It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"C19 Index is the bibliographic spine of 19th century research, providing integrated access to the most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archives. Users of C19 Index can query its 14 collections simultaneously, or can conduct more detailed research using collection-specific search screens. C19 Index is a dynamic and growing resource, currently containing over 24 million bibliographic records for a full range of 19th century source material. The links below provide more detail on the 14 collections available in C19 Index."
- American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries (APCRL)
- American Periodicals Series (full text)
- Archive Finder
- Bookman Directory of Booksellers, Publishers & Authors
- British Periodicals
- Cotgreave's Index
- Dictionary of Nineteenth-Century Journalism
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
- Niles' Register Cumulative Index, 1811-1849
- Nineteenth Century
- Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC)
- Palmer's Index to The [London] Times
- Periodicals Index Online / Periodicals Archive Online
- Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
- Proceedings of the Old Bailey
- Stead's Index to Periodicals
- Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900
- U.S. Serial Set (1789-1901)
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)Indexes over 2000 journals, as well as some books, collections, and dissertations, related to world history events from 1450 to the present (except the U.S. and Canada) published since 1955.
-Over 60,000 primary source documents split across two modules, including correspondence, diaries, government documents, business records, books, pamphlets, newspapers, broadsides, photographs, artwork and maps
-Majority of the collection is unique manuscript
-Extensive cataloguing to aid search
-Translations and transcriptions for many manuscripts
-Secondary resources include chronology, essays, video lectures and interactive features
-Features from partner organizations Mount Vernon and the Gettysburg Foundation
American History in Video (Alexander Street)"allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries."
Includes Congressional and Executive Department materials related to: Foreign Relations, Indian Affairs, Finance, Commerce and Navigation, Military Affairs, Naval Affairs, Post-office Department, Public Lands, Claims, and Various Other Topics.
AP Images (EBSCOhost)Photographs from as early as 1840's and other graphics spanning over 160 years of history. Includes a small selection of recent sound clips.
-British diplomatic dispatches between London and Pretoria and between London and British posts across Africa
-Biographies of prominent political figures, activists, detainees and victims of apartheid
-Cuttings, transcriptions and translations of press reports, including many from Afrikaans newspapers
-Reports detailing visits to South Africa from UK and US politicians and vice versa
-Letters and telegrams from government departments and officials and from private individuals
-Minutes of ministerial meetings
-Annual reports detailing events in South Africa and neighboring countries during the previous year
-Political, economic and military analyses
-Police and embassy investigation reports
-Published booklets, leaflets, propaganda etc.
-Maps, including regional and tribal authority areas, mineral-production areas (including gold) and Bantustans
ArchiveGrid (OCLC)"ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies."
"Included in the collection are such types of primary documents as:
-- Correspondence of major African American leaders
-- Speeches, sermons, and lectures
-- Articles, essays, editorials, and other major writings from more than 200 newspapers: African American, abolitionist, and reform newspapers
--Receipts, poems, and other miscellaneous documents"
Addresses and speeches
Guides and manuals
Inquiries and studies
Minutes of meetings
Notes and records
Covers the following themes:
-Old China Trade (roughly 1783-1844)
-Early commercial development of New York, Philadelphia, Boston, Salem, Providence,
-Maritime routes between East and West Coasts (before overland trails)
-Development of Hawaii as key American trading post before annexation
-Chinese-American cultural exchange (including 19th century Chinese immigration)
-Commodities of the China trade
-Fur Trade in Northwest Pacific
-Diplomacy and politics of America and the Far East
"Covering the period 1606 to 1822, CO 5 constitutes the original correspondence of the the colonial governments with the Board of Trade, the Secretary of State for the Southern Department and the Secretary of State for the Colonies, together holding responsibility for the British possessions in mainland North America and the Caribbean."
- Eye-catching and innovative interactive maps, included animated maps of different theatres of war and key battles
- Digitised artefacts such as medical items, weaponry, uniforms and personal items viewable in a 360° format
- Virtual walk-through and 360° panoramas of the Sanctuary Wood Trench System in Ypres Salient
- Oral histories with accompanying transcriptions
- Extensive visual galleries and artwork feature
- Thought-provoking ‘Memory Wall’ of personal narratives
- Great War Glossary
- Contextual essays, written by academics and collection specialists
- Illustrated chronology
- Case studies
- Directories of key search terms in several European languages, including French, German and Italian"
Florida Documents Index (FLVC) (1967+)Identifies publications housed in the Florida Documents Collection at Florida Atlantic University (FAU). The UCF Libraries are likely to have the same publications.
