Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Mathematics

Mathematics Research Guide

Handbook and Tables

There are a number of important handbooks and manuals dealing with specific areas or functions in mathematics. Handbooks are excellent sources to use for an overview of a topic, to begin a literature search, and to find discussions about schools of thought, theoretical approaches, and landmark research studies. They provide a more in-depth and comprehensive treatment than encyclopedias or dictionaries on a specific topic in the field.

A collection of mathematical constants and equations covering algebra, trigonometry, integration, differentiation, SI units, and symbols. Maintained by the Institute of Physics (IOP), a leading professional and research society.
 
CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae
Reference QA 47 .M315 1996
Provides basic mathematical reference material required for mathematics, engineering, and the physical sciences.
 
CRC Standard Probability and Statistics Tables and Formulae
Reference QA 273.3 .Z95 2000
General Collection QA 273.3 Z95 2000
Brings together an extensive collection of relatively standard statistical tables.
 
A Dictionary of Inequalities
Reference QA 295 .B928 1998
Intended to be a handy reference to the vast literature of inequalities. Inequality can be found by its usual name or if this is not known then by subject. The entry consists of a short statement of the result, some comments, references to related inequalities and a list of sources for further information.
 
The Encyclopedia of Integer Sequences
Reference QA 246.5 .S66 1995 (computer disk at Circulation Desk)
Contains about 5,500 integer sequences with a brief description and citations to literature for each sequence. Following sequences of particular interest, there are essays on their origins, uses, and connections to related sequences.
 
Handbook of Analytic-Computational Methods in Applied Mathematics
General Collection QA 40 .H358 2000
Twenty-two chapters focus on various aspects of analytic computational methods in approximation theory and other related fields. The articles represent the leading research activities of contemporary, mainstream applied mathematics and address problems in a broad range of disciplines, from economics to statistics, dynamic programming, and engineering.
 
Handbook of Applied Multivariate Statistics and Mathematical Modeling
General Collection QA 278 .H3453 2000
Explains the appropriate uses of multivariate procedures and mathematical modeling techniques. Prescribes practices that enable applied researchers to use procedures effectively without needing to concern themselves with the mathematical basis.
Handbook of Applied Optimization
 
Handbook of Applied Optimization
General Collection QA 402.5 H334 2002
Covers the optimization problems in a wide range of settings, from the airline and aerospace industries to telecommunications, finance, health systems, biomedicine, and engineering.
 
Handbook of Chemometrics and Qualimetrics
Reference QD 75.4 .S8 H36 1997
Comprehensive coverage of the various fields of chemometrics, starting with classical statistical methods for hypothesis testing to advanced methods such as neural networks, genetic algorithms and latent variable based methods. Includes contributions from authors with both academic and industrial backgrounds and has applications from all fields of chemistry and pharmacy.
 
Handbook of Combinatorics
General Collection QA 164 .H33 1995
Collection of survey articles by various top class mathematicians about combinatorics, and the links the subject has with other branches of knowledge, from topology to biology.
 
Handbook of Differential Equations: Ordinary Differential Equations
General Collection QA 372 .H36 2004
A collection of survey papers in the theory of ordinary differential equations, showing the state of the art and presenting some of the main results and methods used to solve various types of problems.
 
Handbook of Discrete and Combinatorial Mathematics
General Collection QA 164 .H36 2000
Comprehensive collection of ready reference material for all of the important areas of discrete mathematics, including those essential to its applications in computer science and engineering. The handbook also includes glossaries, lists of important theorems and formulas, examples illustrating terms and concepts, descriptions of algorithms, summary tables, pointers to print and non-print resources, and biographical sketches of important figures.
 
Handbook of Dynamical Systems
General Collection QA 614.8 H36 2002
A comprehensive survey of dynamics written by specialists in the various subfields of dynamical systems.
 
Handbook of Elliptic and Hyperelliptic Curve Cryptography
General Collection QA 567.E44 H36 2006
A thorough study of nearly all the mathematical aspects of public key cryptography based on the discrete log system and explores both theory and applications.
 
A Handbook of Essential Mathematical Formulae
General Collection QA 41 .D38 2004
Contains vital information and formulae for algebra, geometry, calculus, numerical methods and statistics.
 
Handbook of Function and Generalized Function Transformations
General Collection QA 331 .Z39 1996
Source book that provides quick and easy access to the most important properties and formulas of function and generalized function transformations. This book highlights the main properties and formulas of over 50 function transformations. The book is geared toward students and non-specialists in mathematics, science, and engineering.
 
