UCF Research Guides: TESOL Databases: TESOL

Best Bets

APA PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) (1887+) This link opens in a new window
"contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages."
Psychological Abstracts:
* 1927-1947 Microfilm BF1.P65
* 1948-2004 print in remote storage
ERIC (EBSCOhost) (1966+) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is available from several database vendors, including ProQuest. UCF students are advised to use ERIC in EBSCOhost, which provides many links to full text and allows users to search multiple education databases simultaneously. Users who are not UCF students are advised to use ERIC from DOE because no login is required.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) (ProQuest) (1973+) This link opens in a new window
The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost) (1926+) This link opens in a new window
Science Direct (1997+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1965+)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1965+)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+)

Citation Connection is now available. This includes:
- Data Citation Index (1900+)
- Derwent Innovations Index – Patents Database (1963+)
- Book Citation Index: Scholarly Books (2005+)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990+)
- Index Chemicus (IC) (1989+)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1993+)
- Current Contents Connect (1998+)

TESOL Databases

Relevant Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Chicano Database (EBSCOhost) (1960+) This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Education Database (ProQuest) (1988+) This link opens in a new window
Subject coverage:
- Adult education
- Elementary education
- Higher education
- Home schooling
- Secondary education
- Special needs education
- Teacher education
Education Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) (1929-1983) This link opens in a new window
"The database provides information on societal trends affecting education, including segregation, multiculturalism, feminism, and economic developments. Subject coverage includes adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more."
Education Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- African American/Caribbean/African
- Arab/Middle Eastern
- Asian/Pacific Islander
- European/Eastern European
- Hispanic
- Jewish
- Multi-ethnic
- Native People
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use Google Scholar as a first step of discovery, but then focus your research by using specific databases relevant to your subject discipline.
Mango Languages This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National Clearinghouse for English Language Acquisition & Language Instruction Educational Programs (NCELA) This link opens in a new window
As of July 2015, a new NCELA website is under construction.
Nexis Uni Help This link opens in a new window
see instructions for limiting results to non-English or non-U.S. sources
Project MUSE (Johns Hopkins University) This link opens in a new window
Research Areas:
- Area & Ethnic Studies
- Art & Architecture
- Creative Writing
- Education
- Film, Theater, & Performing Arts
- History
- Language & Linguistics
- Library Science & Publishing
- Literature
- Medicine & Health
- Music
- Philosophy
- Religion
- Science, Technology, & Mathematics
- Social Sciences
- Studies by Time Period
- Women's Studies, Gender, & Sexuality
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
What Works Clearinghouse (U.S. Dept of Education) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window

All UCF Databases

All | A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (1637+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content."
DART-Europe E-theses Portal This link opens in a new window
Dissertations (Center for Research Libraries) This link opens in a new window
EThOS -- e-Theses Online Service (British Library) This link opens in a new window
"There are approximately 380,000 records relating to theses awarded by over 120 institutions. Around 120,000 of these also provide access to the full text thesis, either via download from the EThOS database or via links to the institution’s own repository. Of the remaining 260,000 records dating back to at least 1800, three quarters are available to be ordered for scanning through the EThOS digitisation-on-demand facility."
Global ETD Search This link opens in a new window
Open Access Theses & Dissertations (OATD) This link opens in a new window
Theses Canada This link opens in a new window
Trove (National Library of Australia) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat Dissertations & Theses (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 5 million records of dissertations and theses. Also available via WorldCat.org by performing an advanced search and selecting Thesis/dissertation in the content box.

Research Guides and Other Resources

Legal Resources

Nexis Uni - Education This link opens in a new window
Education Law -- Florida Cases -- Florida Statutes & Administrative Code -- Florida Administrative Hearings & Decisions
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text (H.W. Wilson)* (print only)
-UCF online access ended on Dec. 31, 2018 due to funding.
-Print index UCF Main Library Reference Collection K 9 .N75 (1926-1994)
-Print index UCF Main Library Reference Collection K 9 .N75 (1994-2004)
LegalTrac (Gale OneFile) (1980+) This link opens in a new window

Yearbook of Education Law / Yearbook of School Law
Call Number: UCF Main Library Reference -- KF 4102.5 .Y4 (1972+)
Online editions 1997+
ch4ck availability of print editions (1988+)
ch4ck availability of print editions (1972-1987)
federal and state cases
Typical annual chapters: School Governance -- Employees -- Students -- Bargaining -- Students with Disabilities -- Torts -- Sports -- Higher Education -- Students in Higher Education -- Federal & State Legislation
Special Chapters: 2021 - COVID | 2020 - Polish Education Law | 2019 - Taiwan | 2018 - Nigeria; Sweden | 2017 - Hungary; South Africa; Vietnam | 2015 - England; Spain; China | 2014 - Canada; Turkey; Brazil | 2013 - Netherlands; South Africa | 2012 - Germany; Malaysia; Russia | 2011 - Australia; China; England

Social Aspects

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) (1952+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Statistical Resources

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) This link opens in a new window

Videos

Academic Video Online Premium (AVON) (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Extensive collection of streaming videos in many genres and disciplines.
Education in Video (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"includes hundreds of in-classroom videos on key teaching topics and themes from the most respected education publishers worldwide."
Florida PBS Learning Media This link opens in a new window
"PBS LearningMedia provides PreK-12 educators with access to free digital content and professional development opportunities designed to improve teacher effectiveness and student achievement."