Articles and Databases - EML 6085 - Research Methods in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering - UCF Research Guides at University of Central Florida Libraries

Best Bet - Articles About Engineering and Computer Science

General Engineering

These databases help identify articles from journals and conferences that might be of interest. They provide better search results than Google and Google Scholar as they allow modification of searches and in some cases use controlled vocabulary.

Compendex (Ei Engineering Village) (1884+) This link opens in a new window
a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines.
Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.
Engineering Collection (ProQuest) (1966+) This link opens in a new window
"The collection contains engineering related full-text articles, granular access to millions of figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Engineering Research Database."
Included databases:
- Abstracts in New Technology & Engineering
- Biotechnology and BioEngineering Abstracts
- Biotechnology Research Abstracts
- Civil Engineering Abstracts
- Earthquake Engineering Abstracts
- Environmental Engineering Abstracts
- Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts
- ProQuest Deep Indexing: Engineering
- ProQuest Engineering Journals
Subject coverage:
- Aircraft design and engineering
- Arctic and tropical engineering
- Automotive design and engineering
- Bridges and tunnels
- Buildings, towers and tanks
- Civil engineering for air and space transportation
- Coastal and offshore structures
- Construction materials
- Design and properties of substructures
- Earthmoving and construction machinery
- Electric and hybrid vehicles
- Engineering for electric power generation
- Engineering for industrial and manufacturing processes
- Flood analysis
- Fuels and propellants
- Geotechnical engineering
- Hazardous materials
- High speed trains, rapid transit railways and monorails
- Highways and roads
- Industrial robots and automation
- Industrial waste and sewage
- Internal combustion engines
- Land development, irrigation and drainage
- Magnetic levitation railways
- Military technology
- Nuclear power plants
- Pollution, waste and water engineering
- Railroad rails and structures
- Road, rail and sea transport
- Seismic engineering
- Seismic phenomena
- Shipbuilding
- Site remediation and reclamation
- Sporting and recreational vehicles
- Storm water management
- Tanks and armored vehicles
- Theoretical mechanics and dynamics
- Thermoelectric energy
- Tidal and wind power
- Waste management
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citation indexing of top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder, 256 categories thoroughly cover the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1965+)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1965+)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+)

Citation Connection is now available. This includes:
- Data Citation Index (1900+)
- Derwent Innovations Index – Patents Database (1963+)
- Book Citation Index: Scholarly Books (2005+)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990+)
- Index Chemicus (IC) (1989+)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1993+)
- Current Contents Connect (1998+)
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full text access to quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Includes most IEEE journals, conference proceedings, and standards.
IEEE Electronic Library (IEL) includes access to the full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1872 from:
- IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents
- IEEE conference proceedings
- IET conference proceedings
- IEEE published standards
- IEEE Standards Dictionary Online
VDE VERLAG Conference Proceedings includes complimentary access to the AbstractPlus records and select full text published since 2005
Bell Labs Technical Journal includes access to the AbstractPlus records and full text articles published from 1922
IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library includes full text access to all IEEE-Wiley eBooks titles copyrighted in the year(s) 1974-2013
Individual Online Journals includes access to all AbstractPlus records and full text published since 2005 from:
- Systems Engineering and Electronics, Journal of
-IET journals are now largely Open Access at the IET Research Hub on Wiley Online Library
Science Direct (1997+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text scientific, technical and medical research journals, eBooks, Reference works, handbooks and book series published by Elsevier.

Online Standards

The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.

ASCE Standards provide technical guidelines for promoting safety, reliability, productivity, and efficiency in civil engineering. Many of our standards are referenced by model building codes and adopted by state and local jurisdiction. They also provide guidance for design projects around the world.

IEEE, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, is a nonprofit organization that develops and publishes over 900 standards relating to electronics, a broad field in today's modern world.

Florida Building Codes . Access to several editions including the most recent 5th edition (2014) is available online.

A-Z Databases: data

Sage Research Methods Datasets This link opens in a new window
A collection of topical, engaging practice and teaching datasets with instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves.
The datasets are indexed by method and data type, are optimized to use in classroom exercises or in exam papers, saving faculty members hours spent sourcing and cleaning data themselves. The decisions researchers make when analyzing data can seem like a black box for students—through practicing analysis using real data from SAGE Research Methods Datasets, students can see how analytic decisions are made, helping them to become confident researchers.

