Skip to Main Content
UCF Libraries Home

Atlantic Studies

Artstor Overview

ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

Although it is often considered a database of artistic images, it also contains a wide range of historical images from archives all over the world, including from Colonial America. Most ARTstor images are higher-quality than what you would find with a simple Google Search and they contain full metadata and copyright information. 

You have the option of creating an ARTstor account, which allows you to build a personal image library, create shared folders, and to convert images into PowerPoint presentations.

For more detailed information, see the ARTstor database and our handy User Guide:

ARTstor Collection News

ARTstor Collection news

Now available: More architecture from the Ezra Stoller Archive (Esto)
A new release of more than 7,100 images from the Ezra Stoller Archive (Esto) is now available in the ARTstor Digital Library.
Learn more

Now available: More images from the Asian Art Photographic Distribution (AAPD) (University of Michigan)
ARTstor has recently added the final images from the University of Michigan’s Asian Art Photographic Distribution (AAPD) collection in the Digital Library, bringing the collection total to approximately 9,600 images of Chinese painting, sculpture, and decorative arts and Japanese painting and prints.
Learn more

Now available: Additional Mark Rothko paintings
An additional 55 images from the Rothko Family Collections are now available in the Digital Library. These new images consist of Mark Rothko’s paintings from the 1930s and 1940s.
Learn more

Now available: Yao ceremonial artifacts from Ohio University
Ohio University has shared approximately 2,800 images of art works and objects created by the Yao people, an ethnic minority from northern Vietnam, which are now available in ARTstor.
Learn more

Now available: Final images from Canyonlights World Art Image Bank
Approximately 2,200 additional images from Canyonlights World Art Image Bank are now available in the ARTstor Digital Library.
Learn more