Bibliographies
-
The Oxford guide to classical mythology in the arts, 1300-1990sCall Number: Main Library Reference - 2nd Floor -- NX650.M9R45 1993
-
The Oxford history of classical artCall Number: Main Library General Collection - 3rd Floor -- N5610.O84 1993
Databases
Please use this box to list the most important resources for this subject guide. Add as many as you wish.
-
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArt & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
see also Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) -
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (ProQuest) (1934+) This link opens in a new windowOffers a listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Coverage is from the 1930s to the present, with selective coverage back to the 1860s.
-
Beazley ArchivesA great resource for finding bibliographies on classical art. These bibliographies were originally created for undergraduates in the University of Oxford. They are regularly updated.
-
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) / Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) (Getty) (1975-2007) This link opens in a new windowSee also the print volumes in the General Collection N 7510 .R5 (1975-1999)
-
FRANCIS and PASCAL Archive (1972-2015) This link opens in a new windowFRANCIS was produced by Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS). The database indexes journal articles, books, dissertations, reports and conferences related to humanities and social sciences topics. FRANCIS content spans 1972-2015.
The PASCAL database shares space with FRANCIS. PASCAL contains indexing for science, technology, and medicine, especially European content. The content in PASCAL is from 1984 to 2015.
Neither FRANCIS nor PASCAL is being updated with new content. -
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text of research journals and eBooks from numerous publishers. For most of the journal content, we can access all but the 3 to 5 most recent years of the journal.
-
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost) (1926+) This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
-
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowThis is a comprehensive encyclopedia on every aspect of the visual arts; provides access to more than 5,000 images.
-
Philosopher's Index (EBSCOhost) (1940+) This link opens in a new windowThe Philosopher’s Index™, produced by the Philosopher’s Information Center, is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. The Philosopher’s Index, considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews. The Philosopher’s Index contains research published since 1940 including over 680 journals from more than 50 countries with content representing a variety of languages.
-
Project MUSE (Johns Hopkins University) This link opens in a new windowa unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to over 300+ high quality humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
-
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics) This link opens in a new window
Provides citation indexing of top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder, 254 categories thoroughly cover the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
