News & Newspapers
- News & Newspapers GuideAn extensive guide to the unwieldy world of news & newspapers. If you're not sure where to start, this guide is for you!
Florida News Sources
- Florida News Sources (Access World News) (1982+) This link opens in a new windowOver 300 English & Spanish news sources, including newspapers, college newspapers, blogs, magazines, newswires, TV transcripts, & web-only sources
Central Florida Future
- archives (Sep 2000+)
Orlando Sentinel (1985+)
- earlier content
LexisNexis Academic: Florida News Sources
- Florida Times-Union (1996+)
- Lakeland Ledger (1995-Sep 27, 2007)
- Palm Beach Post (1988+)
- Sarasota Herald-Tribune (1996+)
- Tampa Bay Times/St. Petersburg Times (1987+)
- Tampa Tribune (1990+)
Newspapers, Television & Radio
Historical Florida Newspapers
Note that the number of counties and the county boundaries were significantly different prior to 1925, so the geographic areas covered by these historical newspapers may not be limited to what is considered their local area today. For example, in 1830 Alachua County stretched from the Georgia border to Ft. Myers, and Mosquito (Orange) County stretched from Ocala to West Palm Beach. Also, coverage of Florida news prior to 1900 might appear in newspapers from other states which had major ports or railroad lines connecting to Florida (e.g., Atlanta, Charleston, New Orleans, and Savannah).
Other Florida News Sources
- Florida Newspapers Online (FL Dept of State)provides links to historical, daily, weekly, business, and campus newspapers
- Florida Press Associationprovides a member directory by location (city, state, county), frequency (daily, weekly, monthly), and publishes legal notices (yes/no)
- Florida Newspapers (NewsLink)major metro, daily, business, non-daily, alternative, specialty, promotional, campus, association, inactive
Florida College Newspapers
If there are dates following the newspaper title, then an online backfile is available even if there is not a direct link to the archive. With most of the newspaper websites, locate the "Search" box on either the Home page or the News page, conduct a preliminary search for a keyword, and then modify your search on the results page to focus on specific dates or date ranges.
| Barry University | Barry Buccaneer |
| Bethune-Cookman University | The Voice of the Wildcats |
| Central Florida Community College | Patriot Press |
| Daytona State College | In Motion (Aug 2006+) |
| Eckerd College | Eckerd College Triton |
| Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University | The Avion (May 2005+) |
| Flagler College | The Gargoyle (Aug 2008+) |
| Florida A&M University | The FAMUAN (Nov 2001+) |
| Florida Atlantic University | The University Press (Nov 2001+) |
| Florida Community College | The Campus Voice |
| Florida Gulf Coast University | Eagle News (Aug 2008+) |
| Florida Institute of Technology | The Crimson (Spring 2000+) |
| Florida International University | The Beacon |
| Florida Memorial College | The Lion's Tale |
| Florida Southern College | Southern |
| Florida State University | FS View & Florida Flambeau Google Newspaper Archive 1917-2009 |
| Hillsborough Community College | Hawkeye |
| Jacksonville University | Navigator |
| Lake-Sumter Community College | The Angler |
| Lynn University | The i Pulse |
| Miami-Dade College - North Campus | The Falcon Times |
| Miami-Dade College - Kendall | Catalyst |
| Nova Southeastern University | The Current |
| Nova Southeastern Univ Law School | Broadly Speaking |
| Palm Beach Atlantic College | Beacon |
| Palm Beach Community College | Beachcomber |
| Pensacola Junior College | The Corsair |
| Polk Community College | PCC Press |
| Rollins College | The Sandspur (Nov 2002+); in Central Florida Memory (1894-1932) |
| St. Leo University | Lion's Pride |
| St. Thomas University | Sentinel |
| Seminole Community College | The Scribe |
| Southeastern College | Flame |
| Stetson University | Stetson Reporter (Aug 2007+); in LexisNexis Academic (Sep 1997+) |
| Tallahassee Community College | The Talon |
| University of Central Florida | Central Florida Future (Sep 2000+) |
| University of Florida | The Independent Florida Alligator (Jun 2007+) -- in UF Digital Collections (1975, 1990, 2005-2007) -- in LexisNexis Academic (Sep 1997+) -- index (1984-91) The Florida Alligator (1917-23, 1945-48, 1964) Summer Gator (1946-48) |
| University of Florida | The Shpiel (2006+) |
| University of Florida | University News (1906-07)* |
| University of Miami | The Miami Hurricane (Nov 2001+) |
| University of Miami School of Law | Res Ipsa Loquitur (Oct 2006+) |
| University of North Florida | The Spinnaker (Aug 2008+) The Halyard (1974-76) The Phoenix (1976-77) |
| University of South Florida | The Oracle (May 2001+); in LexisNexis Academic (Sep 1997+) |
| University of Tampa | The Minaret |
| University of West Florida | The Voyager (May 2004+) |
| Valencia Community College | Valencia Source |
Spanish-Language News
-
| Name of Newspaper | Full Text Archive | Index |
| Al Dia Today (Melbourne) | ||
| El Argentino (Miami) | ||
| El Avance Criollo (Miami) | 1960-1961 | |
| CENTRO Tampa | ||
| Diario Las Americas (Miami) | ||
| El Especial (Miami) | ||
| La Gaceta (Tampa) | 1922-23, 1933, 1963-64, 2003, 2005-2007 | |
| El Herald (Miami) | ||
| Hola Osceola | ||
| El Latino (West Palm Beach) | ||
| Libre (Miami) | ||
| El Noticiero (Broward) | ||
| El Nuevo Herald (Miami) | 1982+ | |
| El Nuevo Patria (Miami) | ||
| Nuevo Siglo (Tampa) | ||
| El Osceola Star (Kissimmee) | Mar 2009+ | |
| La Palma (West Palm Beach) | Mar 2005+ | |
| El Popular (Miami) | ||
| La Prensa (Orlando & Tampa) | ||
| El Sol de Hialeah | ||
| La Voz Catolica (Miami) | ||
| La Voz de la Calle (Hialeah) | ||
| El Yara (Key West) | 1889 |
The market area served by each radio station is listed following the call letters.
| Television News Stations |
Radio News Stations - AM
|
Radio News Stations - FM
|