Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UCF Libraries Home

Trademarks

Information on understanding what a trademark is and what a copyright covers.

Trademark Manual of Examining Procedure (TMEP)

The TMEP (Trademark Manual of Examining Procedure) on the USPTO's website says it "provides trademark examining attorneys in the USPTO, trademark applicants, and attorneys and representatives for trademark applicants with a reference work on the current law, practices, and procedures relative to prosecution of applications to register marks in the USPTO.  The TMEP contains guidelines for examining attorneys and materials in the nature of information and interpretation, and outlines the procedures that examining attorneys are required or authorized to follow in the examination of trademark applications." 

Trademark Trial and Appeal Board Manual of Procedure (TBMP)

Trademark Trial and Appeal Board Manual of Procedure (TBMP) provides stakeholders with basic information generally useful for litigating trial cases before the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board (TTAB).  The manual describes current practice and procedure under the applicable authority, including the Trademark Act, the Trademark Rules of Practice, the Federal Rules (where applicable), and precedential case law (as described on the USPTO Website).

Design Search Code Manual

According to the USPTO Web site, "The USPTO assigns all marks containing design figurative elements a 6-digit numerical code(s) for searching purposes.  This manual indexes the categories, divisions, and sections that make up these codes." Click HERE to review the different sections of  the manual.

Acceptable Identification of Goods and Services Manual (ID Manual)

The Identification of Goods and Services  Manual, which contains a listing of acceptable identifications of goods and services can be viewed by clicking HERE.

Official Gazette

For those who would like to view the Official Gazette (contains bibliographic information and a representative drawing for each mark published, along with a list of canceled and renewed registrations), click HERE.