Each semester the UCF Libraries offer workshops for graduate and postdoctoral researchers
as part of the College of Graduate Studies Pathways to Success program.
Please register for participation by logging in at myUCF - Student Center - Graduate Students - Pathways to Success
All Summer 2021 workshops will be held via Zoom.
Questions? Please contact Corinne Bishop, Graduate Engagement Librarian.
Get a great start to plan upcoming research & publishing projects!
Attend our 3-part online series and learn about strategies for conducting literature reviews and identifying essential sources, EndNote citation management to manage and format sources, and key factors to consider when submitting your work for publication.
Session 1 -- Library & Literature Review Research
This session highlights timesaving strategies to help you plan literature reviews. Learn tips to locate related sources, search subject databases, access online journals, create journal alerts, and maximize Google Scholar options.
Tuesday, 2/9 4:00-5:00pm
Thursday, 3/4 Noon-1:00pm
Session 2 -- EndNote Citation Management
Citation management tools allow you to dedicate more time to research. Join us to learn how to export citations from library databases, organize citations, generate bibliographies, and format citations in a Word document. EndNote can help make managing your references and formatting citations easy.
|Friday, 1/22 -- Noon-1:00pm||Wed, 2/10 -- 6:00-7:00pm|
|Tuesday, 1/26 -- 5:30-6:30pm||Friday, 2/19 -- Noon-1:00pm|
|Monday, 3/1 Noon-1:00pm|
Session 3 -- Selecting Journals to Publish Your Research
Thursday, 2/11 -- 4:00-5:00pm
|Tuesday, 3/9 -- Noon-1:00pm|
Apps To Help Organize Your Research Life
Need help staying on task, keeping track of research sources, or organizing your time? There's an app for that! Join us as we cover how mobile apps can help you organize your graduate school life. Be sure to have your mobile device ready to test drive apps during the presentation.
Tuesday, 2/23 -- Noon-1:00pm
|Thursday, 3/5 -- 3:00-4:00pm||Wednesday 4/7 -- 4:00-5:00pm|
Copyright Basics for Research and Teaching
(open to graduate students, postdocs & faculty to attend)
Can you use any image you find online in your presentation? Do you need to get permission to use a chart or graphic for your thesis or dissertation? What kinds of rights do you have as an author of a journal article? These are just a few of the questions that we will explore in this session focused on the fundamentals of copyright and fair use for research and teaching. Attendees will learn about copyright basics, the Four Fair Use Factors, author rights, and more. Specific copyright and fair use questions can be directed to Sarah Norris Sarah.Norris@ucf.edu and Rich Gause email@example.com ahead of time or during the session.
|Tuesday, 2/16 -- 3:00-4:00pm||Wednesday, 3/17 -- Noon-1:00pm|
Data Documentation & Statistical Software
Join a statistician and metadata librarian for an introduction to best practices and suggestions for data documentation and analyzing research data. Learn about research data, data sharing, re-use, and long-term preservation. This session also includes real-world examples and a discussion of data tools, such as NVivo, SPSS/SAS/STATA/R.
|Monday, 3/15 -- 1:00-2:30pm|
Optimizing Your Online Presence
This session covers evaluating your publishing impacts and managing your online researcher profile. Learn about methods and tools to obtain citation counts and impact data, metrics to assist in identifying key journals and notable researchers, and why it’s important to develop an online profile using sites, such as ORCID, Research Gate, Academia.edu, PIVOT, Plum Analytics, and Google Scholar.
Thursday, 2/18 -- Noon-1:00pm
|Wednesday, 3/24 – 1:00-2:00pm|
Planning Poster Presentations
Planning a research poster? Learn the basics of poster design and tips on editing free PowerPoint templates. This session covers guidelines about poster elements, layout, graphics, printing, and includes examples of well-designed posters.
Friday, 3/5 -- Noon-1:00pm
|Thursday, 4/8 -- 3:00-4:00pm|
Does the idea of giving a presentation freak you out? The bad news is presentations are unavoidable in your courses and in your future career path – but the good news is presentation skills are something you can easily improve! This session provides tips, tricks, and ideas for how to become a better presenter and includes time for Q&A and practice speaking to a crowd!
Wednesday, 2/17 -- Noon-1:00pm
|Wednesday, 3/10 -- 1:00-2:00pm||Tuesday, 4/6 -- 3:00-4:00pm|