These Foreign Office files cover British concerns over colonial-held territory in the Far East, as well as Japanese relations with China, Russia, Germany and the United States. Following surrender at the end of the Second World War, Japan was occupied by foreign forces for the first time in its history. The occupation resulted in disarmament, liberalization and a new constitution as the country was transformed into a parliamentary democracy. Japan emerged once again as a player on the world stage.
Consisting of diplomatic dispatches, correspondence, maps, summaries of events and diverse other material, this collection from the rich FO 371 and FO 262 series unites formerly restricted Japan-centric documents, and is enhanced by the addition of a selection of FO 371 Western and American Department and Far Eastern sub papers.
Historic Documents Series (SAGE)Since 1972 documents covering the most significant events of the year, these documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions. Previously part of the CQ Electronic Library.
Print version -- UCF Main Library General Collection - 1st Floor -- E839.5.H57 (1972+) (Latest 5 YEARS in REFERENCE)
-The evolution of educational travel, particularly in relation to the Polytechnic Touring Association (later Lunn Poly)
-The popularity of outdoor activities, wilderness travel and the environmental impacts of tourism
-The role of travel agencies, including Thomas Cook, Raymond Whitcomb Travel and the Anspach Travel Bureau
-Portrayals of race, particularly within the American south
-The technological advances which played an integral part in the growth of the tourism industry.
- Academy Awards Collection
- Academy Publications
- American Society of Cinematographers Collection
- Janus Barfoed Collection
- Tom B'hend and Preston Kaufmann Collection
- Bison Archives Photographs Collected by Marc Wanamaker
- George Cukor Papers
- Cecil B. DeMille Photographs
- Glass Slides Collection
- Alfred Hitchcock Papers
- Hollywood Portraits
- Irene scrapbooks
- Movie Star Ephemera
- Paramount Pictures Photographs
- Periodicals, Books, and Pamphlets
- Mary Pickford Papers
- RKO Radio Pictures Photographs
- William Selig Papers
- Mack Sennett Papers
- Sheet Music Collection
- George Stevens Papers
- Studio Publications
- Fred Zinnemann Papers
- Adolph Zukor Correspondence
"Migration to New Worlds: The Century of Immigration concentrates on the period 1800 to 1924 and covers all aspects of the migration experience, from motives and departures to arrival and permanent settlement....Migration to New Worlds: The Modern Era begins with the activities of the New Zealand Company during the 1840s and presents thousands of unique original sources focusing on the growth of colonization companies during the nineteenth century, the activities of immigration and welfare societies, and the plight of refugees and displaced persons throughout the twentieth century as migrants fled their homelands to escape global conflict."
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)- Asia & the West: Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange
- British Politics & Society
- British Theatre, Music, & Literature: High & Popular Culture
- Europe & Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization & Conquest
- European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
- Photography: The World through the Lens
- Science, Technology & Medicine, 1780-1925
- Women: Transnational Networks
PALMM (FCLA)Publication of Archival, Library, & Museum Materials (PALMM) is a cooperative initiative of the public universities of Florida to provide digital access to important source materials for research and scholarship relevant to the students, research community
"The Hall-Hoag Collection of Dissenting and Extremist Printed Propaganda from the John Hay Library at Brown University, features extremist literature ranging from the mid-1950s to the late 1970s - the most heated days of the civil rights movement. Publications in this collection represent a cross-section of extremist opinion towards integration and civil rights activism, but it also contains materials on American anti-Semitism, Christian Identity theology, neo-Nazi groups, and white supremacy movements.
The American Radicalism Collection from Michigan State University is a collection of ephemera on radical political groups across a range of extremist and radical movements, including those involved in religion, race, gender, the environment, and equal rights. The materials represent a large variety of viewpoints, from the far-right to the far-left, on political, social, cultural, sexual, and economic issues in the United States from 1970 to the present.
The Searchlight Archive, held at the University of Northampton in the UK, consists of documents from Searchlight Associates, an information service founded in 1962 that aimed to investigate racist and fascist groups in Britain and abroad and publicise their activities by publishing exposes in their Searchlight magazine. The collections consist of various ephemera accumulated as part of their investigations as well as the complete run of Searchlight magazine (1965-present). Most distinctively, the archive also includes the Searchlight Oral Histories Collection, which consists of interviews (available to researchers as both audio files and transcripts) with anti-fascist activists active from 1940s-1990s.
