It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages."
* 1927-1947 Microfilm BF1.P65
* 1948-2004 print in remote storage
ERIC is available from several database vendors, including ProQuest. UCF students are advised to use ERIC in EBSCOhost, which provides many links to full text and allows users to search multiple education databases simultaneously. Users who are not UCF students are advised to use ERIC from DOE because no login is required.
Provides citation indexing of top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder, 256 categories thoroughly cover the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Includes Congressional and Executive Department materials related to: Foreign Relations, Indian Affairs, Finance, Commerce and Navigation, Military Affairs, Naval Affairs, Post-office Department, Public Lands, Claims, and Various Other Topics.
- Congressional Committee Profiles feature an interactive list of legislation and reports, and general information by and about a committee
- Committee reports (1995+) usually are one of these types: (1) reports that accompany a legislative measure when it is reported for chamber action; (2) reports resulting from oversight or investigative activities; (3) reports of conference committees; and (4) committee activity reports, published at the conclusion of a Congress.
- Congressional Record: 104th Congress (1995)+
- Legislation: Every legislative measure introduced in the U.S. Congress since 1973 has a bill record
- Member profiles for Representatives and Senators who have served since 1973 (93rd Congress)
- Presidential nomination records are available on Congress.gov for the 97th Congress (1981-1982) forward.
Topics include: Agriculture; Arts, Culture & Sports; Business & Economics; Defense & National Security; Education; Employment & Labor; Energy; Environment, Climate & Natural Resources; Government Budget & Taxes; Government Functions; Health; Housing & Development; Human Rights; International Relations; International Trade & Development; Law & Justice; Media; Personal & Family Relations; Religion; Science & Technology; Social Movements; Social Services & Disabilities; Transporrtation; U.S. Congress; U.S. Presidency; U.S. Supreme Court & Judicial System; War & Conflict
Subject Areas (listed by # of items included)
- Law (250,000+)
- Social & Behavioral Sciences (150,000+)
- Arts & Humanities (125,000+)
- Physical Sciences & Mathematics (80,000+)
- Life Sciences (70,000+)
- Engineering (65,000+)
- Education (63,000+)
- Medicine & Health Sciences (54,000+)
- Business (27,000+)
- Architecture (6,000+)
"The database provides information on societal trends affecting education, including segregation, multiculturalism, feminism, and economic developments. Subject coverage includes adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more."
-Over 160 full-text journals
-Over 160 full-text books
-Indexing and abstracts for more than 560 journals
-Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 270 journals
-Variety movie reviews dating back to 1914
-More than 65,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive
With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports. GenderWatch supports gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Combining hundreds of academic, gray, and popular literature titles, GenderWatch provides researchers with hundreds of thousands of articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace.
"Topics covered include communications & mass media, criminal justice, anthropology, economics, art, film, environmental studies, archaeology, international relations, law, literary & social criticism, literature, music, performing arts, planning & public administration, political science, sociology, religion & theology, gender studies, gerontology, psychiatry & psychology, addiction studies, urban studies, and much more."
See also Humanities Source Print Indexes - UCF Main Library - 1st Floor:
- International Index to Periodicals (1907-1965) - General Collection AI3.R49
- Social Sciences & Humanities Index (1965-1974) - General Collection AI3.R49
- Social Sciences Index (1974-1984) - General Collection AI3.R492
- Humanities Index (1974-1984) - General Collection AI3.R493
"It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles." Subject coverage:
- Cultural studies
- Ethnology and ethnography
- Political science
- Religious studies
Browse Collections by Topic:
- African American History
- Architecture, Landscape
- Cities, Towns
- Culture, Folklife
- Environment, Conservation
- Government, Law
- Immigration, American Expansion
- Native American History
- Performing Arts, Music
- Sports, Recreation
- Technology, Industry
- War, Military
- Women's History
"PAIS (originally, the Public Affairs Information Service) was established in 1914. There are two databases created from the files: PAIS International and PAIS Archive. PAIS International includes records from the print PAIS Bulletin 1977 and forward; it also includes PAIS print Foreign Language Index published 1972-1990, at which time it merged with the PAIS Bulletin.
