UCF Research Guides: Interdisciplinary Studies Databases: Interdisciplinary Studies

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) (1980+)
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
Alternative Press Index (EBSCOhost) (1991+)
Print version - Reference AI 3.A27 (1969+)
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
- African American/Caribbean/African
- Arab/Middle Eastern
- Asian/Pacific Islander
- European/Eastern European
- Hispanic
- Jewish
- Multi-ethnic
- Native People
GenderWatch (ProQuest)
With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports. GenderWatch supports gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Combining hundreds of academic, gray, and popular literature titles, GenderWatch provides researchers with hundreds of thousands of articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace.
JSTOR
Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Sources include newspapers, wire services, magazines, SEC filings, law cases, state and federal codes, law review journals, and reference works. Limited coverage of health administration news.
LexisNexis Academic (previous platform) is no longer accessible, as of December 2018.
Project MUSE (Johns Hopkins University)
Research Areas:
- Area & Ethnic Studies
- Art & Architecture
- Creative Writing
- Education
- Film, Theater, & Performing Arts
- History
- Language & Linguistics
- Library Science & Publishing
- Literature
- Medicine & Health
- Music
- Philosophy
- Religion
- Science, Technology, & Mathematics
- Social Sciences
- Studies by Time Period
- Women's Studies, Gender, & Sexuality
Social Sciences & Humanities (SAGE Journals)
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
- This link opens in a new window
Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1965+)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1965+)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+)

Citation Connection is now available. This includes:
- Data Citation Index (1900+)
- Derwent Innovations Index – Patents Database (1963+)
- Book Citation Index: Scholarly Books (2005+)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990+)
- Index Chemicus (IC) (1989+)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1993+)
- Current Contents Connect (1998+)

Interdisciplinary Databases by Subject

The following list gives examples of how you might use journals published in specific subject areas to locate articles. If subject areas you plan to include are not listed, please contact me for help to identify journals and/or databases you might use.

Business Resources

Business Source Premier (Ebscohost database)
- Journal of Marketing (PR)
- Journal of Management Studies (PR)
- Business Week (Popular; not PR)

Education Resources

ERIC (Ebscohost database)
- Early Childhood Research Quarterly (PR)
- Teaching Exceptional Children (PR)

Professional Development Collection (Ebscohost database)
- Learning, Media & Technology (PR)
- Journal of Research in Music Education (PR)
- Education Week (Popular; not PR)

Health Care Resources

Medline (Ebscohost database)
- Journal Of The Academy Of Nutrition & Dietetics (PR)
Health and Wellness Resource Center (Ebscohost database)
- Journal of Sport Behavior (PR)

Information Technology & Communication Resources

Communication & Mass Media Complete (Ebscohost database)
- Computers in Education (PR)
- Online Journal of Communication & Media Technologies (PR)

News & Newspapers

Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Sources include newspapers, wire services, magazines, SEC filings, law cases, state and federal codes, law review journals, and reference works. Limited coverage of health administration news.
LexisNexis Academic (previous platform) is no longer accessible, as of December 2018.
U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest) (1980+)

Data & Statistics

Explore Census Data (U.S. Census)

Florida Statistical Abstract
Call Number: Main Library Florida Documents -- UF .S 3:S 8/
ch4ck availability
1967-2003, 2005-2011
full text of some volumes available in HathiTrust