The National Archives at Kew in the UK, is the source archive for digitised secret service and home office documents relating to inter- and post-war British fascist and communist movements. This includes the Security Service: Personal (PF Series) Files series containing selected files from the First and Second World War periods and the inter-war years on suspected spies, renegades, communist sympathisers, right-wing extremists, and other groups in which the British Security Service took an interest, including pacifist and anti-conscription groups. It also contains Home Office papers pertaining to the detention of Sir Oswald Mosley, leader of the British Union of Fascists, during the Second World War as well as a number of other suspected Nazi sympathisers who were members of far-right groups, such as the Imperial Fascist League, the Nordic League, and the Right Club.
Political Extremism and Radicalism in the Twentieth Century provides an excellent compilation of primary sources for the study of extremism in the twentieth century. It will be valuable to researchers in international and European history, politics, international relations, and government studies, as well as a much wider application to African American studies, gender studies, sociology, psychology, and religious studies."
Key themes covered include:
-Desegregation of schools, industries and public transport
-Migration of African Americans from the rural South to urban centers
-The role of the Church in the Civil Rights Movement
-Race riots and other racial tensions
-Activities of the Civil Rights Movement
"There is extensive coverage of topics such as the African coast; the Middle Passage; the varieties of slave experience (urban, domestic, industrial, farm, ranch and plantation); spiritualism and religion; resistance and revolts; the Underground Railroad; the abolition movement; legislation; education; the legacy of slavery and slavery today."
by John Venecek
Last Updated Jul 12, 2022
1146 views this year
Primary Sources -- Articles & Books
America's Historical Imprints (NewsBank/Readex) (1639-1922)- American Broadsides & Ephemera, Series I
- American Civil War Collection 1860-1922
- American Pamphlets, Series I, 1820-1922
- American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement, 1670-1800
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement, 1801-1819
• Community news
• Public health and welfare
• Cultural promotion and language revitalisation
• Consumerism and commercial enterprises
• Activism and protest
• American Indian Movement
• Natural resources and environmentalism
• Tribal laws, process and elections
• Land cession, property and land rights
• Media representation
• Conflict, war and conscription
"Forming a prominent feature of British religious philanthropy from the late eighteenth century onwards, missionary societies served as employer and community to missionaries far from home. Service came with considerable sacrifice and sometimes high risk, so society publications became crucial for keeping those at home in touch with the activities of the society and its individuals, as well as promoting and funding its work."
Early English Books Online (EEBO) (ProQuest)-EEBO has migrated to the ProQuest platform. Access on Chadwyck Healey ended in December 2019.
-Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
"This new bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide."
Sabin Americana Digital Archive (1500-1926) (Gale)"an online collection of books, pamphlets, serials & other works...covering a span of 400 years in North, Central & South America, as well as the Caribbean...provides primary source material critical to the understanding of the society, politics, religious beliefs, literature, customs & momentous events of the times."
Vogue Archive (ProQuest) (1892+)"The full contents of Vogue magazine (US edition) in full color page image, from the first issue in 1892 to the present, with monthly updates for new issues."
"...contributors are listed alphabetically on the page linked below. Each contributor is presented with biographical and bibliographical information, details of pseudonyms used and links from the titles of articles written to the relevant article indexing."
Full Text Coverage:
- Destin Log (2006+)
- Florida Bar Journal (1996+)
- Florida Bar News (1999+)
- Florida Newswire (2008+)
- Florida Sportsman (2009+)
- Florida Times Union (1996+)
- Florida Trend (1985+)
- Southeast Farm Press (2005+)
- St. Petersburg Times (1998-2011)
- Tampa Bay Times (1996+)
- Tampa Tribune (1996-2011)
News & Newspapersidentifies online and microfilm news resources for the UCF Libraries
Orlando Sentinel (ProQuest) (1985+)Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Classifieds and advertisements are excluded.
Click for earlier content from the Sentinel and other area newspapers.
C.R.I.S. : the combined retrospective index set to journals in history, 1838-1974
UCF Main Library Reference -- D1 .C6
v. 1-4. World history. 4 v.--v. 5-9. United States history. 5 v.--v. 10-11. Author index. 2 v. ch4ck availability
EBSCO eBooksA collection of ebooks in full text, including both current and classic works.
