It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection - 4th Floor -- PR5397 .A1 1996 v.5
Publication Date: 2018-02-01
This book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works.
Call Number: UCF ARC MAIN General Collection -- PR5397 .L3 1965
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
Taken from an ancient text found abandoned in a cave, The Last Man ends in 2100, "the last year of the world." A devastating worldwide plague has annihilated all of humanity except for one man, who chronicles the world's demise. This novel of apocalyptic horror, originally published in 1826, was rejected in its time and was out of print from 1833 to 1965, when the first Bison Books edition appeared.
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection - 4th Floor -- PR5397 .A4 1990
Publication Date: 1990-11-15
Renewed interest in the life and works of Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley has in recent years generated new biographical studies, complete editions of her letters and short stories, and fresh critical assessments of Frankenstein and her other fiction. Until now, however, there has been noanthology of Shelley's work. The Mary Shelley Reader is a unique new collection that fills this gap.
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection - 4th Floor -- PR5397 .A1 1996 v.2
Publication Date: 1996-05-01
These eight volumes contain the works of Mary Shelley and include introductions and prefatory notes to each volume. Included in this edition are "Frankenstein" (1818), "Matilda" ((1819), "Valperga" (1823), "The Last Man" (1826), "Perkin Warbeck" (1830) and "Lodore" (1835).
Call Number: UCF ARC MAIN General Collection -- PR5397 .V3 1997
Publication Date: 1998-01-08
Not reprinted since its first edition, Mary Shelley's second novel is sure to be a major discovery of the Mary Shelley bicentenary of 1997. The novel's lack of success as a follow-up to Frankenstein was the result of its subject matter and unconventional approach to the genre of historicalfiction, attributes that can only delight the twentieth-century reader.
Call Number: UCF ARC MAIN General Collection -- PR5397 .V3 2000
Publication Date: 2000-07-20
The earth is a wide sea, she cried, "and we its passing bubbles; it is a changeful heaven, and we its smallest and swiftest driven vapours; all changes, all passes nothing is stable, nothing for one moment the same." Valperga (1823), the novel Mary Shelley wrote after Frankenstein, is based on the life of Castruccio Castracani (1281-1328), Prince of Lucca.
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection - 4th Floor -- PR5398 .C36 2003
Publication Date: 2003-11-20
The Cambridge Companion to Mary Shelley helps readers to assess for themselves her remarkable body of work. In clear, accessible essays, a distinguished group of scholars place Shelley's works in several historical and aesthetic contexts: literary history, the legacies of her parents William Godwin and Mary Wollstonecraft, and of course the life and afterlife, in cinema, robotics and hypertext, of Frankenstein.
Call Number: UCF ARC MAIN General Collection -- PR5398 .C37 2007
Publication Date: 2007-07-01
Life and literature were inseparable in the daily lives of Mary Wollstonecraft, William Godwin, and Mary Shelley. In England's First Family of Writers, Julie A. Carlson demonstrates how and why the works of these individuals can best be understood within the context of the family unit in which they were created.
Call Number: UCF ARC MAIN General Collection -- PR5398 .S26 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-05
Fiona Sampson pursues Mary Shelley through her turbulent life, much as Victor Frankenstein tracked his monster across the arctic wastes. Sampson has written a book that finally answers the question of how it was that a nineteen-year-old came to write a novel so dark, mysterious, anguished, and psychologically astute that it continues to resonate two centuries later.
Call Number: UCF ARC MAIN General Collection -- PR5398 .A53 2008
Publication Date: 2008-08-20
Graham Allen provides both an introduction to and review of the critical responses to Mary Shelley's major fictions, from the Romantic period to the present day, while also pushing debates forward. The book moves beyond Frankenstein, presenting new readings of other texts such as Matilda, Valperga, The Last Man and Lodore.
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection - 4th Floor -- PR5397.F73 V44 1986
Publication Date: 1986-03-01
On the 200th anniversary of the publication ofFrankenstein, comes a riveting biography of its author, Mary Shelley, whose life reads like a dark gothic novel, filled with scandal, death, drama, and one of the strangest love stories in literary history.
Call Number: UCF ARC MAIN General Collection -- PR5398 .M27 2000
Publication Date: 2000-07-31
Brings fresh insight to the life and work of an often neglected or misunderstood writer who, the editors remind us, spent nearly three decades at the center of England's literary world during the country's profound transition between the Romantic and Victorian eras
Call Number: UCF ARC MAIN General Collection -- PR5841.W8 Z7556 2001
Publication Date: 2001-06-07
This volume brings together essays on Wollstonecraft's and Shelley's life writing by some of the most prominent scholars in Canada, Australia, and the United States. It also includes a full-length play by award-winning Canadian playwright Rose Scollard. Together, the essays and the play explore the connections between mother and daughter, between writing and life, and between criticism and creation. They offer a new understanding of two important writers, of a literary period, and of emergent modes of life writing.
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection - 4th Floor -- PR5398 .M25 1985
Publication Date: 1985-01-01
-- Brings together the best criticism on the most widely read poets, novelists, and playwrights -- Presents complex critical portraits of the most influential writers in the English-speaking world -- from the English medievalists to contemporary writers
Call Number: UCF ARC MAIN General Collection -- PR5398 .B46 1998
Publication Date: 1998-10-19
Bennett offers an extensively expanded version of the introduction she wrote for Pickering and Chatto's eight volume set, The Novels and Selected Works of Mary Shelley. Along with her insightful retelling of Mary Shelley's eventful life story, Bennett gives us a fresh reading of Frankenstein in the context of its author's full career. She also discusses a variety of Mary Shelley's lesser known works, including Matilda, Valperga, The Last Man, Perkin Warbeck, Lodore, Falkner, and her travel books.
Call Number: UCF ARC MAIN General Collection -- PR5398 .O87 1993
Publication Date: 1993-07-08
This collection of essays, written by a preeminent group of Romantic scholars, sketches a portrait of the "other Mary Shelley": the writer and intellectual who recognized the turbulent interplay among issues of family, gender, and society, and whose writings resonate strongly in the setting of contemporary politics, culture, and feminism.
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection - 4th Floor -- PR590 .H297 2010
Publication Date: 2010-04-27
Tells the story of the interlinked lives of the young English Romantic poets from an entirely fresh perspective—celebrating their extreme youth and outsize yearning for friendship as well as their individuality and political radicalism.