Politics, Security & International Affairs

Includes:
-British diplomatic dispatches between London and Pretoria and between London and British posts across Africa
-Biographies of prominent political figures, activists, detainees and victims of apartheid
-Cuttings, transcriptions and translations of press reports, including many from Afrikaans newspapers
-Reports detailing visits to South Africa from UK and US politicians and vice versa
-Letters and telegrams from government departments and officials and from private individuals
-Minutes of ministerial meetings
-Annual reports detailing events in South Africa and neighboring countries during the previous year
-Political, economic and military analyses
-Statistical tables
-Police and embassy investigation reports
-Published booklets, leaflets, propaganda etc.
-Maps, including regional and tribal authority areas, mineral-production areas (including gold) and Bantustans

"C19 Index is the bibliographic spine of 19th century research, providing integrated access to the most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archives. Users of C19 Index can query its 14 collections simultaneously, or can conduct more detailed research using collection-specific search screens. C19 Index is a dynamic and growing resource, currently containing over 24 million bibliographic records for a full range of 19th century source material. The links below provide more detail on the 14 collections available in C19 Index."
- American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries (APCRL)
- American Periodicals Series (full text)
- Archive Finder
- Bookman Directory of Booksellers, Publishers & Authors
- British Periodicals
- Cotgreave's Index
- Dictionary of Nineteenth-Century Journalism
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
- Niles' Register Cumulative Index, 1811-1849
- Nineteenth Century
- Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC)
- Palmer's Index to The [London] Times
- Periodicals Index Online / Periodicals Archive Online
- Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
- Proceedings of the Old Bailey
- Stead's Index to Periodicals
- Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900
- U.S. Serial Set (1789-1901)

"Covering the period 1606 to 1822, CO 5 constitutes the original correspondence of the the colonial governments with the Board of Trade, the Secretary of State for the Southern Department and the Secretary of State for the Colonies, together holding responsibility for the British possessions in mainland North America and the Caribbean."

"Key Features:
- Eye-catching and innovative interactive maps, included animated maps of different theatres of war and key battles
- Digitised artefacts such as medical items, weaponry, uniforms and personal items viewable in a 360° format
- Virtual walk-through and 360° panoramas of the Sanctuary Wood Trench System in Ypres Salient
- Oral histories with accompanying transcriptions
- Extensive visual galleries and artwork feature
- Thought-provoking ‘Memory Wall’ of personal narratives
- Great War Glossary
- Contextual essays, written by academics and collection specialists
- Illustrated chronology
- Case studies
- Directories of key search terms in several European languages, including French, German and Italian"

These Foreign Office files cover British concerns over colonial-held territory in the Far East, as well as Japanese relations with China, Russia, Germany and the United States. Following surrender at the end of the Second World War, Japan was occupied by foreign forces for the first time in its history. The occupation resulted in disarmament, liberalization and a new constitution as the country was transformed into a parliamentary democracy. Japan emerged once again as a player on the world stage.

Consisting of diplomatic dispatches, correspondence, maps, summaries of events and diverse other material, this collection from the rich FO 371 and FO 262 series unites formerly restricted Japan-centric documents, and is enhanced by the addition of a selection of FO 371 Western and American Department and Far Eastern sub papers.

Topics include:
-Advertising and Consumption
-Cultivation and Production
-Exploration and Discovery
-Ecology and the Environment
-Global Trade and Commerce
-Health and Welfare
-Politics and Empire
-Social Practice
-Transportation and Exchange

"The three conflicts robustly represented are the Crimean War, the American Civil War and the First World War. Many other conflicts also have relevant documents and can be discovered via keyword searching, including the Boer Wars and the Spanish-American War. No conflicts within the date range were explicitly excluded, but material was selected based on its contribution to the thematic scope of the project."

"Migration to New Worlds: The Century of Immigration concentrates on the period 1800 to 1924 and covers all aspects of the migration experience, from motives and departures to arrival and permanent settlement....Migration to New Worlds: The Modern Era begins with the activities of the New Zealand Company during the 1840s and presents thousands of unique original sources focusing on the growth of colonization companies during the nineteenth century, the activities of immigration and welfare societies, and the plight of refugees and displaced persons throughout the twentieth century as migrants fled their homelands to escape global conflict."

"The Hall-Hoag Collection of Dissenting and Extremist Printed Propaganda from the John Hay Library at Brown University, features extremist literature ranging from the mid-1950s to the late 1970s - the most heated days of the civil rights movement. Publications in this collection represent a cross-section of extremist opinion towards integration and civil rights activism, but it also contains materials on American anti-Semitism, Christian Identity theology, neo-Nazi groups, and white supremacy movements.

The American Radicalism Collection from Michigan State University is a collection of ephemera on radical political groups across a range of extremist and radical movements, including those involved in religion, race, gender, the environment, and equal rights. The materials represent a large variety of viewpoints, from the far-right to the far-left, on political, social, cultural, sexual, and economic issues in the United States from 1970 to the present.

The Searchlight Archive, held at the University of Northampton in the UK, consists of documents from Searchlight Associates, an information service founded in 1962 that aimed to investigate racist and fascist groups in Britain and abroad and publicise their activities by publishing exposes in their Searchlight magazine. The collections consist of various ephemera accumulated as part of their investigations as well as the complete run of Searchlight magazine (1965-present). Most distinctively, the archive also includes the Searchlight Oral Histories Collection, which consists of interviews (available to researchers as both audio files and transcripts) with anti-fascist activists active from 1940s-1990s.

The National Archives at Kew in the UK, is the source archive for digitised secret service and home office documents relating to inter- and post-war British fascist and communist movements. This includes the Security Service: Personal (PF Series) Files series containing selected files from the First and Second World War periods and the inter-war years on suspected spies, renegades, communist sympathisers, right-wing extremists, and other groups in which the British Security Service took an interest, including pacifist and anti-conscription groups. It also contains Home Office papers pertaining to the detention of Sir Oswald Mosley, leader of the British Union of Fascists, during the Second World War as well as a number of other suspected Nazi sympathisers who were members of far-right groups, such as the Imperial Fascist League, the Nordic League, and the Right Club.

Political Extremism and Radicalism in the Twentieth Century provides an excellent compilation of primary sources for the study of extremism in the twentieth century. It will be valuable to researchers in international and European history, politics, international relations, and government studies, as well as a much wider application to African American studies, gender studies, sociology, psychology, and religious studies."

"There is extensive coverage of topics such as the African coast; the Middle Passage; the varieties of slave experience (urban, domestic, industrial, farm, ranch and plantation); spiritualism and religion; resistance and revolts; the Underground Railroad; the abolition movement; legislation; education; the legacy of slavery and slavery today."