstract information in operations research and management science - sourced from over 180 of the world's leading journals.

Placement of the abstracts is arranged according to four major divisions:
- Process oriented where the emphasis is on the modelling of operations, functions, or activities common to various enterprises (Accidents, Allocation-Resources, Behaviour, Bidding, Communication, Computers-Information, Control, Cybernetics, Decision-Applications/Rules/Studies, Demand, Design, Distribution, Experiment, Facilities, Financial, Forecasting, Gaming, Information, Innovation, Inventory-Order Policies/Storage, Investment, Knowledge Management, Learning, Location, Maintenance/Repair & Replacement, Management, Marketing, Measurement, Organization, Performance, Personnel & Manpower Planning, Planning, Production-FMS/JIT/MRP, Project Management, Quality & Reliability, Queues, Retailing, Risk, Scheduling, Search, Service, Soft Systems, Storage, Supply & Supply Chains, Systems, Timetabling, Values, Vehicle Routing & Scheduling, Yield Management)
- Application oriented where the emphasis is on certain arenas, and models which are specialized to an arena (Advertising, Agriculture & Food, Biology, Commerce, Cummunications, Community, Construction & Architecture, Cutting Stock, Ecology, E-commerce, Economics, Education, Energy, Engineering, Finance & Banking, Forestry, Geography & Environment, Government, Health Services, Internet, Law & Law Enforcement, Manufacturing Industries, Marketing, Medicine, Meteorology, Military & Defence, Mineral Industries, Petroleum, Politics, Recreation & Tourism, Social, Space, Sports, Transportation-Air/General/Rail/Road/Water, Union Affairs, Water)
- Technique oriented where the emphasis is on abstract or mathematical models, methods, topics, techniques and solutions (Analytic Hierarchy Process, Artificial Intelligence-Decision Support/Expert Systems, Combinatorial Analysis, Combinatorial Optimization, Computational Analysis, Control Processes, Cost Benefit Analysis, Datamining, Decision Theory, Differential Equations, Fuzzy Sets, Game Theory, Graphs, Heuristics-Ant Systems/Genetic Algorithms/Local Search/Tabu Search, Lagrange Multipliers, Markov Processes, Matrices, Networks-Flow/Path/Scheduling, Neural Networks, Numerical Analysis, Optimization-Simulated Annealing, Probability, Programming-Assignment/Branch & Bound/Constraints/Convex/Dynamic/Geometric/Goal/Integer/Linear/Mathematical/Multiple Criteria/Nonlinear/Parametric/Probabilistic/Quadratic/Traveling Salesman, Queues, Sets, Simulation-Analysis/Applications/Data Envelopment Analysis/Decision/Distributions/Empirical/Experiment/Inference/Multivariate/Regression/Sampling, Stochastic Processes, Time Series & Forecasting Methods)
- Professionally oriented where the emphasis is on the practice and development of operations research itself (Developing Countries, Education in OR, History, OR in a Region/Country, Philosophy, Practice)
JoVE Unlimited
Center for Distributed Learning is providing access to *all* JoVE video content. "10,000+ videos of laboratory methods and science concepts"

Topics include:
Advanced Biology
Basic Biology
Chemistry
Clinical Skills
Engineering
Environmental Sciences
Psychology
Physics
Core: Biology
Core: Chemistry
Core: Molecular Biology
Core: Social Psychology
Lab Manual: Biology
Lab Manual: Chemistry

Free/Open Access Databases

Semantic Scholar - Provides free, AI-driven search and discovery tools, and open resources for the global research community.
arXiv (Engineering/Physics) – Preprints on emerging engineering and physics topics.
PubMed (for biomedical engineering) – Innovations in biomedical devices and healthcare design.
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) – Engineering innovations in aerospace and related fields.
USPTO (United States Patent and Trademark Office) – Patent searches for existing engineering innovations.

Online Standards

The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.

ASCE Standards provide technical guidelines for promoting safety, reliability, productivity, and efficiency in civil engineering. Many of our standards are referenced by model building codes and adopted by state and local jurisdiction. They also provide guidance for design projects around the world.

IEEE, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, is a nonprofit organization that develops and publishes over 900 standards relating to electronics, a broad field in today's modern world.