1900-1919: All-American Ads
Main Library General Collection NC 998.5 .A1 A441 2005
30s: All-American Ads
Main Library General Collection NC 998.5 .A1 A443 2003
40s: All-American Ads
Main Library General Collection NC 998.5 .A1 A444 2001
50s: All-American Ads
Main Library General Collection NC 998.5 .A1 A445 2001
70s Fashion: Vintage Fashion and Beauty Ads
Main Library ARC General Collection HF 6161 .C44 A16 2006
Kitchen Kitsch: Vintage Food Graphics
Main Library ARC General Collection HF 6161 .F616 K57 2002
A series of books that provide reproductions of advertisements in magazines and newspapers decade-by-decade.
https://repository.duke.edu/dc/adaccess
Presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. The advertisements are from the J. Walter Thompson Company Competitive Advertisements Collection of the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising and Marketing History in Duke University's David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library.
https://aef.com/ad-award-archive/
The Advertising Educational Foundation (AEF) has partnered with various industry groups to showcase award-winning advertising campaigns. The site is a compilation of the winners in various national advertising campaign competitions from 2000-2019.
https://www.adcouncil.org/
An American nonprofit organization that produces, distributes, and promotes public service announcements (PSAs) on behalf of various sponsors, including nonprofit organizations, non-governmental organizations and agencies of the United States government. Council partners with advertising agencies that work pro bono to create the public service advertisements on behalf of their campaigns. The organization accepts requests from sponsor institutions for advertising campaigns that focus on particular social issues. To qualify, an issue must be non-denominational, non-partisan (though not necessarily unbiased), have national relevance and be an issue for which communications can make a measurable difference.
https://www.adforum.com/
A directory of advertisements from broadcast, print, and internet media, which can be searched by award winners, advertising agencies, and more.
Documents the history, operation, policies, and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms, revealing many aspects of twentieth-century cultural, social, business, marketing, consumer, and economic history. Images range from the late nineteenth century up until the late 1990s with the bulk representing the post-1945 world. A huge number of brands, companies, and industries are covered — from automobiles to cosmetics and cruises.
https://books.google.com/books?id=R1cEAAAAMBAJ&source=gbs_all_issues_r&cad=1&atm_aiy=1936#all_issues_anchor
Google has digitized all issues of Life magazine from 1936 until 1972, including all advertisements.
Provides access to all issues of the National Geographic magazine from the first issue in 1888. There is the capability to browse by issue or to limit to advertisements and by date or time period.
https://www.radiomercuryawards.com/audioLib.cfm
The Radio Mercury Awards, the only competition exclusively devoted to radio and audio, was established in 1992 to encourage and reward the development of effective and creative radio commercials. The Radio Creative Fund (RCF), a nonprofit corporation funded by the radio industry, governs the Awards. The audio library contains jingles, public service announcements, and pro-radio advertisements.
Contains the full contents of the American edition of the fashion magazine Vogue in full color page image, from the first issue in 1892 to the present, with monthly updates for new issues.
A rich source for advertising through the decades, but select "Advertisement" in the "Document type" box. "A searchable archive of leading women’s interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st. Consumer magazines aimed at a female readership are recognized as critical primary sources through which to interpret multiple aspects of 19th and 20th-century history and culture" (publisher's description). Includes Good Housekeeping (1885-2005), Ladies' Home Journal (1885-2005), Redbook (1903-2005), Better Homes & Gardens (1922-2005), Parents (1926-2005), and Chatelaine (1928-2005).