UCF Research Guides: Egypt: Databases

Best Databases for Country Research

Business Source Premier - Country Reports (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
select "Country Reports" in the right column
Browse or search Country Reports by country, region, or publisher
- Business Monitor International
- CountryWatch - Country Reviews
- Datamonitor - Country Profiles
- EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit) - Country Commerce Reports
- Global Insight - Country Monitor
- Going Global Career Guides
- Icon Group - Economic Competitiveness
- OECD Economic Surveys
- PRS Group - Political Risk Yearbook
- Superintendent of Documents - Background Notes on Countries of the World
Nexis Uni - All Content This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
See UCF User Help Guide
Full text of news and legal sources, as well as company and industry data.
Sources include newspapers, wire services, magazines, SEC filings, law cases, state and federal codes, law review journals, and reference works. Limited coverage of health administration news.
LexisNexis Academic (previous platform) is no longer accessible, as of December 2018.

Other Resources for Country Research

Where We Work (World Bank) This link opens in a new window
National Trade Data Bank* (NTDB) in STAT-USA (U.S. Dept of Commerce)
STAT-USA was a single point of access to authoritative business, trade, and economic information from across the Federal Government which ceased in 2010. See a list of links to resources which were used for NTDB.
PAIS Index (ProQuest) (1915+) This link opens in a new window
contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, & more.
The print index provides coverage for 1915-1974 - Main Library Reference H1.P8
"PAIS (originally, the Public Affairs Information Service) was established in 1914. There are two databases created from the files: PAIS International and PAIS Archive. PAIS International includes records from the print PAIS Bulletin 1977 and forward; it also includes PAIS print Foreign Language Index published 1972-1990, at which time it merged with the PAIS Bulletin.
The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages. It is updated quarterly with over 17,000 current records added in total each year.
PAIS Archive is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records and covers monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics. The original, historical subject headings have been retained. PAIS Archive provides a unique perspective on the 20th century’s most important public and social policies, such as Prohibition, suffrage, pacifism, civil rights, McCarthyism, Vietnam War, and Watergate."
World Development Indicators (World Bank) (1960+) This link opens in a new window
"provides a comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960."
World News Connection* (1990+)
World News Connection has ceased.

Access to some non-current content is available on microfiche and CD-ROMs in the UCF Library Government Documents area.

Best Databases for Political Science

CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online (1991+) This link opens in a new window
Theory & research in international affairs, including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, journals and policy briefs.
PAIS Index (ProQuest) (1915+) This link opens in a new window
contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, & more.
The print index provides coverage for 1915-1974 - Main Library Reference H1.P8
"PAIS (originally, the Public Affairs Information Service) was established in 1914. There are two databases created from the files: PAIS International and PAIS Archive. PAIS International includes records from the print PAIS Bulletin 1977 and forward; it also includes PAIS print Foreign Language Index published 1972-1990, at which time it merged with the PAIS Bulletin.
The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages. It is updated quarterly with over 17,000 current records added in total each year.
PAIS Archive is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records and covers monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics. The original, historical subject headings have been retained. PAIS Archive provides a unique perspective on the 20th century’s most important public and social policies, such as Prohibition, suffrage, pacifism, civil rights, McCarthyism, Vietnam War, and Watergate."
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
"access to U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature, PolicyFile is updated weekly with abstracts and links to the latest reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies."
ProQuest Congressional (1789+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
access to vast and varied information published by and about Congress, including full text of almost all Committee Reports from 1990 forward and Congressional testimony from 1988 forward.
formerly called "LexisNexis Congressional"
Contents include:
- Legislative Histories, 1969+
- Bills & Laws, 1987+
- Committee Prints & Misc. Publications, 1789+
- Congressional Record & Predecessors, 1789+
- CRS Reports, 1916+
- Hearings, 1824+
- House & Senate Documents, 1789+
- House & Senate Reports, 1789+
- Executive Branch Documents, 1789-1939
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest) (1975+) This link opens in a new window
provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

