UCF Research Guides: Engineering: Industrial Engineering and Management Systems: Databases

Recommended Databases

The recommended databases to find journal articles on your topic are below.

Compendex (Ei Engineering Village) (1884+) This link opens in a new window
a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines.
Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.
Inspec and Inspec Archive (Ei Village) (1896+) This link opens in a new window
"Inspec includes bibliographic citations and indexed abstracts from publications in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering, operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics."

Includes the Inspec backfile.
Ergonomics Abstracts (EBSCOhost) (1985+) This link opens in a new window
Ergonomics Abstracts is a comprehensive and international database, spanning the world of ergonomics and human factors. Due to the changing frames of reference in modern scientific research and application, the database is a source of information on ergonomics, but also on related material from psychology, physiology, biomechanics, human-computer interaction, human engineering, medicine, occupational health, sport, and transport. Ergonomics Abstracts includes articles from over 400 leading journals plus book chapters and conference proceedings, covering more than 25 years of ergonomics research.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full text access to quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Includes most IEEE journals, conference proceedings, and standards.
IEEE Electronic Library (IEL) includes access to the full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1872 from:
- IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents
- IEEE conference proceedings
- IET conference proceedings
- IEEE published standards
- IEEE Standards Dictionary Online
VDE VERLAG Conference Proceedings includes complimentary access to the AbstractPlus records and select full text published since 2005
Bell Labs Technical Journal includes access to the AbstractPlus records and full text articles published from 1922
IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library includes full text access to all IEEE-Wiley eBooks titles copyrighted in the year(s) 1974-2013
Individual Online Journals includes access to all AbstractPlus records and full text published since 2005 from:
- Systems Engineering and Electronics, Journal of
-IET journals are now largely Open Access at the IET Research Hub on Wiley Online Library
Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Source offers extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines by combining high-quality databases from both EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson. This premier resource offers full text for almost 1,200 journals, citations to millions of articles. The content within Applied Science & Technology Source derives from numerous sources, including leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings.
formerly called Applied Science & Technology (EBSCOhost/Wilson) (1983+)
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citation indexing of top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder, 256 categories thoroughly cover the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1965+)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1965+)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+)

Citation Connection is now available. This includes:
- Data Citation Index (1900+)
- Derwent Innovations Index – Patents Database (1963+)
- Book Citation Index: Scholarly Books (2005+)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990+)
- Index Chemicus (IC) (1989+)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1993+)
- Current Contents Connect (1998+)
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) (1971+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world
Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
Business Insights (Gale) (1980+) This link opens in a new window
A collection of company & industry information, including articles, financials, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, and chronologies
(formerly Business & Company Resource Center)
Business Abstracts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson) (1982+) This link opens in a new window
"contains the full text of articles from more than 510 key publications dating back to 1995, and provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences and more."
"Additional content includes quality indexing and abstracts for more than 900 publications dating back to 1982, as well as over 600,000 corporate names with cross references to specific industries and countries. Subject coverage includes accounting, acquisitions & mergers, advertising, banking, chemicals and pharmaceuticals, communications, economics, entertainment industry, finance, financial services, government regulations, industrial relations, insurance, international business, investments, marketing, retail trade, small business and much more."
EconLit (EBSCOhost) (1969+) This link opens in a new window
EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature. The database contains more than 1.1 million records from 1886-present. EconLit covers virtually every area related to economics.
MathSciNet (American Mathematical Society) (1940+) This link opens in a new window
Access to over 70 years of of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications from 1940 to the present.
"contains almost 3 million items and over 1.7 million direct links to original articles. Bibliographic data from retrodigitized articles dates back to the early 1800s. Reference lists are collected and matched internally from approximately 550 journals, and citation data for journals, authors, articles and reviews is provided. This web of citations allows users to track the history and influence of research publications in the mathematical sciences."
Mathematics Subject Classification
- 00 General
- 01 History & Biography
- 03 Mathematical Logic & Foundations
- 05 Combinatorics
- 06 Order, Lattices, Ordered Algebraic Structures
- 08 General Algebraic Systems
- 11 Number Theory
- 12 Field Theory & Polynomials
- 13 Commutative Algebra
- 14 Algebraic Geometry
- 15 Linear & Multilinear Algebra; Matrix Theory
- 16 Associative Rings & Algebra
- 17 Nonassociative Rings & Algebra
- 18 Category Theory; Homological Algebra
- 19 $K$-Theory
- 20 Group Theory & Generalizations
- 22 Topological Groups, Lie Groups
- 26 Real Functions
- 28 Measure & Integration
- 30 Functions of a Complex Variable
- 31 Potential Theory
- 32 Several Complex Variables & Analytic Spaces
- 33 Special Functions
- 34 Ordinary Differential Equations
- 35 Partial Differential Equations
- 37 Dynamical Systems & Ergodic Theory
- 39 Difference & Functional Equations
- 40 Sequences, Series, Summability
- 41 Approximations & Expansions
- 42 Harmonic Analysis on Euclidean Spaces
- 43 Abstract Harmonic Analysis
- 44 Integral Transforms, Operational Calculus
- 45 Integral Equations
- 46 Functional Analysis
- 47 Operator Theory
- 49 Calculus of Variations & Optimal Control; Optimization
- 51 Geometry
- 52 Convex & Discrete Geometry
- 53 Differential Geometry
- 54 General Topology
- 55 Algebraic Topology
- 57 Manifolds & Cell Complexes
- 58 Global Analysis, Analysis on Manifolds
- 60 Probability Theory & Stochastic Processes
- 62 Statistics
- 65 Numerical Analysis
- 68 Computer Science
- 70 Mechanics of Particles & Systems
- 74 Mechanics of Deformable Solids
- 76 Fluid Mechanics
- 78 Optics, Electromagnetic Theory
- 80 Classical Thermodynamics, Heat Transfer
- 81 Quantum Theory
- 82 Statistical Mechanics, Structure of Matter
- 83 Relativity & Gravitational Theory
- 85 Astronomy & Astrophysics
- 86 Geophysics
- 90 Operations Research, Mathematical Programming
- 91 Game Theory, Economics, Social & Behavioral Sciences
- 92 Biology & Other Natural Sciences
- 93 Systems Theory; Control
- 94 Information & Communication, Circuits
- 97 Mathematics Education
APA PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) (1887+) This link opens in a new window
The APA PsycInfo® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
"contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages."
Psychological Abstracts:
* 1927-1947 Microfilm BF1.P65
* 1948-2004 print in remote storage
ERIC (EBSCOhost) (1966+) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
ERIC is available from several database vendors, including ProQuest. UCF students are advised to use ERIC in EBSCOhost, which provides many links to full text and allows users to search multiple education databases simultaneously. Users who are not UCF students are advised to use ERIC from DOE because no login is required.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides active full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.
SPORTDiscus (EBSCOhost) (1975+) This link opens in a new window
Provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre, SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains well over 1.7 million records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 22,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.