The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages. It is updated quarterly with over 17,000 current records added in total each year. PAIS Archive is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records and covers monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics. The original, historical subject headings have been retained. PAIS Archive provides a unique perspective on the 20th century’s most important public and social policies, such as Prohibition, suffrage, pacifism, civil rights, McCarthyism, Vietnam War, and Watergate."
- Area & Ethnic Studies
- Art & Architecture
- Creative Writing
- Film, Theater, & Performing Arts
- Language & Linguistics
- Library Science & Publishing
- Medicine & Health
- Science, Technology, & Mathematics
- Social Sciences
- Studies by Time Period
- Women's Studies, Gender, & Sexuality
"Subject coverage includes, arts, business, computers, crafts, dance, drama, education, entertainment, fashion, film & television, food, gardening, health and medicine, home improvement, literature, news and current events, photography, popular and classical music, politics, popular culture, religion, sports and fitness, technology, transportation, travel and more."
See more recent coverage for 1983+ in Readers' Guide
You can search and browse the journals and reference works on Taylor & Francis Online for free. Use advanced search to restrict to "Only content I have full access to" unless you want to request articles through Interlibrary Loan since UCF's subscription only includes some journals, one reference work, and none of the abstract databases.
Journal subject coverage includes:
- Area Studies
- Behavioral Sciences (includes Archive Collection)
- Built Environment
- Communication Studies
- Computer Science (includes Archive Collection)
- Development Studies
- Earth Sciences
- Economics, Finance, Business & Industry
- Education (includes Archive Collection)
- Engineering & Technology (includes Archive Collection)
- Environment & Agriculture
- Environment & Sustainability
- Food Science & Technology
- Health & Social Care
- Information Science
- Language & Literature
- Mathematics & Statistics
- Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing & Allied Health
- Museum & Heritage Studies
- Physical Sciences (includes Chemistry Archive Collection)
- Politics & International Relations
- Social Sciences
- Sports & Leisure
- Tourism, Hospitality & Events
- Urban Studies
"96% of journals indexed in the database are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education."
over 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals, including the following full-text, peer-reviewed journals:
Air Force Journal of Logistics
Air Force Law Review
Arab Studies Quarterly (ASQ)
Armed Forces & Society: An Interdisciplinary Journal
Biosecurity & Bioterrorism: Biodefense Strategy, Practice, & Science
Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists
Canadian-American Public Policy
Civil War History
Denver Journal of International Law & Policy
Ethics & International Affairs
Harvard International Review
International Journal of Politics & Ethics
International Journal on World Peace
Journal for the Study of Antisemitism
Journal of Homeland Security Education
Journal of International Affairs
Middle East Policy
Minerva: Quarterly Report on Women & the Military
Naval War College Review
Pakistan Armed Forces Medical Journal
Perspectives on Political Science
Political Science Quarterly
Spectrum: the Journal of State Government
State Crime Journal
Urban History Review
U.S. Army Medical Department Journal
War, Literature & the Arts
White House Studies
World Policy Journal
and various reports from the Strategic Studies Institute, including:
The 2006 Lebanon Campaign & the Future of Warfare: Implications for Army & Defense Policy
Accessing Talent: The Foundation of a U.S. Army Officer Corps Strategy
Affairs of State: The Interagency & National Security
The American Military Advisor: Dealing with Senior Foreign Officials in the Islamic World
Baloch Nationalism & the Geopolitics of Energy Resources: The Changing Context of Separatism in Pakistan
Dealing with Political Ferment in Latin America
Jordanian National Security & the Future of Middle East Stability
Short of a General War: Perspectives on the Use of Military Power in the 21st Century
"ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content."
"There are approximately 380,000 records relating to theses awarded by over 120 institutions. Around 120,000 of these also provide access to the full text thesis, either via download from the EThOS database or via links to the institution’s own repository. Of the remaining 260,000 records dating back to at least 1800, three quarters are available to be ordered for scanning through the EThOS digitisation-on-demand facility."
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text (H.W. Wilson)* (print only)
-UCF online access ended on Dec. 31, 2018 due to funding.
