19th Cty Pamphlets
Harvard's Widener Library is the repository of many scarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries. One of the few institutions to have consistently collected Latin American pamphlets, Harvard has benefited from collections formed by Luis Montt (Chile), Nicolás Acosta (Bolivia), Manuel Segundo Sánchez (Venezuela), José Augusto Escoto (Cuba), Blas Garay (Paraguay), Charles Sumner, John B. Stetson and others. Chile, Cuba, Bolivia and Mexico are the countries most heavily represented in this collection.
Digital Collections
- 1899 Cuban Census [Cuba]Created by the University of South Carolina Libraries, this searchable book provides insights into Cuba's demographic at the turn of the twentieth century.
- Archivo Digital de la Legislación en el PerúDigital copies of the Peruvian constitutions dating back to the 19th century, as well as the Leyes de Indias, and past and current legislative materials.
- Biblioteca Digital Puertorriqueña [Puerto Rico]Includes online access to primary source materials such as postcards, photographs, newspapers, and caricatures, among others.
- Biblioteca Virtual de la Prensa Histórica [Spain]Portal to newspapers and other primary sources published in Spain from the sixteenth to the early twentieth century.
- Cuban Heritage Collection (CHC)The Cuban Heritage Collection is dedicated to collecting all kinds of materials related to the Cuban, Cuban-American, and Cuban-exiled experience.
- Digital Library of the Caribbean [Caribe]A cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean that provides access to digitized versions of cultural, historical and research materials.
- Latin American Government Documents Archive (LAGDA) This link opens in a new windowThe LAGDA seeks to preserve and facilitate access to a wide range of ministerial and presidential documents from 18 Latin American and Caribbean countries.
- Latin American Open Archives Portal (LAOAP) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials from the "deep Web."
- Portal de Archivos EspañolesPortal to over 19 million documents is a great resource for historical documents. Provides online access to all the digitized material currently in Spanish archives.
- Saint Domingue Etat Civil [Haiti]This digital archive brings to life hundreds of documents from Haiti's colonial past. Access to many documents is still limited, as the archive is a work in progress, but do check it out.
- The Luso-Hispanic New World in Early Prints and Photographs, New York Public Library [Caribbean, Central and South America]"Hundreds of photographs and prints, in albums and rare published volumes, present the territories and countries associated with Portugal and Spain in the New World, from Mexico to Argentina, and parts of the Caribbean."
- University of Texas Libraries Human Rights Documentation Initiative (HRDI)The HRDI is committed to the long-term preservation of fragile and vulnerable records of human rights struggles worldwide, the promotion and secure usage of human rights archival materials, and the advancement of human rights research and advocacy around the world.
- World Digital Library [Caribbean, Central and South America]A cooperative effort spearheaded by UNESCO and brings together national and university libraries around the world. Very limited holdings, but it has the potential for a great number of materials.