Open Textbooks
- OpenStax Higher Education (Rice University)"OpenStax textbook projects are developed and peer-reviewed by educators to ensure they are readable and accurate, meet the scope and sequence requirements of each course, are supported by instructor ancillaries, and are available with the latest technology-based learning tools."
- College Open Textbooks"The College Open Textbooks Collaborative, a collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations, affiliated with more than 200 colleges, is focused on driving awareness and adoptions of open textbooks to more than 2000 community and other two-year colleges."
Includes Textbook Content Reviews submitted by educators & professionals in the field - Open Textbook Library (University of Minnesota)"The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks."
- Find FREE and OPEN eTextbooks (MERLOT)Find FREE and OPEN eTextbooks in the MERLOT collection or FREE and OPEN eTextbooks with a Creative Commons License
MIT OpenCourseWare
MIT OpenCourseWare -- "a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity."
MERLOT
MERLOT: Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning & Online Teaching -- "a leading edge, user-centered, searchable collection of peer reviewed and selected higher education, online learning materials, catalogued by registered members and a set of faculty development support services."
Online Education Database
Finding Other Online Lectures
Selective Bibliography of On-Demand Academic Public Lectures -- "This selective bibliography provides access to and information about university and other web sites in the United States offering online, on-demand public lectures."
Internet Archive
- Internet Archive"Digital Library of Free Books, Movies, Music & Wayback Machine"
Europeana
"...more than 14.6 million items...
- Images - paintings, drawings, maps, photos and pictures of museum objects
- Texts - books, newspapers, letters, diaries and archival papers
- Sounds - music and spoken word from cylinders, tapes, discs and radio broadcasts
- Videos - films, newsreels and TV broadcasts"
- Europeana"explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections"
Open Educational Resources Commons
Open Educational Resources Commons-- "Find Free-to-Use Teaching and Learning Content from around the World. Organize K-12 Lessons, College Courses, and more."
The Orange Grove: Florida's Digital Repository
The Orange Grove "is an online library of free instructional resources for Florida's educators."
Smarthistory (Art & Art History)
- Smarthistory: a multimedia web-book about art & art history"designed as a dynamic enhancement (or even substitute) for the traditional art history textbook"
SPARC
- SPARC: The Scholarly Publishing & Academic Resources Coalition"an international alliance of academic and research libraries working to correct imbalances in the scholarly publishing system."
Resources for Free Online Books
- Bartleby.com This link opens in a new window"The preeminent Internet publisher of literature, reference and verse providing students, researchers and the intellectually curious with unlimited access to books and information on the web, free of charge."
- EServer"an arts and humanities e-publishing co-op based at Iowa State University where hundreds of writers, editors and scholars gather to publish over 35,000 works free of charge."
- Great Books Collection"Great books, plays, essays, stories, speeches, biographies. We currently have over 300 of the world's greatest books. Some of which are in Spanish"
- Hathi Trust Digital Library"digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives."
- Online Books (University of Pennsylvania)"Listing over 900,000 free books on the Web"
- OnlineFreeEBooks.net"provides you collection of links to other websites containing ebooks/manuals/cheatsheets either for computer geeks, technicians, automotive enthusiasts or programmers."
- Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window"Project Gutenberg offers over 54,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online"
- The Online Medieval & Classical Library"a collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization"
- UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004 This link opens in a new window"includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction.... more than 500 of the titles are available to the public."
Other Open Resources
- Academic Earth"over fifteen hundred videos from MIT, Stanford, Berkeley, Harvard, Princeton, and Yale. We are adding more every day. Some of these are grouped into courses, which each contain anywhere from 4 to 50 lectures."
- Connexions"is an environment for collaboratively developing, freely sharing, and rapidly publishing scholarly content on the Web."
- DASH: Digital Access to Scholarship at Harvard"A central, open access repository for the scholarly output of faculty and the broader research community at Harvard."
- iTunes Uchanged to purchase model instead of free - "lectures, videos, films, and other resources — from all over the world."
- Lecturefox"Lecturefox is a free service. You can find high-quality classes from universities all over the world. We collect without exception lectures from official universities, and we have a special interest in lectures from the faculties physics, chemistry, computer science and mathematics. In the category “faculty mix” you can find miscellaneous lectures from other departments like electrical engineering, biology, psychology, economics, history and philosophy."
- OnlineCourses.comsearch for open courses by degree level and subject.
- Open Cultureprovides links to audio books, online courses, movies, language lessons, eBooks, and intelligent YouTube channels
- OpenCourseWare Consortium"a collaboration of more than 200 higher education institutions and associated organizations from around the world creating a broad and deep body of open educational content using a shared model."
- Public University Online.com"a university based on public online lectures worldwide, a university open to anyone."
- Research Channel Video Library"Explore our more than 3,500 titles available online — Arts and Humanities | Business and Economics | Computer Science and Engineering
Health and Medicine | K-12 and Education | Sciences | Social Sciences" - UChannel"A collection of public affairs lectures, panels and events from academic institutions all over the world -- for you to view, listen to, stream or download."
- yovisto: Academic video search"a video search engine specialized on educational video content."
- Creating Accessible Open Educational Resources (UDL on Campus)This site provides information about Best Practices and Resources for creating accessible OERs.