Public Companies
- In general, information on large public
companies are easier to find. At UCF
Library, you can search company profiles and financial information using one of
the following databases:
- Hoover's Online*Hoovers was sunset on 12/31/2018. It is replaced by Mergent Intellect by FTSE Russell.
- MarketLine AdvantageInternational industry and company information, including SWOT profiles
- for access to some MarketLine reports, connect to Business Source Premier, search for "Marketline" and then use the left column filter to limit Publisher to "Marketline" - Business Insights (Gale) (1980+)A collection of company & industry information, including articles, financials, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, and chronologies
(formerly Business & Company Resource Center) - Nexis Uni - Company DossierLinks to Nexis Business pages. Scroll down for Company Dossier options.
Search for information about specific companies, executives, or industries. Create a company list based on criteria such as NAICS industry classification or geographic location.
Private Companies
- Information on small, private companies
is much harder to find. One database to
use in the library is Hoover’ Online.
- Often the best way to find information
on small businesses is to search for articles from magazines, trade journals,
and newspapers. These databases are
available in the UCF Library.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)Covers management, economics, finance, banking, investment, and related fields. Full text included for nearly 2,300 journals.
- ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) (1971+)Covers advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, business conditions, trends, corporate strategies & tactics, management techniques, competitive & product information, company histories & new product development
- Nexis UniSee UCF User Help Guide
Full text of news and legal sources, as well as company and industry data. - Business Insights (Gale) (1980+)A collection of company & industry information, including articles, financials, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, and chronologies
(formerly Business & Company Resource Center) - Orlando Sentinel (ProQuest) (1985+)Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Classifieds and advertisements are excluded.
Click for earlier content from the Sentinel and other area newspapers. - U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest) (1980+)Full text of five major daily newspapers:
- Christian Science Monitor (1980+)
- Los Angeles Times (1985+)
- New York Times (1980+)
- - New York Times Book Review (indexing 1986+; full text 1997+)
- - New York Times Magazine (indexing 1986+; full text 1997+)
- Wall Street Journal (1984+)
- Washington Post (1987+)
Locating Local Companies
Include business and
residential listings. This
database will help you locate competitors in a specific geographic area. It will provide basic information such as
address, phone number, key officers, lines of business, sales volume, estimated
# of employees, and when available credit ratings. You can use this to locate potential business
clients or create a mailing list or distribution list. Create a list of people
by ZIP code, area code, name, county, etc.
Locate someone, get a map or driving directions. Also identify neighbors within 1/10 mile to 5
miles. (Available through OCPL)
Creating a Company List using LexisNexis Academic Company Dossier
Sample Results
- Sample Results
Hoover's Build A List (Find Prospect) 
LexisNexis Create A Company List 