Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UCF Libraries Home

Student Learning & Engagement @ UCF Libraries

a brief history of department and the Information Literacy Modules project

Citing Sources Using MLA Style

One of the original four modules released, "Citing Sources Using MLA Style" is now on its 7th version after receiving a thorough revision to reflect the changes in the 8th edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, released in 2016. 

Learning Objective

Given examples of the following sources, students will be able to accurately demonstrate how to use works cited entries and parenthetical citations based on styles found in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 8th Edition (2016):

  • books,
  • articles from print journals,
  • articles from electronic journals, and
  • information found on web pages.

Features

This module includes a number of Captivate videos that are used to show the different techniques step-by-step. The module includes an interactive exercise for student to learn the components of a correct MLA citation. Students are instructed to drag and drop the 6 elements needed to create a citation for a book, then put them in the correct order to create a citation. If the student drags a piece of information that is not needed, that information stands out as not needed.

Avoiding Plagiarism Using MLA Style

"Avoiding Plagiarism Using MLA Style" is a rebranded version of the original "Avoiding Plagiarism" module, one of the four original modules released.  A number of faculty requested a plagiarism modules using examples in APA style; as a result, a second module was created in December of 2011, thus rebranding this module at the same time. 

Learning Objective

Given examples that include the following, students will be able to identify what constitutes plagiarism in their academic work and how to avoid the common causes of plagiarism when they use:

  • direct quotes,
  • paraphrased text,
  • or summarized text.

Features

Adobe Captivate was used to create interactive examples for students to see how to use a quote or paraphrased text within a paper, as well as how to create the References entry for that example.

Evaluating Websites

Learning Objective

Students will be able to evaluate the reliability of web sites based on five criteria:

  • authority,
  • accuracy,
  • objectivity,
  • coverage, and
  • currency.

Features

This module contains a number of Captivate videos in the Content section that show students what to look for when evaluating a website. 

Focusing an Information Search

Learning Objective

Using advanced search strategies in a library database, students will demonstrate how to focus an information search by applying strategies that include:

  • exact phrases,
  • subject terms,
  • combining subject and keyword terms, and
  • truncation.

Features

Captivate was used extensively in this module to show students different techniques to focus their searches.  Screen captures of real-life searches were combined with brief explanations of each technique, allowing students to see what to expect when conducting their own searches, as seen below.

 

Recognizing a Research Study

Learning Objective

Students will be able to classify an original research study using the following criteria:

  • structure of a study,
  • quality of the references,
  • author's credentials, publishing or distribution status,
  • and sponsoring organization.

Features

The modules starts off with the video shown below that interviews students, asking them what research is and how they conduct research.  The video also explains different ways that researchers gather and analyze information then distribute their study, and what components are included.  The module then breaks down these components to help students understand them better. 

Understanding the Information Cycle

Learning Objective

Given a research assignment and topic, students will be able to select the appropriate type of information source based on knowledge of the information cycle.

Features

The module takes students through the lifecycle of information, including informal communication, social media, newspapers and magazines, scholarly journals, and government documents.  An animated video, which is available below, was created to help students see the information cycle in visual form.  Images from this animation are carried throughout the module.

Citing Sources Using APA Style

One of the original four modules released, "Citing Sources Using APA Style" is now on version 2--a thorough revision was completed to reflect the changes in the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, released in 2010. 

Learning Objective

Given examples of the following sources, students will be able to accurately demonstrate how to use reference entries and parenthetical citations based on styles found in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th Edition (2010):

  • books,
  • articles from print journals,
  • articles from electronic journals, and
  • information found on web pages.

Features

This module also includes a number of Captivate videos that are used to show the different techniques step-by-step.  Adobe Captivate was used to create an interactive exercise for students to learn the components of a correct APA citation.  Students are instructed to drag and drop the 5 elements needed to create a citation for a book, then put those pieces in the correct order to create a citation.  If the student drags a piece of information that is not needed, that information stands out as not needed.

Avoiding Plagiarism Using APA Style

"Avoiding Plagiarism Using APA Style" is an expanded version of the original "Avoiding Plagiarism" module, one of the four original modules released.  A number of faculty requested a plagiarism modules using examples in APA style; as a result, this module was created in December 2011.

Learning Objective

Given examples that include the following, students will be able to identify what constitutes plagiarism in their academic work and how to avoid the common causes of plagiarism when they use:

  • direct quotes,
  • paraphrased text,
  • or summarized text.

Features

Adobe Captivate was used to create interactive examples for students to see how to use a quote or paraphrased text within a paper, as well as how to create the References entry for that example.

Creating a Search Strategy

Learning Objective

Students will be able to plan a search strategy using subject databases including basic broadening and narrowing techniques, such as:

  • identifying keyword terms,
  • using AND and OR,
  • and using synonyms and related terms.

Features

One feature of Adobe Captivate allows module designers to create real-life searches while overlaying graphics and text to help students understand what they are watching.

Conducting a Literature Review

Learning Objective

Students will be able to analyze the steps used in conducting a literature review that include:

  • investigating topics,
  • identifying effective search terms,
  • searching library catalogs,
  • searching library databases,
  • identifying open web sources, and
  • selecting appropriate sources.

Features

Many images are used throughout this module, showing students a step-by-step way to conduct a literature review. 

Selecting Articles for Academic Asssignments

Learning Objective

Given examples of various types of sources, students will be able to correctly apply the following characteristics to identify scholarly and popular sources that are suitable for different types of academic assignments.

  • author's credentials
  • purpose of the article
  • format of the article
  • article review process

Features

This module includes an interactive component in which students click on an article type to learn about i's use for an academic assignment. Each article type is then explained fully.

Moving Into Discipline Specific Research

"Moving Into Discipline Specific Research" debuted in August 2012.

Learning Objective
Students will be able to evaluate effective strategies for locating topic-related, academic sources using article citations and research tools such as library databases and Google Scholar.

Features
This module a video which introduces students to research conversations.  Two Captivate videos are also included in the module, showing students how to follow research conversations both forward and backwards.

Managing References Using RefWorks (Note: This module was retired and replaced with a LibGuide in 2015.)

Learning Objective

Students will be able to manage references for academic assignments using the following RefWorks features:

  • Create & Organize Folders
  • Export citations from library resources
  • Format bibliographies and in-text citations with Write-N-Cite

Features

Captivate videos were created that show students step-by-step instructions on using the different functions within RefWorks.

LibGuide: RefWorks

Maximizing Google Scholar (Note: This module was retired and replaced with a LibGuide in 2015.)

Learning Objective

Students will be able to demonstrate how to maximize Google Scholar searches using:

  • Scholar Preferences,
  • Advanced Scholar Search options, and
  • Google Scholar results links.

Features

Students are also shown--using Captivate videos--how to set their preferences so they can access full text articles that UCF Libraries owns as well as using citation management software like RefWorks.

LibGuide: Google Scholar for Academic Research