-Print index UCF Main Library Reference Collection K 9 .N75 (1926-1994)
-Print index UCF Main Library Reference Collection K 9 .N75 (1994-2004)
"The publication contains information on a variety of subjects in the field of education statistics, including the number of schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates, in addition to educational attainment, finances, federal funds for education, libraries, and international education. Supplemental information on population trends, attitudes on education, education characteristics of the labor force, government finances, and economic trends provides background for evaluating education data."
LitBase: UNESCO’s Online Database on Effective Literacy Practice -- The database compiles effective adult literacy and numeracy programmes from all regions of the world.
Asia-Pacific Literacy Database -- Offers publications, best practices, materials on literacy in the Asia-Pacific region. EDUCATION FOR ALL
Education for All National and Regional Reviews -- This tool provides access to the national and regional reports produced throughout the Education for All review processes initiated in 1990.
IBEDOCS, UNESCO’s IBE Database -- Catalogue of publications available at UNESCO’s International Bureau of Education with links to the full text where available.
International Conferences on Education National Reports -- Compiles the national reports presented by Member States during the International Conferences on Education. EDUCATION FOR SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT
Climate Change Education clearing house -- Comprehensive resource library and information exchange on HIV and AIDS to support ministries of education, development agencies, civil society, researchers and other education partners, to develop effective HIV and AIDS, school health and sexuality education. EDUCATION STATISTICS
National Statistics on Education -- This provides access to Education Data Tables based on statistics compiles by UNESCO Institute for Statistics.
UIS Interactive Data Tools -- Gives access to the interactive data products on Education developed by UNESCO Institute for Statistics. EDUCATION SYSTEM POLICY, PLANNING AND MANAGEMENT
Planipolis -- Portal of education plans and policies from UNESCO Member States providing a single entry to documents from various official sources. Planipolis is maintained by the UNESCO International Institute for Educational.
Education System Profiles in Asia and the Pacific -- Provides analytical overviews of education systems in the Asia-Pacific region, covering the structure of the system, major challenges, management and financing, but also national policies and strategies for the different education sub-sectors.
OpenEMIS -- The OpenEMIS initiative aims to deploy a high-quality Education Management Information System) designed to collect and report data on schools, students, teachers and staff. The system was conceived by UNESCO to be a royalty-free system that can be easily customized to meet the specific needs of member countries.
Etico -- Resource platform on ethics and corruption in education maintained by UNESCO International Institute for Educational Planning. GLOBAL CITIZENSHIP EDUCATION
ASPnet in action -- Online collaborative platform dedicated to enhancing information and knowledge sharing among the UNESCO Associated Schools Network around the world.
Global Citizenship Education Database -- Provides access to the large range of UNESCO materials in the field of Global Citizenship Education, including technical guidance and monographs. HIGHER EDUCATION
Portal de Iniciativas de Educación Superior -- Evolutive catalogue of projects, initiatives, experiences and activities in the Latin America and Caribbean region for higher education institutions. HIV AND HEALTH EDUCATION
HIV/AIDS Clearing House -- Comprehensive resource library and information exchange on HIV and AIDS to support ministries of education, development agencies, civil society, researchers and other education partners, to develop effective HIV and AIDS, school health and sexuality education. RIGHT TO EDUCATION
Global Database on the Right to Education -- Provides documentation and information on the implementation of the Right to Education by UNESCO Member States, at every level of education, under constitutional, legislative and policy frameworks and covering various areas relating to this right in a country. TECHNICAL AND VOCATIONAL EDUCATION AND TRAINING
World TVET Database – Country profiles -- The database consists of a set of country profiles, containing key descriptive information about the TVET system of each country.
TVET Promising Practice Database -- The database presents information on a selection of effective and innovative programmes and initiatives from different TVET areas and regions of the world.
UNEVOC Online Library -- This online resource center for TVET experts, experts, practitioners and students contains specialized publications that were collected by the International Centre for Technical and Vocational Education and Training, UNESCO-UNEVOC.
Formerly PrimaryTOM, this periodical database with almost 125 titles, is designed for elementary school students, with easy access to full-text magazines, from publishers such as Cobblestone and Scholastic and Time, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.