It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection - 4th Floor -- PR5397.F73 C36 2016
Publication Date: 2016-08-25
The Cambridge Companion to Frankenstein consists of sixteen original essays on Mary Shelley's novel by leading scholars, providing an invaluable introduction to Frankenstein and its various critical contexts.
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection - 4th Floor -- PR5397.F73 E5 1979
Publication Date: 1982-05-19
The twelve essays in this collection attest to the endurance of Mary Shelley's "waking dream." Appropriately, though less romantically, this book also grew out of a playful conversation at a party. When several of the contributors to this book discovered that they were all closet aficionados of Mary Shelley's novel, they decided that a book might be written in which each contributor-contestant might try to account for the persistent hold that Frankenstein continues to exercise on the popular imagination.
Call Number: UCF General Reserve Main Floor - Front Desk -- PR5397.F73 F72 2018
Publication Date: 2018-01-02
In its popular and cultural weight and its expression of the ethical issues raised by the advance of science, physicist Sidney Perkowitz and film expert Eddy von Muller have brought together scholars and scientists, artists and directors--including Mel Brooks--to celebrate and examine Mary Shelley's marvellous creation and its legacy as the monster moves into his next century.
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection - 4th Floor -- QC527.5 .M67 1998
Publication Date: 1998-10-04
During the second quarter of the nineteenth century, Londoners were enthralled by a strange fluid called electricity. In examining this period, Iwan Morus moves beyond the conventional focus on the celebrated Michael Faraday to discuss other electrical experimenters, who aspired to spectacular public displays of their discoveries.
Call Number: UCF General Reserve Main Floor - Front Desk -- PN1995.9.F8 G59 2002
Publication Date: 2002-08-26
Each of the 15 essays, all written by the author, is prefaced with explanatory notes that place the essay in its historical perspective, comment on its origin and content, and where appropriate, supplement the text with new, additional, or otherwise relevant information. Richly illustrated.
Call Number: UCF ARC MAIN General Collection -- PR5397.F73 H39 2019
Publication Date: 2018-12-15
In this book, Daisy Hay returns to the objects and manuscripts of the novel;s genesis in order to assemble its story anew. By stripping Frankenstein back to its constituent parts, Hay reveals an uneven novel written by a young woman deeply engaged in the process of working out her thoughts on the pressing issues of her time, from politics to religion and from science to the imagination, and in doing so creates a compelling and innovative biography of the novel for all those fascinated by its essential, brilliant chaos.
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection - 4th Floor -- N7660 .K37 2007
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
From the lazy, fiddling grasshopper to the sneaky Big Bad Wolf, children’s stories and fables enchant us with their portrayals of animals who act like people. But the comparisons run both ways, as metaphors, stories, and images—as well as scientific theories—throughout history remind us that humans often act like animals, and that the line separating them is not as clear as we’d like to pretend.
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection - 4th Floor -- PN56.M55 M55 1996
Publication Date: 1996-11-15
Monsters provide a key to understanding the culture that spawned them. So argues the essays in this wide-ranging collection that asks the question, what happens when critical theorists take the study of monsters seriously as a means of examining our culture? In viewing the monstrous body as metaphor for the cultural body, the contributors consider beasts, demons, freaks, and fiends as symbolic expressions of very real fears and desires, signs of cultural unease that pervade society and shape its collective behaviour.
Call Number: UCF ARC MAIN General Collection -- Q125 .R735 1990
Publication Date: 1990-06-28
This book presents a series of essays, each specially written by an expert in the area, which focus on the role of Romantic philosophy and ideology in the sciences, and on the role of the sciences in Romantic literature.
Call Number: UCF ONLINE General Collection -- PR113 .N49 2011
Publication Date: 2011-03-29
Looking at literary discourse, including poetry, fiction and non-fiction, diaries, and drama, this collection offers remarkable and fascinating examples of women writers who integrated scientific material in their literary narratives.
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection - 4th Floor -- PR5397.F73 H37 2018
Publication Date: 2018-02-06
Making the Monster explores the science behind Shelley's book. From tales of reanimated zombie kittens to electrical experiments on human cadavers, Kathryn Harkup examines the science and scientists that influenced Mary Shelley and inspired her most famous creation, Victor Frankenstein. While, thankfully, we are still far from being able to recreate Victor's "creature," scientists have tried to create the building blocks of life, and the dream of creating life-forms from scratch is now tantalizingly close.
Call Number: UCF ARC MAIN General Collection -- PS374.S35 S48 2000
Publication Date: 2000-12-01
Women Writing Science Fiction: The Frankenstein Inheritance explores the relationship between women, science and fiction through an analysis of science fiction written by women from the turn of the century to the mid 1980s.