Other Databases for Political Science

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides active full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.
Alternative Press Index (EBSCOhost) (1991+) This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
Print version - Reference AI 3.A27 (1969+)
American History in Video (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries."
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Core provides access to journals and eBooks on a broad range of subjects. The Cambridge University Press currently publishes over 250 peer-reviewed academic journals for the global market. Here are details about the Libraries' newly expanded collection of Cambridge eBooks
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (1637+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses."
For abstracts from 1938-1980 see the print volumes of Dissertation Abstracts International
"ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content."
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- African American/Caribbean/African
- Arab/Middle Eastern
- Asian/Pacific Islander
- European/Eastern European
- Hispanic
- Jewish
- Multi-ethnic
- Native People
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of research journals and eBooks from numerous publishers. For most of the journal content, we can access all but the 3 to 5 most recent years of the journal.
Statistical Insight (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides some full text & indexes all types of statistical publications:
- American Statistics Index (ASI) (1974+)
- Statistical Reference Index (SRI) (1980+)
- Index to International Statistics (IIS) (1983+)
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Built upon Sage’s legacy of methods publishing, Sage Research Methods is the essential online tool for researchers.Full text of book, journal, and reference content to aid as students research design methodologies, understand and select methods, conduct research, and write findings.
Includes tools such as:
- Project Planner: find step-by-step guidance to complete your research project
- Which Stats Test: answer questions to see which statistical method is best for your data
includes the complete series of:
- Little Green Books -- Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences
- Little Blue Books -- Qualitative Research Methods
Social Sciences & Humanities (SAGE Journals) This link opens in a new window
Browse journals by discipline: Anthropology & Archaeology; Communication & Media Studies; Criminology & Criminal Justice; Cultural Studies; Economics & Development; Education; Ethnic Studies; Family Studies; Gender Studies; Geography; Gerontology & Aging; Group Studies; History; Information Science; Interpersonal Violence; Language & Linguistics; Law; Management & Organization Studies; Marketing & Hospitality; Peace Studies & Conflict Resolution; Philosophy; Politics & International Relations; Psychoanalysis; Psychology & Counseling; Public Administration; Regional Studies; Research Methods & Evaluation; Science & Society Studies; Social Work & Social Policy; Sociology; Special Education; Theology & Biblical Studies; Urban Studies & Planning
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) (1965+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences.
Taylor & Francis Journals (T&F) This link opens in a new window
a one-stop site hosting international journals published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge
You can search and browse the journals and reference works on Taylor & Francis Online for free. Use advanced search to restrict to "Only content I have full access to" unless you want to request articles through Interlibrary Loan since UCF's subscription only includes some journals, one reference work, and none of the abstract databases.
Journal subject coverage includes:
- Area Studies
- Arts
- Behavioral Sciences (includes Archive Collection)
- Bioscience
- Built Environment
- Communication Studies
- Computer Science (includes Archive Collection)
- Development Studies
- Earth Sciences
- Economics, Finance, Business & Industry
- Education (includes Archive Collection)
- Engineering & Technology (includes Archive Collection)
- Environment & Agriculture
- Environment & Sustainability
- Food Science & Technology
- Geography
- Health & Social Care
- Humanities
- Information Science
- Language & Literature
- Law
- Mathematics & Statistics
- Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing & Allied Health
- Museum & Heritage Studies
- Physical Sciences (includes Chemistry Archive Collection)
- Politics & International Relations
- Social Sciences
- Sports & Leisure
- Tourism, Hospitality & Events
- Urban Studies
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (NewsBank/Readex) (1817-1980) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, constituting a rich source of primary material on all aspects of American history.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (ProQuest) (1789-2003) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, constituting a rich source of primary material on all aspects of American history.
World Development Indicators (World Bank) (1960+) This link opens in a new window
"provides a comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960."