Guides for Writing Application Essays
University Writing Center - Student Resources
- Graduate Applications & Writing
- Guidelines for Writing Your Personal Statement
- Writing Personal Statements
The following books focus on various types of essays and cover letters, but much of the guidance provided may be useful for other applications as well.
See also Resumes, Cover Letters & Interviews
Search the UCF Library Catalog for other books on college admissions essays, including:
How to Write the Perfect Personal StatementCall Number: UCF ONLINE General Collection -- LB2371.4.S74 2009NOTE: Online access is limited to 1 simultaneous user
The admissions process for law, business, medical, or graduate school is more competitive today than ever before. Peterson's How to Write the Perfect Personal Statement provides essential tips on how to create and write personal statements that respond to the questions that appear on the applications of many popular graduate schools. The guide also offers great insight on whom to approach for letters of recommendation and how to make the best impression at the interview. How to Write the Perfect Personal Statement features 30 actual samples of successful application essays as well as recommendations from admissions officers on winning strategies that have guaranteed students admission into business, law, medical, and graduate school.- Graduate Admissions Essays: Write Your Way into the Graduate School of Your ChoiceCall Number: UCF Rosen General Collection --LB 2366.2.A84 2000
How to Write a Winning Personal Statement for Graduate & Professional SchoolCall Number: UCF Cocoa General Collection -- LB 2351.52.U6 S74 1993
One-hour College Application Essay: Write Your College Admission Essay TodayCall Number: UCF ONLINE General Collection -- LB2351.52.U6.M45 2008NOTE: Online access is limited to 13 simultaneous users- How to Write Your College Application EssayCall Number: UCF ONLINE General Collection -- LB2351.52.U6.N68 2001NOTE: Online access is limited to 3 simultaneous users
- Write Your College Application EssayCall Number: UCF ONLINE General Collection -- LB2351.52.U6.N68 1997NOTE: Online access is limited to 3 simultaneous users
Perfect Phrases for Business School Acceptance: Hundreds of Ready-to-use Phrases to Write the Attention-grabbing Essay, Stand Out in an Interview, and Gain a Competitive EdgeCall Number: UCF ONLINE General Collection -- HF1131.B545 2009NOTE: Online access is limited to 7 simultaneous users
Perfect Phrases for Law School Acceptance: Hundreds of Ready-to-use Phrases to Write a Winning Personal Statement, Ace the Interview, and Impress Admissions OfficersCall Number: UCF ONLINE General Collection -- KF285.B63 2009NOTE: Online access is limited to 7 simultaneous users- Great Personal Statements for Law SchoolCall Number: UCF ONLINE General Collection -- KF285.B64 2006NOTE: Online access is limited to 6 simultaneous users.
How to Land a Top-paying Federal Job: Your Complete Guide to Opportunities, Internships, Résumés and Cover Letters, Application Essays (KSAs), Interviews, Salaries, Promotions, and More!NOTE: Online access is limited to 3 simultaneous users
Chapter 10: Writing Killer Application Essays (KSAs & ECQs)
A Guide to Writing College Admissions Essays: Practical Advice for Students & ParentsCall Number: UCF Main Library General Collection -- LB2351.5.F73 2021ch2ck availability
This book is a guide for students writing their college admissions essays, primarily the 650-word Common App essay and supplementary essays that many schools require as part of their admission applications. With more students applying to college, and those students applying to more schools than ever before, college admission selection is far more competitive than in the past and the college essay is a key component.We offer suggestions on good topics to write about without getting too specific (and just as importantly what not to write about), vital tips on writing approach, grammar, and usage. This guide can be for anyone who wants to write better, more clearly and crisply. If used properly, this book will help you craft a readable, interesting essay that will attract the college admissions reader by giving you a creative voice and the means to express yourself. No guarantees, but it just might make a difference in the final admission process.- Accepted! 50 Successful College Admission EssaysCall Number: UCF Main Library Reference -- LB 2351.52.U6.T3 2002
Ca$h for College's Write It Right: How to Write the Essay They'll Love and Get the Cash You NeedCall Number: UCF Main Library General Collection -- LB 2351.52.U6.M36 2000
Money-Winning Scholarship Essays & InterviewsCall Number: UCF Main Library General Collection -- LB 2351.32.U6.T36 2002
Business School Essays That Made a DifferenceCall Number: UCF Main Library General Collection -- HF 1131.G555 2003
College Essays That Made a DifferenceCall Number: UCF Main Library General Collection -- LB 2351.52.U6.C65 2003
Essays That Worked for Business Schools: 40 Essays from Successful Applications to the Nation's Top Business SchoolsCall Number: UCF Main Library General Collection -- HF 1131.E87 2003
50 Successful Harvard Application Essays: What Worked for Them Can Help You Get into the College of Your ChoiceCall Number: UCF Main Library General Collection -- LB 2351.52.U6.A13 2005
65 successful Harvard Business School application essaysCall Number: UCF Main Library General Collection -- HF1131.A135 2004
McGraw-Hill's Writing an Outstanding College Application EssayCall Number: UCF Main Library General Collection -- LB 2351.52.U6.M87 2005
How to Write a Winning Scholarship Essay: 30 Essays That Won Over $3 Million in ScholarshipsCall Number: UCF Downtown Library General Collection -- LB2338.T3 2018ch2ck availability
Examining the two basic components of scholarship competition--essays and interviews--this vital guidebook offers practical advice and real-life examples to guide students through the entire application process. A roundtable panel of judges and applicants supply inside information regarding the winning qualities sought after by award-giving organizations and tips for finding scholarships by using books, the internet, personal connections, and sources in the community. With insight into the judges' criteria for a successful application, 30 previously awarded scholarship essays are thoroughly analyzed, from choice of topic to writing style. Revealing unique strategies for preparation and overcoming nervousness, this definitive resource also includes sample interview questions and answers.