The Libraries have access to datasets 1 & 2.
Browse by method, discipline, or data type.

Select Online Data Sources

Mechanical Engineering

Specialized Databases

Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts (ProQuest) (1966+) This link opens in a new window
abstracts of journals in mechanical & transportation engineering & complementary fields, including forensic engineering, management & marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics & dynamics and mathematics & computation.

ASME Digital Collection
The ASME Digital Collection, previously known as The ASME Digital Library, is ASME’s repository of current and archival literature featuring:
ASME's Transaction Journals from 1960 to the present.
ASME's Conference Proceedings from 2002 to the present.
ASME Press eBooks selected from 1993 to the present.
Proceedings of the Insitution of Mechanical Engineers
Available through Sage Premier, Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers Conference Proceedings Volumes 178-184 (Published 1964-1970) Various titles labeled Volumes A to S , June 1963 - September 1969. Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, June 1847 - June 1982. Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers Conference, Part A- P. BROWSE A - Z LIST OF SAGE JOURNAL TITLES.

Aerospace Engineering

The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world's largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession. Includes access to several current-year AIAA journals; archival access to all journals (1963-2019); and 2020 Meeting Papers. Full text availability is noted.

Issues of AIAA journals and meeting papers are available online in Aerospace Research Central (ARC).

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection (ProQuest) (1962+) This link opens in a new window
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection is a full text and A&I database covering the latest developments in high technology with a focus on computer science, aerospace, energy science, information science, and many others. The Computer Science Database is also included with this collection, adding full-text coverage across many areas and applications including artificial intelligence, cybersecurity, software engineering, and related disciplines.
Included databases:
- Aerospace Database
- Electronics & Communications Abstracts
- ProQuest Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Journals
- ProQuest Computer Science Collection
- ProQuest Deep Indexing: Advanced Technologies
- Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts
Subject coverage:
- Aeronautics
- Applied physics
- Artificial intelligence
- Astronautics
- Atomic and molecular physics
- Circuits and logic
- Communications and networks
- Computer applications
- Computer programming
- Computer systems organization
- Computing milieux
- Condensed matter physics
- Database information systems and applications
- Decision support systems
- Electronics and electrical engineering
- Electronics and communications milieux
- Geophysics and earth resources
- Hardware and evaluation
- Information systems
- Lasers and masers
- Local area networks
- Logic and switching theories
- Mathematics of computing
- Meteorology, climatology and oceanography
- Navigation
- Nuclear and high energy physics
- Optical and acoustic technology
- Optics
- Photonics
- Plasma physics
- Robotics
- Semiconductors
- Software engineering
- Solid state milieux
- Superconductors
- Telecommunications
- Telecommunications, equipment & instrumentation
Aerospace Database‎ (1962+) This link opens in a new window
The Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Index is the most comprehensive bibliographic coverage of research, emerging technologies, applications and companies in the areas of aeronautics, astronautics, computer & information technology, electronics, communications, solid state devices, and space sciences. From theoretical research through to practical applications.
This database provides indexing and abstracts from more than 4,000 current serial and non-serial titles, including content from AIAA and NASA. The database currently includes over 3.6M records from periodicals, conference papers, trade journals, magazines, books, patents and technical reports, with indexing back to the early 1960's. Covers all aspects of applied research in the aerospace and space sciences.
Astrophysics Data System (Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory & NASA) This link opens in a new window
"maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 10.9 million records covering publications in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and the arXiv e-prints"

NASA Technical Reports Server
Search NASA reports, NACA documents and selected non-NASA archives in the fields of aeronautics, space science, chemistry and materials, engineering, geosciences, life sciences, mathematics and computer sciences, and physics.

EML 6085 - Research Methods in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Best Bet - Articles About Engineering and Computer Science

Online Standards

A-Z Databases: data

Mechanical Engineering

Aerospace Engineering

Subject Specific Guides

To Find Journal Articles About Electrical and Computer Engineering Topics

To Find Journal Articles About Civil, Environmental, and Construction Engineering Topics

To Find Journal Articles about Industrial Engineering & Management Systems Topics

To Find Journal Articles about Materials Science and Engineering Topics

To Find Journal Articles about Computer Science Topics