Handbook of Game Theory with Economic Applications
General Collection HB 144 .H36
Surveys game theory and its applications, particularly to economics, but also to politics, mathematics, psychology, and biology.
 
Handbook of Geometric Computing: Applications in Pattern Recognition, Computer Vision, Neuralcomputing, and Robotics
General Collection QA 448 .D38 H353 2005
Addresses a broad audience of applied mathematicians, physicists, computer scientists, and engineers. It brings together under a single cover the most recent advances in the applications of geometric computing in the most important fields related to building perception action systems: computer vision, robotics, image processing and understanding, pattern recognition, computer graphics, quantum computers, brain theory and neural networks.
 
Handbook of Graphs and Networks: From the Genome to the Internet
General Collection QA 402 .H36 2003
The dynamics of networks and their structure have emerged as a key concept across disciplines.  With research on the verge of a newly developing field of the theory of evolving networks, this book defines this field and presents the state-of-the-art of theoretical methods and approaches.
 
Handbook of K-Theory
General Collection QA 612.33 .H36 2005
The handbook offers a compilation of techniques and results in K-theory.  These two volumes consist of chapters, each of which is dedicated to a specific topic and is written by a leading expert.  The overall intent of this handbook is to offer the interested reader an exposition of our current state of knowledge as well as an implicit blueprint for future research.
 
Handbook of Mathematical Formulas and Integrals
Reference QA 47 .J38 2000
General Collection QA 47 .J38 1995
Provides reference material that helps simplify the solution of a problem, both by easing the task of locating important functional relationships and also by removing the tedium of evaluating most of the integrals that arise. Covers formulas, functions, relations, and methods from algebra, trigonometric, exponential functions and more.
 
Handbook of Metaheuristics
Online Version (2010 edition)
Online version (2003 edition)
General Collection T 57 .H34 2003
Consists of 19 chapters covering such topics as scatter search, tabu search, genetic algorithms, genetic programming, memetic algorithms, variable neighborhood search, guided local search, GRASP, ant colony optimization, simulated annealing, iterated local search, multi-start methods, constraint programming, constraint satisfaction, neural network methods for optimization, hyper-heuristics, parallel strategies for metaheuristics, metaheuristic class libraries, and A-teams.
 
Handbook of Nonlinear Partial Differential Equations
General Collection QA 372 .P726 2004
A reference for professionals in mathematics, physics, mechanics, and engineering which provides exact solutions for nonlinear equations encountered in science and engineering. The equations include those of parabolic, hyperbolic, elliptic and other types. The authors pay special attention to equations of general form that involve arbitrary functions. A supplement at the end of the book discusses the classical and new methods for constructing exact solutions to nonlinear equations. The authors avoid wherever possible the use of special terminology, outline some of the methods in a schematic, simplified manner, and arrange the equations in increasing order of complexity.
 
Handbook of Numerical Analysis
General Collection QA 297 .H287
Covers all the major aspects of numerical analysis, including the basic methods of analysis under headings including finite difference methods, finite element methods, techniques of scientific computing, and numerical methods for fluids.
 
Handbook of Semidefinite Programming: Theory, Algorithms, and Applications
General Collection T 57.74 .H355 2000
Offers an advanced and broad overview of the current state of the field of semidefinite programming (SDP). This field is of interest to researchers of diverse backgrounds, including experts in convex programming, linear algebra, numerical optimization, combinatorial optimization, control theory, and statistics.
 
Handbook of Sequential Analysis
Online version
General Collection QA 279.7 .H36 1991
Presents a broad spectrum of sequential analysis and its applications in diverse fields in a cohesive and integrated form.
 
Handbook of the Logistic Distribution
General Collection QA 273.6 .H35 1992
Discusses in detail the mathematical and statistical properties of the function as applied to linear observations.
 
Prentice Hall's Reference to Mathematics: A Guide for Everyday Math
General Collection QA 40 .C54 2003
Describes and explains different mathematical operations and formulae, along with step-by-step processes, worked-out examples with explanatory comments, and extensive glossary and index.
 
Statistical Tables, Explained and Applied
General Collection QA 276.25 .L3813 2002
Contains several new or unpublished tables, such as one on the significance of the correlation coefficient r, one giving the percentiles of the statistic for monotonic variation (with two structural models of variation), an extensive table for the number-of-runs test, three tables for the binomial sum of probabilities, and a table of coefficients for the re-conversion of orthogonal polynomials. In the case of the more familiar tables, all values have been re-computed. An appendix contains supplementary examples that pertain to the various tables. Also includes a glossary of often-used concepts and methods, statistical as well as mathematical.