Call Number: UCF ARC MAIN General Collection -- DQ823.5 .B448 2006
Publication Date: 2006-11-09
The Alps are Europe's highest mountain range: their broad arc stretches right across the center of the continent, encompassing a wide range of traditions and cultures. Andrew Beattie explores the turbulent past and vibrant present of this landscape, where early pioneers of tourism, mountaineering, and scientific research, along with the enduring legacies of historical regimes from the Romans to the Nazis, have all left their mark.
Call Number: UCF ARC MAIN General Collection -- PR447 .C37 2015
Publication Date: 2015-03-04
Planetary spaces such as the poles, the oceans, the atmosphere, and subterranean regions captured the British imperial imagination. Intangible, inhospitable, or inaccessible, these blank spaces existed beyond the boundaries of known and inhabited places. Siobhan Carroll interrogates the role these blank spaces played in the construction of British identity during an era of unsettling global circulations.
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection - 4th Floor -- PR5397.F73 F75 2002
Publication Date: 2002-09-12
Frankenstein: Penetrating the Secrets of Nature accompanies a traveling exhibit of the same name. This lavishly illustrated volume begins by highlighting Shelley's novel and the context in which she conceived it. It next focuses on the redefinition of the Frankenstein myth in popular culture. Here, the fate of the monster becomes a moral lesson illustrating the punishment for ambitious scientists who seek to usurp the place of God by creating life. The final section examines the continuing power of the Frankenstein story to articulate present-day concerns raised by new developments in biomedicine such as cloning and xenografting (the use of animal organs in human bodies), and the role scientists and citizens play in determining acceptable limits of scientific and medical advances.
Call Number: UCF General Reserve Main Floor - Front Desk -- PR5397.F73 A33 2018
Publication Date: 2018-09-14
This edited collection provides a series of creative readings that explore the elaborate intertextual networks that make up the novel's remarkable afterlife. It broadens the scope of research on Frankenstein while deepening our understanding of a text that, 200 years after its original publication, continues to intrigue and terrify us in new and unexpected ways.
Call Number: UCF ARC MAIN General Collection -- PS173.N4 Y68 2008
Publication Date: 2008-08-10
Black Frankenstein stories, Young argues, effect four kinds of racial critique: they humanize the slave; they explain, if not justify, black violence; they condemn the slaveowner; and they expose the instability of white power. The black Frankenstein's monster has served as a powerful metaphor for reinforcing racial hierarchy--and as an even more powerful metaphor for shaping anti-racist critique. Illuminating the power of parody and reappropriation, Black Frankenstein tells the story of a metaphor that continues to matter to literature, culture, aesthetics, and politics.
Call Number: UCF ARC MAIN General Collection -- Q175.5 .T87 1998
Publication Date: 1998-05-25
Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, a tale crafted two centuries ago to awaken thrilling horror, is a story that speaks to deep fears and desires that lie at the heart of our responses to biological science. Tracing the history of the development of biological science and how it has been received and understood by the public over two centuries, Turney's book argues that the Frankenstein story governs much of today's debate about the onrushing new age of biotechnology.
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection - 4th Floor -- PR5397.F73 B384 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-25
This beautifully illustrated catalog looks closely at Mary Shelley's life and influences, examines the hundreds of reincarnations her book and its characters have enjoyed, and highlights the vast and eclectic collections of the Lilly Library. This exhibition catalog is a celebration of books, of the monstrousness that exists within us all, and of the genius of Mary Shelley.
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection - 4th Floor -- PR5397.F73 F783 2017
Publication Date: 2017-11-21
This book, celebrating the 200th birthday of Frankenstein, traces the journey of Shelley's Frankenstein from limited-edition literature into the bloodstream of contemporary culture. With text by renowned Gothic scholar Sir Christopher Frayling, it includes new research on the novel's origins; a facsimile reprint of the earliest-known manuscript version of the creation scene; visual material on adaptations for the stage, in magazines, on playbills, in prints and in book publications of the 19th century; visual essays on many of the film versions and their inspirations in the history of art; and Frankenstein in popular culture--on posters, advertisements, packaging, in comics and graphic novels.
Call Number: UCF Main Library General Collection - 4th Floor -- PR5397.F73 F785 2016
Publication Date: 2016-08-01
Monstrous Progeny takes readers on a fascinating exploration of the Frankenstein family tree, tracing the literary and intellectual roots of Shelley’s novel from the sixteenth century and analyzing the evolution of the book’s figures and themes into modern productions that range from children’s cartoons to pornography.