For many of the eBooks in this collection only one person can view the book at a time
Browse by category:
- Children's & Young Adult Fiction
- Children's & Young Adult Nonfiction
- Arts & Architecture
- Biographies & Memoirs
- Business & Economics
- Computer Science
- Engineering & Technology
- General Nonfiction
- Health & Medicine
- Literature & Criticism
- Political Science
- Self-Help & Family
- Social Sciences
- Study Aids & Language Learning
History of Science, Technology & Medicine (EBSCOhost) (1572+)"With an interdisciplinary focus, the database covers topics on the role of scientific discovery in society and culture, as well as the historiography of scientific disciplines from prehistory to the present. It includes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials."
"History of Science, Technology and Medicine integrates four bibliographies—the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology [HTE], the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza [BISS Italian Bibliography of the History of Science] and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine."
Humanities Source (EBSCOhost)“This database includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more.”
See also the print indexes, Reference Collection AI 3 .R493 (1907-2004) - International Index to Periodicals / Social Sciences & Humanities Index / Humanities Index -- and the online version: Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907-1984)
formerly Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) (1983+)
JSTORFull text of research journals and eBooks from numerous publishers.
Project MUSE (Johns Hopkins University)a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to over 300+ high quality humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
- Area & Ethnic Studies
- Art & Architecture
- Creative Writing
- Film, Theater, & Performing Arts
- Language & Linguistics
- Library Science & Publishing
- Medicine & Health
- Science, Technology, & Mathematics
- Social Sciences
- Studies by Time Period
- Women's Studies, Gender, & Sexuality
Social Sciences Index (H.W. Wilson) (1974-2004)[online access cancelled due to budget cuts]
paper index available: UCF ARC Main General Collection -- AI3.R492
"Subject coverage includes addiction studies, anthropology, community health & medical care, communications, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, international relations, law, mass media, minority studies, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, urban studies and much more."
"includes full text of articles from some 215 journals dating as far back as 1995 and indexing and abstracts of over 625 periodicals dating as far back as 1983, nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences."
See also the print indexes, General Collection AI 3 .R492 (1907-2004) - International Index to Periodicals / Social Sciences & Humanities Index / Social Sciences Index -- and the online version: Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907-1984)
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (Gale)UCF ARC Main General Collection -- CT 213 .B53
Identifies 12.7 million biographical sketches in more than 3,400 current and retrospective reference books, covering contemporary and historical figures throughout the world.
"indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.... BGMI indexes only reference works containing multiple biographies; it does not index periodical articles or books of biography about a single individual. Sources...are of several types:
- Biographical dictionaries and who's whos, which supply information on a number of individuals.
- Subject encyclopedias, which include some biographical entries.
- Volumes of literary criticism, which may contain only a limited amount of biographical information but give critical surveys of a writer's works.
- Indexes, which refer the user to a body of information found elsewhere."
Biography (Gale In Context)combines Gale biographies with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, thousands images, and links to vetted websites.
People included are from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Search by name, birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender.
- List of Sources included, such as the Dictionary of American Biography is available on the Gale Cengage page about the database
Biography Index (H.W. Wilson) (1946-2010)[online access cancelled due to budget cuts]
Reference CT 100.B48
"cites biographical articles appearing in any of more than 3,000 periodicals indexed in other Wilson databases, plus select other titles...some 2,000 current books of individual and collective biography are cited each year, as well as biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books." Biography & Genealogy Master Index identifies entries in Biography Index from the first print volume in 1946 forward.
"Besides biographies and autobiographies, you’ll find citations to interviews, obituaries, collections of letters, diaries, memoirs, juvenile literature, book reviews, bibliographies and exhibition reviews. People covered range from antiquity to the present and represent all fields and nationalities."
HistoryNet"HistoryNet.com is brought to you by the world’s largest publisher of history magazines. HistoryNet.com contains daily features, photo galleries and over 5,000 articles originally published in our various magazines."
From the magazines:
- American History
- America's Civil War
- Aviation History
- Civil War Times
- Military History
- Wild West
- World War II
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (1637+)"Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses."
For abstracts from 1938-1980 see the print volumes of Dissertation Abstracts International
"ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content."
WorldCat (FirstSearch)Catalog of library collections from the U.S. and around the world. The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with millions of records for books, periodicals, and other materials in 370 languages and covering information from 4,000 years of knowledge. Includes RLIN catalogs and the Union List of Periodicals.