EIN 4360 - Facilities Planning and Work Design

Now in Its Fourth Edition: Your Guide to Successful Facility Design Overcome design and planning problems using the fourth edition of Facilities Design. Dedicated to the proper design, layout, and location of facilities, this definitive guide outlines the main design and operational problems that occur in manufacturing and service systems, explains the significance of facility design and planning problems, and describes how mathematical models can be used to help analyze and solve them. Combining theory with practice, this revised work presents state-of-the-art topics in materials handling, warehousing, and logistics along with real-world examples that emphasize the importance of modeling and analysis when determining a solution to complex facility design problems. What's New in the Fourth Edition: The latest version introduces new material that includes handling equipment and systems, and presents relevant case studies in each and every chapter. It also provides access to Layout-iQ software, data files for many of the numerical examples that are contained throughout the book, and PowerPoint files for various chapters. Additionally, the author: Describes tools commonly used for presenting layout designs Presents traditional models for facility layout including the popular systematic layout planning (SLP) model in detail Provides a layout project involving the SLP model Covers group technology and cellular manufacturing at the elementary level Includes a project and case study on machine grouping and layout Considers next-generation factory layouts Discusses analytical queuing and queuing network models, and more Facilities Design, Fourth Edition explains the ins and outs of facility planning and design. A reference for both student and professional, the book addresses facilities design and layout problems in manufacturing systems and covers layout, logistics, supply chain, warehousing, and materials handling. Please visit the author's website for ancillary materials: http://sundere.okstate.edu/downloadable-software-programs-and-data-files.

Work is all around us and permeates everything we do and everyday activities. Not all work is justified, not all work is properly designed, or evaluated accurately, or integrated. A systems model will make work more achievable through better management. Work is defined as a process of performing a defined task or activity, such as research, development, operations, maintenance, repair, assembly, production, and so on. Very little is written on how to design, evaluate, justify, and integrate work. Using a comprehensive systems approach, this book facilitates a better understanding of work for the purpose of making it more effective and rewarding.

The UK government has committed to reducing the nation's carbon emissions by 80% by 2050. Buildings currently use almost half of the UK's generated energy and they are now the focus of an unprecedented drive to cut energy use in our homes, offices, schools, libraries - in fact in almost every building, public or private. Delivering Sustainable Buildings: an industry insider's view offers peer-to-peer insights and advice from a leading practitioner in this field and brings together in one book an overview of the main issues to consider when creating energy-efficient and sustainable buildings. A resource to dip into for practical advice, which is both highly readable and also backed up by in-depth technical knowledge, giving the important points to note and common pitfalls to avoid.  Based on observations of an author with hands-on experience of dealing with the various elements of the building services engineering industry, the book gives a unique insight into the particular challenges faced by designers, project managers, contractors and installers working to deliver lower carbon and sustainable building projects and operation. There is a lot of guidance on sustainable buildings available from reputable sources including BRE, CIBSE, B&ES, ECA and BSRIA.

Featuring such disciplines as nanoscience, biochemistry, information technology and environmental engineering, in 150 articles this volume explores the essential role of technology in developments towards a sustainable environment.

This book highlights the various technologies that are currently available or are now being developed for the green and smart buildings of the future. It examines why green building performance is important, and how it can be measured and rated using appropriate benchmarking systems. Lastly, the book provides an overview of the state-of-the-art in green building technologies and the trend towards zero energy or net positive energy buildings in the future.

With contributions from leading architects in green building, 'Sustainable Facilities' akes an in-depth look at over 15 large scale facilities designed, constructed, and operated with green building methods and materials. Readers will learn about the various advantages and obstacles building teams face on green projects.

This book has been edited by Martine Poux, Patrick Cognet and Christophe Gourdon from the Laboratoire de Génie Chimique/ENSIACET, Toulouse. It presents an ensemble of methods and new chemical engineering routes that can be integrated in industrial processing for safer, more flexible, economical, and ecological production processes in the context of green and sustainable engineering. Different methods for improving process performance are dealt with, including: * Eco-design and process optimization by systemic approaches * New technologies for intensification * Radical change of industrial processes via the use of new media and new routes for chemical synthesis These various methods are fully illustrated with examples and industrial cases, making this book application oriented.

This revision incorporates all the significant advances that have occurred in the past decade; including advances in facilities planning, material handling, and computing technologies, as well as engineering and management philosophies. It focuses on the determination of the requirements for people, equipment, space, and material in the facility. It presents concepts and techniques to facilitate the generation of alternative facilities plans and continues to focus on generating alternative facilities plans. It also presents a variety of quantitative approaches that can be used to model specific aspects of facilities planning problems and discusses the treatment of facilities planning.

This resource provides clear, straightforward methods for solving problems in mechanical, electrical, and building and grounds maintenance, as well as in energy use. Its easy-to-use format presents methods independently of type of facility, ensuring applicability to any maintenance operation. More than 25 chapters of problem-solving methods are included.